This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 10, 2015

    J. C. Hallman: IMG One in the Oven; or, Why You Should Suck It Up and Meet Your Favorite Author



    At first, I was dead set against it. I would not try to meet Nicholson Baker while I was writing a book about Nicholson Baker. I had a good reason... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton AMERC- MIDWEST & GREAT PLAINS

More copies of this ISBN

Trapped: The 1909 Cherry Mine Disaster

by

Trapped: The 1909 Cherry Mine Disaster Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On a chilly Saturday morning in the fall of 1909, four hundred and eighty men plunged into the depths of the Cherry Mine in Illinois as they had numerous times before, But this day would be different. At lunchtime, a small fire erupted in the inner recesses of the mine shaft and soon burned out of control. Despite the miners' heroic efforts to save their comrades, many sacrificing their own lives rushing in and out of the blackness, more than half of the men would be either burned to death or buried alive by nightfall. When officials sealed the mine, effectively entombing those still trapped underneath in an effort to contain the blaze, hope for survivors was slim. Miraculously, twenty men emerged alive from the once-raging inferno one week later when the shaft was unsealed. All of these miners — dead and alive — would forever be part of the legacy of the worst coal mine fire in U.S. history.

"Trapped" is the riveting account of a tragic day, which inspired the first U.S. worker's compensation laws and hastened much needed changes labor practices in the coal industry. Karen Tintori relates the intimate and devastating details of the Cherry Mine disaster with compassion and conviction, sharing with readers the human drama played out within this historical event. The story, inspired by one intriguing sentence that stayed with a seven-year-old girl long into adulthood — "Your grandfather survived the Cherry Mine disaster" — began Karen Tintori's search for her family's role in this horrible tragedy. Along the way, she uncovers a compelling story of victims, survivors, widows, orphans, townspeople, firefighters, reporters, and mine owners, each playing a part in this harrowingdrama.

Synopsis:

Inspired by a refrain of her girlhood — "Your grandfather survived the Cherry Mine disaster" — Karen Tintori began a search for her family's role in the harrowing tragedy of 1909. She uncovered the stories of victims, survivors, widows, orphans, townspeople, firefighters, reporters, and mine owners, and wove them together to pen Trapped, a riveting account of the tragic day that would inspire America's first worker's compensation laws and hasten much-needed child labor reform. andlt;BRandgt; On a Saturday morning in November of 1909, four hundred and eighty men went down into the mines as they had countless times before. But a fire erupted in the mineshaft that day and soon burned out of control. By nightfall, more than half the men would either be dead or trapped as officials sealed the mine in an attempt to contain the blaze. Miraculously, twenty men would emerge one week later, but not before the Cherry Mine disaster went down in history as the worst ever coal mine fire in the U.S. — and not before all the treachery and heroism of mankind were revealed.

Synopsis:

A riveting account of the 1909 fire that ravaged the "safest" coal mine in the United States, claimed 259 lives, and inspired the country's first worker's compensation laws. A story that still resonates today.... The St. Paul Mine at Cherry, Illinois, was the most modern mine of its time; declared fully fireproof, it seemed destined for a long and profitable future. On November 13, 1909, 480 men and boys descended into the mine. At lunchtime, a small fire that started on a hay wagon rapidly turned the mine into a raging inferno. The fire killed 259 miners; hundreds of woman and children were left destitute. A week after the mine was sealed, twenty-one workers miraculously emerged from the sealed mine. Karen Tintori's grandfather was among the survivors. In Trapped, Tintori offers a compelling "you-are-there" report on the tragedy and its aftermath. She follows the miners, the firemen and civilian rescuers, and the mine owners, politicians, and newspapermen who covered the disaster, and recreates the highly charged trial, which led to the enactment of the nation's first worker's compensation laws. In the tradition of books like The Perfect Storm, Young Men and Fire, and Fire on the Mountain, Trapped is an engrossing combination of fast-paced action and unforgettable portraits of heroes and villains, of defenseless victims and courageous survivors.

About the Author

andlt;Bandgt;Karen Tintoriandlt;/Bandgt; worked in journalism and public relations before becoming a full-time writer. She lives in Michigan with her family.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743421959
Author:
Tintori, Karen
Publisher:
Atria Books
Subject:
History
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
United States - 20th Century
Subject:
Coal mines and mining
Subject:
United States - 20th Century (1900-1945)
Subject:
United States - State & Local - General
Subject:
General History
Subject:
United States - State & Local - Midwest
Subject:
Cherry Mine Disaster, Cherry, Ill., 1909
Subject:
Coal mine accidents - Illinois - Cherry
Subject:
World History-General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Series:
Illinois
Publication Date:
20030931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
1-8p b/w insert
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8.44 x 5.5 in 13.51 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Johnstown Flood (Touchstone Books)
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. The Devil in the White City: Murder,...
    Used Trade Paper $8.50
  3. To the Last Breath (99 Edition) Used Trade Paper $5.00

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Womens Health
History and Social Science » Americana » General
History and Social Science » Americana » Midwest
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General
History and Social Science » US History » General
History and Social Science » World History » General

Trapped: The 1909 Cherry Mine Disaster Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Atria Books - English 9780743421959 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Inspired by a refrain of her girlhood — "Your grandfather survived the Cherry Mine disaster" — Karen Tintori began a search for her family's role in the harrowing tragedy of 1909. She uncovered the stories of victims, survivors, widows, orphans, townspeople, firefighters, reporters, and mine owners, and wove them together to pen Trapped, a riveting account of the tragic day that would inspire America's first worker's compensation laws and hasten much-needed child labor reform. andlt;BRandgt; On a Saturday morning in November of 1909, four hundred and eighty men went down into the mines as they had countless times before. But a fire erupted in the mineshaft that day and soon burned out of control. By nightfall, more than half the men would either be dead or trapped as officials sealed the mine in an attempt to contain the blaze. Miraculously, twenty men would emerge one week later, but not before the Cherry Mine disaster went down in history as the worst ever coal mine fire in the U.S. — and not before all the treachery and heroism of mankind were revealed.
"Synopsis" by , A riveting account of the 1909 fire that ravaged the "safest" coal mine in the United States, claimed 259 lives, and inspired the country's first worker's compensation laws. A story that still resonates today.... The St. Paul Mine at Cherry, Illinois, was the most modern mine of its time; declared fully fireproof, it seemed destined for a long and profitable future. On November 13, 1909, 480 men and boys descended into the mine. At lunchtime, a small fire that started on a hay wagon rapidly turned the mine into a raging inferno. The fire killed 259 miners; hundreds of woman and children were left destitute. A week after the mine was sealed, twenty-one workers miraculously emerged from the sealed mine. Karen Tintori's grandfather was among the survivors. In Trapped, Tintori offers a compelling "you-are-there" report on the tragedy and its aftermath. She follows the miners, the firemen and civilian rescuers, and the mine owners, politicians, and newspapermen who covered the disaster, and recreates the highly charged trial, which led to the enactment of the nation's first worker's compensation laws. In the tradition of books like The Perfect Storm, Young Men and Fire, and Fire on the Mountain, Trapped is an engrossing combination of fast-paced action and unforgettable portraits of heroes and villains, of defenseless victims and courageous survivors.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.