25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Glass Castle: A Memoir

The Glass Castle: A Memoir Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Annie Oaklee, September 1, 2009 (view all comments by Annie Oaklee)
How can this be a heartbreaking and heartwarming story at the same time? Jeanette Walls skillfully makes it so. Jeanette is a survivor and has told a true story that can, at times, be shocking but is still full of love.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
Luigi, December 22, 2008 (view all comments by Luigi)
The remarkable autobiography of a girl who grew up in extreme poverty and survived. Her alcoholic father and free spirited (if not emotionally disturbed) mother managed to neglect her and her siblings while justifying their conduct with believable words of homely wisdom. Jeannette succeeded while her mother still lives on the streets of New York. You may find yourself dumbfounded by the life of this vagabond family, but you will be glad you read this book. For more, go on www.youtube.com and search for "Glass Castle." You will find a video of the author and her mother.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(10 of 17 readers found this comment helpful)
wmcarmichael, April 24, 2007 (view all comments by wmcarmichael)
Such an amazing story of such hard times, and the focus of a child, I loved reading this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(11 of 22 readers found this comment helpful)
Rosalie, March 2, 2007 (view all comments by Rosalie)
Challenging circumstances were no match for this author's extraordinary courage to do much more than just survive. If memories of hardships include having to eat your vegetables, reading The Glass Castle could well change the rest of your life.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 20 readers found this comment helpful)
ERoberts, January 28, 2007 (view all comments by ERoberts)
"Jeannette Walls's father always called her 'Mountain Goat' and there's perhaps no more apt nickname for a girl who navigated a sheer and towering cliff of childhood both daily and stoically. In The Glass Castle, Walls chronicles her upbringing at the hands of eccentric, nomadic parents--Rose Mary, her frustrated-artist mother, and Rex, her brilliant, alcoholic father. To call the elder Walls' childrearing style laissez faire would be putting it mildly. As Rose Mary and Rex, motivated by whims and paranoia, uprooted their kids time and again, the youngsters (Walls, her brother and two sisters) were left largely to their own devices. But while Rex and Rose Mary firmly believed children learned best from their own mistakes, they themselves never seemed to do so, repeating the same disastrous patterns that eventually landed them on the streets. Walls describes in fascinating detail what it was to be a child in this family, from the embarrassing (wearing shoes held together with safety pins; using markers to color her skin in an effort to camouflage holes in her pants) to the horrific (being told, after a creepy uncle pleasured himself in close proximity, that sexual assault is a crime of perception; and being pimped by her father at a bar). Though Walls has well earned the right to complain, at no point does she play the victim. In fact, Walls' removed, nonjudgmental stance is initially startling, since many of the circumstances she describes could be categorized as abusive (and unquestioningly neglectful). But on the contrary, Walls respects her parents' knack for making hardships feel like adventures, and her love for them--despite their overwhelming self-absorption--resonates from cover to cover." --Brangien Davis, Amazon.com

Love the book... I highly recommend it!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(17 of 22 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-5 of 6 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743247535
Subtitle:
A Memoir
Publisher:
Scribner
Author:
Walls, Jeannette
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Dysfunctional Families
Subject:
Adult Children of Alcoholics
Subject:
Homeless persons
Subject:
Entertainment & Performing Arts - Television Personalities
Subject:
Poor
Subject:
Childhood Memoir
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Editors, Journalists, Publishers
Subject:
Problem families -- United States.
Subject:
Children of alcoholics -- United States.
Copyright:
Publication Date:
March 2005
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 19.215 oz

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Recovery and Addiction » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs
History and Social Science » Sociology » Poverty

The Glass Castle: A Memoir
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 304 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9780743247535 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Walls's journalistic bare-bones style makes for a chilling, wrenching, incredible testimony of childhood neglect. A pull-yourself-up-by-the-bootstraps, thoroughly American story."
"Review" by , "Jeannette Walls has carved a story with precision and grace out of one of the most chaotic, heartbreaking childhoods ever to be set down on the page. This deeply affecting memoir is a triumph in every possible way, and it does what all good books should: it affirms our faith in the human spirit."
"Review" by , "The Glass Castle is the saga of the restless, indomitable Walls family, led by a grand eccentric and his tempestuous artist wife. Jeannette Walls has survived poverty, fires, and near starvation to triumph. She has written this amazing tale with honesty and love."
"Review" by , "Just read the first pages of The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, and I defy you not to go on. It's funny and sad and quirky and loving. I was incredibly touched by it."
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Mary Karr's The Liars' Club and Rick Bragg's All Over But the Shouting, Jeannette Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric and severely misguided family.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.