Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Secret of the Sirens: Book One of the Companions Quartet (The Companions Quartet #01)

by

Secret of the Sirens: Book One of the Companions Quartet (The Companions Quartet #01) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When eleven-year-old Connie is sent to live with her eccentric aunt by the sea, she's not expecting anything great — not to make friends with Col, the coolest guy in town, and certainly not to discover that mythical creatures still exist, that an ancient society has protected them for centuries, and that a dark and treacherous force is lurking in their midst. Most of all, she doesn't expect to learn that she has the rarest of talents, greater even than her secret ability to communicate with animals. With Col's help, she could achieve unimaginable power — and face the terrifying choices that come with it.

In the tradition of Eragon, A Wrinkle in Time, and The Golden Compass, the first book in the Companions Quartet is a boldly original adventure that will ignite the imaginations and emotions of fantasy readers everywhere.

Review:

"Golding's YA debut, the first in the Companions Quartet, packs a serious environmental message, yet never feels heavy-handed. Eleven-year-old Connie Lionheart is not like other children — she has mismatched eyes and can talk to animals. Constantly switching schools because of assorted incidents ("Something always happens: foxes start following me around, or mice invade the classroom"), she ends up living with her odd Aunt Evelyn and soon meets popular student Col, who also has mismatched eyes. Aunt Evelyn is aware of Connie's abilities; she is a member of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures, along with Col and a cast of eclectic characters. The Society is currently concerned with the sirens, who are increasingly angered by an encroaching oil company. The Society needs to find a "siren companion," someone who can approach the sirens while they are in their warlike state. Connie turns out to be a "universal companion," able to communicate with all species. Through her, the Society learns that an ancient evil spirit named Kullervo is whipping the sirens into their frenzy. Kullervo attempts to sway the tenderhearted Connie with a view of an unspoiled world — one "scoured clean" of humanity and its poisons — but the Society comes to her aid. The contemporary setting and its modern villains (including a shady oil company that covers up employee deaths) make for an entertaining read. Young readers with an environmental conscience will likely await the next outing in the series. Ages 10-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"'Golding's YA debut, the first in the Companions Quartet, packs a serious environmental message, yet never feels heavy-handed. Eleven-year-old Connie Lionheart is not like other children — she has mismatched eyes and can talk to animals. Constantly switching schools because of assorted incidents ('Something always happens: foxes start following me around, or mice invade the classroom'), she ends up living with her odd Aunt Evelyn and soon meets popular student Col, who also has mismatched eyes. Aunt Evelyn is aware of Connie's abilities; she is a member of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures, along with Col and a cast of eclectic characters. The Society is currently concerned with the sirens, who are increasingly angered by an encroaching oil company. The Society needs to find a 'siren companion,' someone who can approach the sirens while they are in their warlike state. Connie turns out to be a 'universal companion,' able to communicate with all species. Through her, the Society learns that an ancient evil spirit named Kullervo is whipping the sirens into their frenzy. Kullervo attempts to sway the tenderhearted Connie with a view of an unspoiled world — one 'scoured clean' of humanity and its poisons — but the Society comes to her aid. The contemporary setting and its modern villains (including a shady oil company that covers up employee deaths) make for an entertaining read. Young readers with an environmental conscience will likely await the next outing in the series. Ages 10-up.' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"[A] classic hero's journey....[G]reat fantasy that is well written and riveting to the reader....[A] wonderful start to a series that will quickly develop a following." Children's Literature

Review:

"Golding offers the softer side of adventure fantasy....Structurally epic but gentle in aura; an easily accessible tale for readers who enjoy mythical creatures." Kirkus Reviews

Synopsis:

"Originally published in the UK by Oxford University Press, 2006."

About the Author

Julia Golding lives in Oxford, England. Her first book, The Diamond of Drury Lane, won the Nestlé Children's Book Prize and the Ottakar's Children's Book Prize in England. Visit the world of The Companions Quartet and find out more about protecting animals and the environment at: www.companionsclub.co.uk and www.juliagolding.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780761453710
Publisher:
Marshall Cavendish Children's Books
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Author:
Golding, Julia
Subject:
Environmental protection
Subject:
Supernatural
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Secret societies
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Copyright:
Series:
Companions Quartet
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
April 2007
Binding:
Hardcover
Grade Level:
- Up
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
357
Dimensions:
7.97x5.47x1.39 in. 1.14 lbs.
Age Level:
10-UP

Related Subjects

Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

Secret of the Sirens: Book One of the Companions Quartet (The Companions Quartet #01)
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 357 pages Marshall Cavendish Children's Books - English 9780761453710 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Golding's YA debut, the first in the Companions Quartet, packs a serious environmental message, yet never feels heavy-handed. Eleven-year-old Connie Lionheart is not like other children — she has mismatched eyes and can talk to animals. Constantly switching schools because of assorted incidents ("Something always happens: foxes start following me around, or mice invade the classroom"), she ends up living with her odd Aunt Evelyn and soon meets popular student Col, who also has mismatched eyes. Aunt Evelyn is aware of Connie's abilities; she is a member of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures, along with Col and a cast of eclectic characters. The Society is currently concerned with the sirens, who are increasingly angered by an encroaching oil company. The Society needs to find a "siren companion," someone who can approach the sirens while they are in their warlike state. Connie turns out to be a "universal companion," able to communicate with all species. Through her, the Society learns that an ancient evil spirit named Kullervo is whipping the sirens into their frenzy. Kullervo attempts to sway the tenderhearted Connie with a view of an unspoiled world — one "scoured clean" of humanity and its poisons — but the Society comes to her aid. The contemporary setting and its modern villains (including a shady oil company that covers up employee deaths) make for an entertaining read. Young readers with an environmental conscience will likely await the next outing in the series. Ages 10-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "'Golding's YA debut, the first in the Companions Quartet, packs a serious environmental message, yet never feels heavy-handed. Eleven-year-old Connie Lionheart is not like other children — she has mismatched eyes and can talk to animals. Constantly switching schools because of assorted incidents ('Something always happens: foxes start following me around, or mice invade the classroom'), she ends up living with her odd Aunt Evelyn and soon meets popular student Col, who also has mismatched eyes. Aunt Evelyn is aware of Connie's abilities; she is a member of the Society for the Protection of Mythical Creatures, along with Col and a cast of eclectic characters. The Society is currently concerned with the sirens, who are increasingly angered by an encroaching oil company. The Society needs to find a 'siren companion,' someone who can approach the sirens while they are in their warlike state. Connie turns out to be a 'universal companion,' able to communicate with all species. Through her, the Society learns that an ancient evil spirit named Kullervo is whipping the sirens into their frenzy. Kullervo attempts to sway the tenderhearted Connie with a view of an unspoiled world — one 'scoured clean' of humanity and its poisons — but the Society comes to her aid. The contemporary setting and its modern villains (including a shady oil company that covers up employee deaths) make for an entertaining read. Young readers with an environmental conscience will likely await the next outing in the series. Ages 10-up.' Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[A] classic hero's journey....[G]reat fantasy that is well written and riveting to the reader....[A] wonderful start to a series that will quickly develop a following."
"Review" by , "Golding offers the softer side of adventure fantasy....Structurally epic but gentle in aura; an easily accessible tale for readers who enjoy mythical creatures."
"Synopsis" by , "Originally published in the UK by Oxford University Press, 2006."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.