Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Fiction

by

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Fiction Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A wonderfully rich and rewarding story collection by a debut writer that's not to miss for fans of Alice Munro or Lorrie Moore.”—Louisville Courier Journal

Sensitive insights conveyed in elegantly plain prose—an auspicious debut.” --Kirkus (Starred Review)

Like fine chocolate or wine, a little Black goes a long way. Savor this collection slowly and reflectively, then share with a friend. --Library Journal, (Starred Review)

“Robin Black knows people. She knows us, she loves us, she takes pity on us and she offers us back to ourselves in clear-eyed and graceful prose. Her people are alive on these pages in all their glory—heartache and joy, infidelity and loyalty—and stay with us.”—Amy Bloom, author of Away and Where the God of Love Hangs Out

This collection of short stories might more accurately be called a collection of short novels, such is their richness of characterization and plot. And the writing It's the best I've seen in years, literally. I was immediately engaged with and entertained by every story here, without exception, and I was moved and enlightened by them, as well. Robin Black is an old soul who is a new addition to my short list of favorite authors. She is worthy of every bit of the high praise that is sure to come her way.—Elizabeth Berg, author of The Last Time I Saw You

Robin Black’s stories are beautifully measured and composed in their engagements with emotional crises that are harrowingly intense, if not catastrophic. Few first collections – few collections of any sort—are as intelligent and as moving about both the durability of love and the implacability of loss, or about the ways in which contingency can undo and remake us; about, finally, the damage done and the repair work to come.—Jim Shepard, author of Like You’d Understand, Anyway

Robin Black's men and women have been around the block—in fact, they've done laps around the block—and are suffused with a fierce and hard-won knowledge about life, about love and loss. It's wisdom that fills these characters. Like bulletins from the front, these magnificent stories shine a light on what it means to be human.—Dani Shapiro, author of Black and White

These stories are full of surprises. They start with the familiar, drawing the reader in with the beauty and precision of their prose until, suddenly, in the middle of a suburban family drama, Italian bandits appear. But what makes If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This such an exquisite collection is the way Robin Black brings these same unpredictable elements into the emotional lives of her characters, creating that special kind of literary magic, where a reader experiences everything, right alongside, and it all feels new.—Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD

NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY.

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction,If I Loved You, I Would Tell You Thistakes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest,If I Loved You, I Would Tell You Thisilluminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves.

Look for the If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This discussion guide inside.

Join the Circle for author chats and more.

RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

Synopsis:

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, Robin Black's If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all.

Written with maturity and insight, and in beautiful, clear-eyed prose, these stories plumb the depths of love, loss, and hope. A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter's infidelity, even as she keeps a disturbing secret of her own. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting a dying man's portrait. An accident on a trip to Italy and an unexpected connection with a stranger cause a woman to question her lifelong assumptions about herself.

Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves.

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Robin Black’s stories and essays have appeared in numerous publications, including One Story, Colorado Review, The Georgia Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, Bellevue Literary Review, The Southern Review, and the anthology The Best Creative Nonfiction. The winner of many awards and a recipient of fellowships from the Leeway Foundation and the MacDowell Colony, Black is a graduate of the Warren Wilson MFA Program for Writers. She lives with her family in Philadelphia.

From the Hardcover edition.

Table of Contents

The guide — If I loved you — Immortalizing John Parker — Harriet Elliot — Gaining ground — Tableau vivant — Pine — A country where you once lived — Divorced, beheaded, survived — The history of the world.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679603689
Subtitle:
Fiction
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Author:
Black, Robin
Author:
Leigh, Richard
Subject:
Religion : Christianity - General
Subject:
Fiction : Short Stories (single author)
Publication Date:
20100330
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
208

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This: Fiction
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 208 pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780679603689 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , FINALIST FOR THE FRANK O’CONNOR SHORT STORY AWARD

NOW WITH AN ADDITIONAL STORY.

Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction,If I Loved You, I Would Tell You Thistakes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all: A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter’s infidelity. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting the portrait of a dying man. Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest,If I Loved You, I Would Tell You Thisilluminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves.

Look for the If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This discussion guide inside.

Join the Circle for author chats and more.

RandomHouseReadersCircle.com

"Synopsis" by , Heralding the arrival of a stunning new voice in American fiction, Robin Black's If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This takes readers into the minds and hearts of people navigating the unsettling transitions that life presents to us all.

Written with maturity and insight, and in beautiful, clear-eyed prose, these stories plumb the depths of love, loss, and hope. A father struggles to forge an independent identity as his blind daughter prepares for college. A mother comes to terms with her adult daughter's infidelity, even as she keeps a disturbing secret of her own. An artist mourns the end of a romance while painting a dying man's portrait. An accident on a trip to Italy and an unexpected connection with a stranger cause a woman to question her lifelong assumptions about herself.

Brilliant, hopeful, and fearlessly honest, If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This illuminates the truths of human relationships, truths we come to recognize in these characters and in ourselves.

From the Hardcover edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.