Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 29, 2014

    Neil Patrick Harris: IMG Neil Patrick Harris: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $19.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

by

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane Cover

ISBN13: 9780763625894
ISBN10: 0763625892
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 9 comments:

Snowwing1993, January 4, 2011 (view all comments by Snowwing1993)
This is my favorite book of all time. I read it once when I was little, and I'm only 14 now, but I've spent all of my Middle school time searching, and asking around, for the name of this book, when all I could remember was the end. Now that I've found it, I'm going to read it a thousand times. Finally finding this book again made me cry.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
bin05004, September 23, 2007 (view all comments by bin05004)
This is my favorite of Kate Dicamillo's wonderful stories. I was mesmerized by Edward's desire to return home. I read the story in one sitting and immediately made my entire family read it. It is one of our all-time favorites.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(12 of 24 readers found this comment helpful)
minirabbit, September 17, 2007 (view all comments by minirabbit)
is there a spot where u can see the answers to the questions?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(11 of 24 readers found this comment helpful)
minirabbit, September 17, 2007 (view all comments by minirabbit)
I read the miraculous journey of edward tulane in class and i really want you to make a second one.so i want to know if u can?So please answer back some how if u can.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 12 readers found this comment helpful)
mernigini, April 11, 2007 (view all comments by mernigini)
I read this amazing story to my daughter while we were on a road trip. Not only was she begging me to read after it got dark, she had to see the beautiful artwork at the same time. I highly recommend this wonderful book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-5 of 9 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780763625894
Author:
Dicamillo, Kate
Publisher:
Candlewick Press (MA)
Illustrator:
Ibatoulline, Bagram
Author:
Cuevas, Michelle
Author:
DiCamillo, Kate
Author:
Morstad, Julie
Author:
Ibatoulline, Bagram
Author:
Peck, Richard
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Adventure and adventurers
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Literature - Classics / Contemporary
Subject:
Love
Subject:
Toys, Dolls, & Puppets
Subject:
Children's 4-8 - Literature / Classics
Subject:
Social Issues - Emotions & Feelings
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fairy Tales & Folklore - Single Title
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
Animals - Mice Hamsters Guinea Pigs etc.
Subject:
Animals - Birds
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
February 14, 2006
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 2
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4-COLOR
Pages:
160
Dimensions:
44.5 x 13 x 10 in 24 lb
Age Level:
07-08

Other books you might like

  1. Small Steps Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Criss Cross
    Used Trade Paper $2.50
  3. The Adventures of Vin Fiz Used Hardcover $6.50
  4. The Wall and the Wing Used Trade Paper $2.50
  5. The Sea of Trolls
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. The Greenstone Grail (Sangreal... Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Animals » Rabbits
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Emotions and Feelings

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 160 pages Candlewick Press (MA) - English 9780763625894 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Although Edward Tulane resents being referred to as a toy, much less a doll, most of us would regard him as such. He is, in fact, a rabbit made mostly of china, jointed with wire at the elbows and knees, so that he has quite a range of motion. His ears are bendable wire, covered with rabbit fur, so that they can be arranged to suit his mood — 'jaunty, tired, full of ennui.' He has a lovely, fluffy rabbit fur tail, as well. He prefers not to think about his whiskers, as he darkly suspects their origin in some inferior animal. Edward, thanks to his owner's grandmother, has more clothes, and certainly more elegant clothes, than most children. He even has a little gold pocket watch that really tells time. But the most important thing that Edward has in his pampered life is the love of a 10-year-old girl named Abilene Tulane. Surely, Edward Tulane is a rabbit who has everything — everything that is, but what he most needs. There will be inevitable comparisons of Edward Tulane to The Velveteen Rabbit, and Margery Williams's classic story can still charm after 83 years. But as delightful as it is, it can't match the exquisite language, inventive plot twists and memorable characters of DiCamillo's tale. Edward, unlike Rabbit, has never thought of himself as less than real, he just hasn't caught on to what it means to love anything or anyone beyond his own reflected image. Until, that is, he is rudely set off on the miraculous journey of the title — a journey that begins when Abilene's grandmother tells her and Edward a strange fairy tale of a princess who does not know how to love, and whispers in Edward's ear, 'You disappoint me.' And the journey ends, as any true fairy tale should, with a happily ever after. But it is the journey from pride through humiliation, heartbreak and near destruction that brings Edward to that joyful ending. Even in the galley stage, this is a beautiful book. Ibatoulline's illustrations are simply wonderful, and the high quality of the design incorporates luxurious paper and spaciously arranged blocks of text. But a story for today about a toy rabbit? Okay, I thought, Kate DiCamillo can make me cry for a motherless child and a mongrel stray. She can wring my heart following the trials of two lonely children and a caged tiger, and bring tears to my eyes for a brave little lovesick mouse, but why should I care what happens to an arrogant, over-dressed china rabbit? But I did care, desperately, and I think I can safely predict you will, too." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "[T]he story soars because of DiCamillo's lyrical use of language and her understanding of universal yearnings. This will be a pleasure to read aloud."
"Review" by , "This achingly beautiful story shows a true master of writing at her very best....This superb book is beautifully written in spare yet stirring language....An ever-so-marvelous tale."
"Review" by , "DiCamillo spins the tale of Edward, transformed by the lives he touches. The reader will be transformed too. Sumptuous gouache illustrations complement the old-fashioned, dramatic narrative. Keep the tissues handy for this one."
"Review" by , "The prose is spare and considered, and the characters are fully drawn and complete. A further treat is Bagram Ibatoulline's artwork throughout the text. Lush and elegant, it lends Edward the dignity he so richly deserves."
"Synopsis" by , The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is a timeless story told by Newbery-Award winning author Kate DiCamillo. Stunning full-color plates by fine artist Bagram Ibatoulline complement this powerful story about the enduring power of love.
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of E. B. White and Kate DiCamillo comes the magical and moving story of a bird-like boy who longs to fly

Ten-year-old Nashville doesnt feel like he belongs with his family, in his town, or even in this world. He was hatched from an egg his father found on the sidewalk and has grown into something not quite boy and not quite bird. Despite the support of his loving parents and his adoring sister, Junebug, Nashville wishes more than anything that he could join his fellow birds up in the sky. After all, what's the point of being part bird if you can't even touch the clouds?

With an ear for language and a gift for storytelling, Michelle Cuevas will remind fans of Stuart Little and Where the Mountain Meets the Moon that anything is possible. Even flying.

"Synopsis" by , US
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.