Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 4, 2014

    Fred Armisen: IMG Fred Armisen: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Mistress of the Revolution

by

Mistress of the Revolution Cover

ISBN13: 9780525950547
ISBN10: 0525950540
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A singular new voice in historical fiction. A time of decadence in a country embroiled in revolution. An unforgettably high-spirited heroine.

Set in opulent, decadent, turbulent revolutionary France, Mistress of the Revolution is the story of Gabrielle de Montserrat. An impoverished noblewoman blessed with fiery red hair and a mischievous demeanor, Gabrielle is only fifteen when she meets her true love, a commoner named Pierre-André Coffinhal. But her brother forbids their union, choosing for her instead an aging, wealthy baron.

Widowed and a mother while still a teen, Gabrielle arrives at the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette in time to be swept up in the emerging cataclysm. As a new order rises, Gabrielle finds her own lovely neck on the chopping block—and who should be selected to sit on the Revolutionary Tribunal but her first love, Pierre-André. . . .

Replete with historical detail, complex and realistic characters (several of whom actually existed), and a heroine who demands—and rewards—attention, Mistress of the Revolution is an unforgettable debut.

A stunning new talent in historical fiction makes her debut with a novel perfect for readers of In the Company of the Courtesan by Sarah Dunant

Review:

"Against the backdrop of the leadup to the French Revolution, Delors's mostly successful debut follows the life of Gabrielle de Montserrat, a feisty young woman forced by her meddling brother to forsake her commoner true love and marry the Baron de Peyre, a wealthy, older man. The baron is abusive and cruel, but the short-lived marriage produces a daughter before the baron dies. A widowed Gabrielle travels to Paris and enters the heady world of Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette, where, with a sparse inheritance and the responsibility of a young daughter, Gabrielle becomes the mistress of Count de Villers. Delors shines in her portrayal of the late 18th-century French women's world (she has a rougher time with the men), though the amount of political-historical detail covered overshadows the tragic love story that develops once Gabrielle reunites with her first love, Pierre-Andr Coffinhal, who is now a lawyer. The appearance of historical figures sometimes comes off awkwardly (as when Gabrielle meets Thomas Jefferson or has a private audience with Robespierre), and the ending is marred by a too-convenient and seemingly tossed-off twist. Nevertheless, the author ably captures the vagaries of French politics during turbulent times and creates a world inhabited by nicely developed and sympathetic characters." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

View our feature on Catherine Delors' Mistress of the Revolution. An impoverished noblewoman, Gabrielle de Montserrat is only fifteen when she meets her first love, a commoner named Pierre-André Coffinhal. But her brother forbids their union, forcing her instead to marry an aging, wealthy cousin.

Widowed and a mother before the age of twenty, Gabrielle arrives at the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette in time to be swept up in the emerging turbulence—and to encounter the man she never expected to see again. Determined and independent, she strives to find her own freedom— as the Revolution takes an ever more violent turn.

About the Author

Catherine Delors, herself from a family of French aristocrats, was born and raised in France. A lawyer, she has practiced in the United States for ten years, and now divides her time between Paris and Los Angeles.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

judithkaye, March 25, 2008 (view all comments by judithkaye)
The book is based upon true events of the French Revolution. Many of the characters are inspired by historical figures.

The story centers on Gabrielle de Montserrat, born of noble blood. Her mistake was to fall in love with a commoner, Pierre-Andrè Coffinhal. Throughout the story, I tingled with excitement as I thought I knew what was going to happen next. This was all a vain attempt on my part, as the author surprised me with each new twist.

Gabrielle’s story is a fictional memoir, told in her own voice as she recounts her life beginning when her brother and guardian, Gèraud de Monsterrat, Marquis de Castel, brought her to live with him. Later on in the story, after meeting and falling in love with Pierre-Andrè Coffinhal, her brother finds out and she is forced into a marriage with a sadistic husband.

Her life has many phases, one of which will lead her to Paris where she will again meet Pierre-Andrè. During this time, France is unstable, on the brink of political and social upheaval. The decisions she made seemed the best at the time, but even towards the end, she wondered what would have happened if she had decided differently. It’s something I am still pondering over.

The author should be commended her display of realism. This book took me so far into the story that I completely forgot about my own life. Luckily, we are on spring break and I have some free time. Oh, let me warn you now, although it might be tempting to read the last few chapter to see what will happen in the end, DON'T! I am one to talk since that is what I usually do. For some reason, I didn’t in this book. I guess I was so busy reading that I forgot. Anyway, I’m glad I didn't as it will ruin the book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 13 readers found this comment helpful)
P, March 21, 2008 (view all comments by P)
It is especially satisfying to break from my usual non-fiction reading habits and pick up such a rich, intelligent novel such as this. Gabrielle, the central character, is very much a woman of her times; she is traded off by her brother for marriage to a Baron. She is left a widow with a child and no prospects at 17, and must trade herself into Paris Society to survive. Such accommodation and acquiescence in contemporary women infuriates me, but I was moved by the authenticity of this character, who finds her way amid brutal, unforgiving times without compromising her own truth. Add to this the author's impressive grasp of historical detail of the real French Revolution, [not the commercialized one] for time well spent with a completely satisfying novel.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780525950547
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Delors, Catherine
Publisher:
NAL Trade
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Young women
Subject:
History
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Widows
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20090303
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
528
Dimensions:
8.82x5.94x1.47 in. 1.49 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Sarah's Key
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. French Revolutions: Cycling the Tour... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase...
    Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. Dragon's Fire (Dragonriders of Pern)
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. No Choice But Seduction Used Mass Market $4.50
  6. The Widow Clicquot: The Story of a...
    Used Hardcover $8.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Mistress of the Revolution Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 528 pages Dutton Books - English 9780525950547 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Against the backdrop of the leadup to the French Revolution, Delors's mostly successful debut follows the life of Gabrielle de Montserrat, a feisty young woman forced by her meddling brother to forsake her commoner true love and marry the Baron de Peyre, a wealthy, older man. The baron is abusive and cruel, but the short-lived marriage produces a daughter before the baron dies. A widowed Gabrielle travels to Paris and enters the heady world of Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette, where, with a sparse inheritance and the responsibility of a young daughter, Gabrielle becomes the mistress of Count de Villers. Delors shines in her portrayal of the late 18th-century French women's world (she has a rougher time with the men), though the amount of political-historical detail covered overshadows the tragic love story that develops once Gabrielle reunites with her first love, Pierre-Andr Coffinhal, who is now a lawyer. The appearance of historical figures sometimes comes off awkwardly (as when Gabrielle meets Thomas Jefferson or has a private audience with Robespierre), and the ending is marred by a too-convenient and seemingly tossed-off twist. Nevertheless, the author ably captures the vagaries of French politics during turbulent times and creates a world inhabited by nicely developed and sympathetic characters." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,

View our feature on Catherine Delors' Mistress of the Revolution. An impoverished noblewoman, Gabrielle de Montserrat is only fifteen when she meets her first love, a commoner named Pierre-André Coffinhal. But her brother forbids their union, forcing her instead to marry an aging, wealthy cousin.

Widowed and a mother before the age of twenty, Gabrielle arrives at the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette in time to be swept up in the emerging turbulence—and to encounter the man she never expected to see again. Determined and independent, she strives to find her own freedom— as the Revolution takes an ever more violent turn.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.