The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Powell's Q&A | September 3, 2014

Emily St. John Mandel: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Emily St. John Mandel



Describe your latest book. My new novel is called Station Eleven. It's about a traveling Shakespearean theatre company in a post-apocalyptic North... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Station Eleven

    Emily St. John Mandel 9780385353304

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Hawthorne Sociology- General

This title in other editions

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software

by

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Emergence is what happens when an interconnected system of relatively simple elements self-organizes to form more intelligent, more adaptive higher-level behavior. It's a bottom-up model, rather than being engineered by a general or a master planner; emergence begins at the ground level. Systems that at first glance seem vastly different — ant colonies, human brains, cities, immune systems — all turn out to follow the rules of emergence. In each of these systems, agents residing on one scale start producing behavior that lies a scale above them: ants create colonies, urbanites create neighborhoods. In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson takes readers on an eye-opening intellectual journey from the discovery of emergence to its applications.

Review:

"[An] excellent job of putting the Web into historical and biological context, with no dot.com diminishment." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Emergence is thoughtful and lucid and charming and staggeringly smart, all of which I've come to expect from Steven Johnson. But it's also important, I think — a rare, bona fide glimpse of the future." Kurt Andersen, author of Turn of the Century

Review:

"A lucid presentation of emergence theory — the way decentralized thinking allows for cannily effective self-organization — from Feed editor-in-chief Johnson....Johnson's clarity is a boon....Thought-provoking — and deeply appealing to the inner iconoclast." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Emergence will make understanding 'emerge' in your own head, as Steven Johnson explains a lot of phenomena you may not even have noticed: Why are kids so comfortable with complex discovery games? Why are the anti-globalization protests resonating so widely? How can Websites foster trust when their visitors don't know one another?" Esther Dyson, author of Release 2.0

Review:

"A lucid discussion of a fascinating and timely set of ideas." Steven Pinker, Professor of Psychology, MIT, and author of How the Mind Works Works

Synopsis:

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR

AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web?

In the coming years, the power of self-organization — coupled with the connective technology of the Internet — will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.

Synopsis:

andlt;Bandgt;A andlt;Iandgt;NEW YORK TIMESandlt;/Iandgt; NOTABLE BOOKandlt;BRandgt; A andlt;Iandgt;VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENTandlt;/Iandgt; TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEARandlt;BRandgt; AN andlt;Iandgt;ESQUIREandlt;/Iandgt; MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEARandlt;/Bandgt; andlt;BRandgt; In the tradition of andlt;Iandgt;Being Digitalandlt;/Iandgt; and andlt;Iandgt;The Tipping Point,andlt;/Iandgt; Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" andlt;Iandgt;(The Village Voice),andlt;/Iandgt; takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web? andlt;BRandgt; In the coming years, the power of self-organization — coupled with the connective technology of the Internet — will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, andlt;Iandgt;Emergenceandlt;/Iandgt; puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.

About the Author

Johnson holds a BA in semiotics from Brown University and an MA in English from Columbia.

Table of Contents

Contents

Introduction: Here Comes Everybody!

Part One

  1. The Myth of the Ant Queen

Part Two

  1. Street Level

  2. The Pattern Match

  3. Listening to Feedback

  4. Control Artist

Part Three

  1. The Mind Readers

  2. See What Happens

Notes

Bibliography

Acknowledgments

Index

Product Details

ISBN:
9780684868769
Author:
Johnson, Steven
Publisher:
Scribner Book Company
Location:
New York
Subject:
Sociology - Urban
Subject:
System Theory
Subject:
Systems engineering
Subject:
Information Theory
Subject:
Self-organizing systems
Subject:
Swarm intelligence
Subject:
Mathematics-Systems Theory
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st Touchstone ed.
Edition Description:
B102
Series Volume:
1250
Publication Date:
September 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
5 b/w illus. t/o.
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in 8.96 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Unweaving the Rainbow: Science,... Sale Trade Paper $8.98
  2. SYNC: How Order Emerges from Chaos...
    Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. The Ghost Map: The Story of London's...
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  4. A Perfect Mess: The Hidden Benefits...
    Used Hardcover $8.95
  5. Mind Wide Open: Your Brain and the... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  6. Out of Control: The New Biology of...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Computers and Internet » Computers Reference » General
Computers and Internet » Internet » General
Engineering » Communications » Information Theory
Featured Titles » Science
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » General
Reference » Science Reference » Chaos and Complexity
Reference » Science Reference » General
Reference » Science Reference » Technology
Science and Mathematics » Mathematics » Systems Theory

Emergence: The Connected Lives of Ants, Brains, Cities, and Software Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9780684868769 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "[An] excellent job of putting the Web into historical and biological context, with no dot.com diminishment." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "Emergence is thoughtful and lucid and charming and staggeringly smart, all of which I've come to expect from Steven Johnson. But it's also important, I think — a rare, bona fide glimpse of the future."
"Review" by , "A lucid presentation of emergence theory — the way decentralized thinking allows for cannily effective self-organization — from Feed editor-in-chief Johnson....Johnson's clarity is a boon....Thought-provoking — and deeply appealing to the inner iconoclast."
"Review" by , "Emergence will make understanding 'emerge' in your own head, as Steven Johnson explains a lot of phenomena you may not even have noticed: Why are kids so comfortable with complex discovery games? Why are the anti-globalization protests resonating so widely? How can Websites foster trust when their visitors don't know one another?"
"Review" by , "A lucid discussion of a fascinating and timely set of ideas."
"Synopsis" by , A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK

A VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENT TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEAR

AN ESQUIRE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In the tradition of Being Digital and The Tipping Point, Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" (The Village Voice), takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web?

In the coming years, the power of self-organization — coupled with the connective technology of the Internet — will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, Emergence puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.

"Synopsis" by , andlt;Bandgt;A andlt;Iandgt;NEW YORK TIMESandlt;/Iandgt; NOTABLE BOOKandlt;BRandgt; A andlt;Iandgt;VOICE LITERARY SUPPLEMENTandlt;/Iandgt; TOP 25 FAVORITE BOOKS OF THE YEARandlt;BRandgt; AN andlt;Iandgt;ESQUIREandlt;/Iandgt; MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF THE YEARandlt;/Bandgt; andlt;BRandgt; In the tradition of andlt;Iandgt;Being Digitalandlt;/Iandgt; and andlt;Iandgt;The Tipping Point,andlt;/Iandgt; Steven Johnson, acclaimed as a "cultural critic with a poet's heart" andlt;Iandgt;(The Village Voice),andlt;/Iandgt; takes readers on an eye-opening journey through emergence theory and its applications. Explaining why the whole is sometimes smarter than the sum of its parts, Johnson presents surprising examples of feedback, self-organization, and adaptive learning. How does a lively neighborhood evolve out of a disconnected group of shopkeepers, bartenders, and real estate developers? How does a media event take on a life of its own? How will new software programs create an intelligent World Wide Web? andlt;BRandgt; In the coming years, the power of self-organization — coupled with the connective technology of the Internet — will usher in a revolution every bit as significant as the introduction of electricity. Provocative and engaging, andlt;Iandgt;Emergenceandlt;/Iandgt; puts you on the front lines of this exciting upheaval in science and thought.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.