This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 15, 2015

    Jennifer Jacquet: IMG Is Shame Necessary?



    Is Shame Necessary? is my first book, so I am far from having earned the right to discuss writing a book in general. But I can say something about... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $18.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General

The Edge of Nowhere

by

The Edge of Nowhere Cover

ISBN13: 9780670012961
ISBN10: 0670012963
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Beverly B, February 13, 2013 (view all comments by Beverly B)
Nowhere has an intriguing mystery, a likeable protagonist, several lesser characters who are more interesting than the protagonist, and an original twist on the formulaic mystery plotline. It also has subplots that capture the reader's attention and then go nowhere, (an obvious ploy for the inevitable sequels) a rising action that gets twisted and overly complicated by multiple conflicts, and a way too predictable ending (another obvious ploy for the inevitable sequel). Becca wants nothing more than to be an ordinary teen, but her ability(disability?)to read the thoughts of everyone around her makes her a misfit. Her stepfather forces her to use her ability to help him commit financial crimes. When he discovers that Becca knows he murdered his business partner, Becca and her mother run away. Becca's mother leaves her on Whidbey Island in WA and goes to Canada to get them new identities and a new life. Becca is supposed to stay with an old friend of her mother's but when she arrives, the woman is dead. Becca is also supposed to be able to reach her mother by cell phone, but her mother never answers the calls and Becca never hears from her mother again. If that is not enough to deal with, Becca suspects one of the women in town knows about her ability and seems surprisingly unperturbed by it. And of course there is a star-crossed romance, a high school mean girl making life miserable for Becca, and a friendship with an older boy with a mysterious past and a scary reputation. Reluctant readers will probably be turned off by the complex plot, but girls who like mystery stories and soap-operas will like The Edge of Nowhere.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
WongKaiWen, December 24, 2012 (view all comments by WongKaiWen)
The Edge of Nowhere is an absolute page-turner. An interesting and well written story about a young girl who suffers greatly with the troubling gift--or curse--she inherited, of being able to hear other people's thoughts. It's also a very emotional story, where every single character has a purpose and you feel their emotional scars and pain. Not to mention the mystery at the heart of it all, as everyone struggles to find out what really happened to Derric. Or the paranomal touch to everything.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
The Loopy Librarian, October 1, 2012 (view all comments by The Loopy Librarian)
The heavily wooded Whidbey Island is the perfect setting for this mystery. The characters all have secrets and are suspicious of one another. Rumors abound. The truth is elusive. Nothing is exactly as it seems. Becca King, the main character, must keep her secrets or risk her life. Becca has courage and heart. I couldn’t help but like her. The relationships she develops are filled with complex emotions as she struggles to trust in the face of uncertainty. Her unique ability to hear “whispers” is a magical thing that she has yet to master but is very intriguing. The Edge of Nowhere is the first in a cycle of books that will be following these characters, and I look forward to the next in the series. There are many secrets yet to be revealed.

In compliance with FTC regulations, please note that I received a free review copy through LibraryThing Early Reviewers.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Candace @ LoveyDoveyBooks, September 4, 2012 (view all comments by Candace @ LoveyDoveyBooks)
Elizabeth George enters the Young Adult genre with her wonderfully suspenseful novel, The Edge of Nowhere. The story is equal parts mysterious and romantic to create the perfect beginning to a series centered around perception and truth.

Fourteen-year-old Becca King finds herself transported from San Diego to Whidbey Island, hiding from her sinister stepfather and waiting for her mother to find a safe sanctuary. The moment she steps foot on the remote island, the carefully laid out plans for Becca become awry and Becca has to make the best of a situation gone from unfavorable to downright unpleasant. The story's mild pace builds reader anticipation as an unexpected accident throws island residents into chaos; friends cast around blame and suspicion and secrets are subtly revealed.

The wide range of colorful characters Becca meets on Whidbey provide entertainment and a reason to get involved with the outcome of the story. George's cast of characters are engaging, either deserving sympathy and devotion or a great wind to knock sense into them. The story is told in multiple perspectives, so readers are able to feel a medley of personalities. For instance, Becca is more mature for a fourteen-year-old on the run from a criminal than expected, giving her a more relatable connection, Seth is a little lost in life but filled with good intentions, and Derric is filled with promise that readers will hope to see more of in the series' future. As there are in most books, this one features characters like Hayley and Jenn that will raise eyebrows and cause readers to question their actions, reasoning, or sanity.

George's ability to describe life on Whidbey Island, relationships, and interactions is astounding and familiar. It's not difficult to sink into the story, or become eager to crawl into Becca's shoes. The Edge of Nowhere is a novel that can be experienced by any measure of readers!

*ARC provided through LibraryThing Early Reviewers program in exchange for an honest review*
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-4 of 4

Product Details

ISBN:
9780670012961
Author:
George, Elizabeth
Publisher:
Viking Children's Books
Subject:
Law & Crime
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
B-Hardcover
Series:
Forensic Mystery
Publication Date:
20120931
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
8.57 x 5.9 x 1.42 in 1.21 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Under Wildwood (The Wildwood...
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. The Halloween Tree Used Trade Paper $4.00
  3. Frankenstein New Hardcover $14.99
  4. Pirate Cinema Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  5. Invincible Used Mass Market $5.95
  6. The Collected Stories of Colette Used Book Club Paperback $2.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Paranormal Fiction
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Young Adult » General
Young Adult » New Arrivals

The Edge of Nowhere Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Viking Children's Books - English 9780670012961 Reviews:
"Review" by , "George has created an interesting set of characters and plot twists that teenagers who like adventure and mysteries will enjoy."
"Review" by , "[S]trong appeal to fans of Beth Kephart and Nancy Werlin."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.