Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | March 24, 2015

    Judith Claire Mitchell: IMG The Book That Refused to Write Itself



    I first heard of Fritz Haber in 1998, when I caught a snippet of a TV documentary about 20th-century scientists. The camera zoomed in on an image of... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking Trilogy #01

by

The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking Trilogy #01 Cover

ISBN13: 9780763645762
ISBN10: 0763645761
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 7 comments:

ponyta72, September 1, 2011 (view all comments by ponyta72)
This books is a page-turner! It has to be the best book that I've read this year.
I found it hard to enjoy the first chapter or so because the whole book is full of spelling and gramatical "mistakes", but when the reason for this dialect is revealed, it adds character to the story.
I found the topic of a new world where everyones thoughts are heard to be very interesting, and Patrick Ness did a very good job at showing the ways that this disease has affected the new colonies.
The main question that drives Todd throughout this story is what it means to be a man, and he is constantly wondering whether or not he is a man, regardless of his age.
I would recomend this book to all teens and adults. It is a gripping story that left me wanting more.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
rich from cataumet ma, July 26, 2010 (view all comments by rich from cataumet ma)
With the last installment of the Chaos Walking trilogy due out in September, now's the time to start with the first book. You won't be disappointed. This series is binned into a young adult category, but it's so well crafted and the subject matter so relevant that the age range should be 14-50 instead of 14-17. I enjoyed every moment of this story with Todd & his dog, Viola, and the other characters, set in a future time on a colony planet where your thoughts are no longer your own. The storytelling is spot-on and the reader is taken on a suspenseful trip that examines love, loss, friendship, and the cost of doing what's right. Worth every moment and highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(4 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
previous  6-7 of 7

Product Details

ISBN:
9780763645762
Author:
Ness, Patrick
Publisher:
Putnam Juvenile
Author:
Kujawinski, Peter
Author:
Halpern, Jake
Author:
Green, Sally
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Violence
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Space colonies
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
General-General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
dystopia;science fiction;fiction;ya;young adult;fantasy;adventure;dystopian;telepathy;coming of age;survival;friendship;chaos walking;teen;war;violence;aliens;sf;dogs;thriller;space travel;young adult fiction;space colonies;death;religion;secrets;suspense
Subject:
dystopia;science fiction;fiction;ya;young adult;fantasy;adventure;dystopian;telepathy;coming of age;survival;friendship;chaos walking;teen;war;violence;aliens;sf;dogs;thriller;space travel;young adult fiction;space colonies;death;religion;secrets;suspense
Subject:
dystopia;science fiction;fiction;ya;young adult;fantasy;adventure;dystopian;telepathy;coming of age;survival;friendship;chaos walking;teen;war;violence;aliens;sf;dogs;thriller;space travel;young adult fiction;space colonies;death;religion;secrets;suspense
Subject:
dystopia;science fiction;fiction;ya;young adult;fantasy;adventure;dystopian;telepathy;coming of age;survival;friendship;chaos walking;teen;war;violence;aliens;sf;thriller;dogs;secrets;young adult fiction;space travel;death;space colonies;religion;journey;
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
The Half Bad Trilogy
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20151013
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Illustrations:
1-COLOR
Pages:
416
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
14-17

Other books you might like

  1. Aurelia
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. The Luxe (Luxe)
    Used Trade Paper $0.95
  3. Clay Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  4. Warriors: Code of the Clans (Warriors) Used Hardcover $10.50
  5. Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. Dewey: There's a Cat in the Library!
    Used Book Club Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction
Children's » Staff Picks
Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Young Adult » Featured Titles
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Violence
Young Adult » General

The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos Walking Trilogy #01 Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 416 pages Candlewick Press (MA) - English 9780763645762 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Narrated...with crack dramatic and comic timing by Todd and featuring one of the finest talking-dog characters anywhere, this troubling, unforgettable opener to the Chaos Walking trilogy is a penetrating look at the ways in which we reveal ourselves to one another, and what it takes to be a man in a society gone horribly wrong."
"Review" by , "This riveting SF thriller is action-packed, with edge-of-your-seat chase scenes, a monstrous villain who just won't die, and moments of both anguish and triumph....Emotionally intense...haunting page-turner."
"Review" by , "Adventure abounds in this suspenseful coming of age novel."
"Review" by , "Tension [and] suspense...are palpable throughout, mitigated by occasional moments of welcome humor."
"Review" by , "A read-alone, stay-up-way-too-late book for older readers looking for the combination of being scared and being stirred to gallop to the end."
"Review" by , "The nicely balanced mix of coming-of-age novel, science-fiction adventure, and dystopic thriller will make this an appealing choice for a range of genre readers...still unsolved mysteries, carefully developed by Ness and left at tantalizing moments of resolution, guarantee anticipation for the next two."
"Synopsis" by , Readers are in for a white-knuckle journey in this series that follows a boy and girl on the run from a town where all thoughts can be heard — and the passage into manhood embodies a horrible secret.
"Synopsis" by ,
A story where edge-of-your-seat horror meets post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of Lois Lowry and The Mazerunner

Night is coming.

On Marins island, sunrise doesnt come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years. Each sunset, the townspeople sail to the south, where they wait out the long Night. None of the adults will tell Marin, Kana, or their friend Line exactly what happens when they leave the island, but when the three are accidentally left behind in the gathering dusk, they learn the truth: at Night, their town belongs to others, and those others want them gone.

Fleeing through the now-alien landscape that used to be their home, the three confront shocking transformations and uncomfortable truths about themselves.  They are challenged to trust one another or perish. Marin, Kana, and Line must find their way off the island . . . before the Night finds them.

"Synopsis" by ,
In modern-day England, witches live alongside humans: White witches, who are good; Black witches, who are evil; and sixteen-year-old Nathan, who is both. Nathans father is the worlds most powerful and cruel Black witch, and his mother is dead. He is hunted from all sides. Trapped in a cage, beaten and handcuffed, Nathan must escape before his seventeenth birthday, at which point he will receive three gifts from his father and come into his own as a witch—or else he will die. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust—not even family, not even the girl he loves?

In the tradition of Patrick Ness and Markus Zusak, Half Bad is a gripping tale of alienation and the indomitable will to survive, a story that will grab hold of you and not let go until the very last page.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.