Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$23.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
25 Remote Warehouse Sociology- General

Edible: An Adventure Into the World of Eating Insects and the Last Great Hope to Save the Planet

by

Edible: An Adventure Into the World of Eating Insects and the Last Great Hope to Save the Planet Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Insects. Theyre whats for dinner. Can you imagine a world in which that simple statement is not only true but in fact an unremarkable part of daily life? Daniella Martin, entomophagist and blogger, can.

In this rollicking excursion into the world of edible insects, Martin takes us to the front lines of the next big trend in the global food movement and shows us how insects just might be the key to solving world hunger. Along the way, we sample moth larvae tacos at the Don Bugito food cart in San Francisco, travel to Copenhagen to meet the experimental tasters at Nomas Nordic Food Lab, gawk at the insects stocked in the frozen food aisle at Thailands Costco, and even crash an underground bug-eating club in Tokyo.

Martin argues that bugs have long been an important part of indigenous diets and cuisines around the world, and investigates our own cultures bias against their use as a food source. She shines a light on the cutting-edge research of Marcel Dicke and other scientists who are only now beginning to determine the nutritional makeup of insects and champion them as an efficient and sustainable food source.

Whether you love or hate bugs, Edible will radically change the way you think about the global food crisis and perhaps persuade you that insects are much more than a common pest. For the adventurous, the book includes an illustrated list of edible insects, recipes, and instructions on how to raise bugs at home.

Review:

"Entomophagist Martin champions bug-eating in this engaging though sometimes over-the-top volume. Having spent the past 10 years studying insects, Martin concludes that 'we should all be eating bugs — as our ancestors did, as our global neighbors do, as our primate cousins do, and as we ourselves do constantly, by accident, without realizing it.' She considers them alternatives to beef and pork, for example. Their environmental impact is comparatively small, requiring 'little to no deboning, gutting, plucking, or butchering.' Crickets, grasshoppers, ants and certain caterpillars also contain large amounts of calcium. With that said, however, Martin might still have difficulty convincing readers to actually eat these tiny critters. For those willing to entertain the idea of a bug banquet, Martin concludes the book with earnest recipes for items such as 'Salty-Sweet Wax Worms,' 'Crickety Kale Salad,' and 'Sweet-n-Spicy Summer June Bugs.' Many may still find themselves squirming at the idea of slugs in a salad as the author never fully sells the reader on the taste or visual factor. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Michael Pollan and Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer, an anthropologist makes the case for why insects are the key to solving the worlds food problems.

Synopsis:

Edible offers a fascinating look into the world of entomophagy and how eating bugs may save the planet. Martin takes readers to the front lines of the next big trend in the global food movement. She argues that bugs have long been an important part of indigenous diets and cuisines around the world, and that insects are an efficient and sustainable food source. Daniella travels to Thailand where the government is subsidizing local farmers to raise crickets, meets with Dutch researchers who have received a $4 million euro grant to study the potential of insects as food, and introduces readers to world class chefs like Jose Andres who are already incorporating bugs into their elegant dishes. She profiles entomophagist pioneers like Monica Martinez, who is launching the first all-bug street food cart. Whether you love or hate them, Edible will radically change the way you think about the global food movement and, perhaps, persuade you that theyre much more than a common pest.

About the Author

DANIELLA MARTIN is a certified entomophagist, or bug-eating expert. She has been featured in the Huffington Post, The New Yorker, the Wall Streeet Journal, SF Weekly, and AOL News

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1. The Problem 15

2. The Real Paleo Diet 31

3. Why Eat Bugs? 51

4. In the Mouth of the Beholder 73

5. The Breakup 87

6. Learning How to Taste 113

7. In the Mouth of the Beholder 127

8. When in Thailand 139

9. The Final Frontier 157

Epilogue 167

Acknowledgments 177

How to Raise Bugs at Home 179

The Essential List of Edible Insects 187

Delectable Edible Insect Recipes 225

Bibliography 241

About the Author 243

Product Details

ISBN:
9780544114357
Author:
Martin, Daniella
Publisher:
New Harvest
Author:
Martin, Dan
Author:
iella
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
20140231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
25 b/w line drawings
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Beyond a Boundary (05 Edition) Used Trade Paper $12.00
  2. Unruly Places: Lost Spaces, Secret... Sale Hardcover $17.50
  3. The Eat-A-Bug Cookbook: 40 Ways to... Used Trade Paper $11.95

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » General
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Nutrition
Cooking and Food » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Nutrition
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Food and Famine
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Edible: An Adventure Into the World of Eating Insects and the Last Great Hope to Save the Planet New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$23.00 In Stock
Product details 272 pages New Harvest - English 9780544114357 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Entomophagist Martin champions bug-eating in this engaging though sometimes over-the-top volume. Having spent the past 10 years studying insects, Martin concludes that 'we should all be eating bugs — as our ancestors did, as our global neighbors do, as our primate cousins do, and as we ourselves do constantly, by accident, without realizing it.' She considers them alternatives to beef and pork, for example. Their environmental impact is comparatively small, requiring 'little to no deboning, gutting, plucking, or butchering.' Crickets, grasshoppers, ants and certain caterpillars also contain large amounts of calcium. With that said, however, Martin might still have difficulty convincing readers to actually eat these tiny critters. For those willing to entertain the idea of a bug banquet, Martin concludes the book with earnest recipes for items such as 'Salty-Sweet Wax Worms,' 'Crickety Kale Salad,' and 'Sweet-n-Spicy Summer June Bugs.' Many may still find themselves squirming at the idea of slugs in a salad as the author never fully sells the reader on the taste or visual factor. (Feb.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Michael Pollan and Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer, an anthropologist makes the case for why insects are the key to solving the worlds food problems.
"Synopsis" by , Edible offers a fascinating look into the world of entomophagy and how eating bugs may save the planet. Martin takes readers to the front lines of the next big trend in the global food movement. She argues that bugs have long been an important part of indigenous diets and cuisines around the world, and that insects are an efficient and sustainable food source. Daniella travels to Thailand where the government is subsidizing local farmers to raise crickets, meets with Dutch researchers who have received a $4 million euro grant to study the potential of insects as food, and introduces readers to world class chefs like Jose Andres who are already incorporating bugs into their elegant dishes. She profiles entomophagist pioneers like Monica Martinez, who is launching the first all-bug street food cart. Whether you love or hate them, Edible will radically change the way you think about the global food movement and, perhaps, persuade you that theyre much more than a common pest.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.