No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | January 9, 2015

    Chris Faatz: IMG Jill Maxick of Prometheus Books: The Powells.com Interview



    For decades, Prometheus Books has put out titles we both love and respect. Prometheus is the leading publisher in the United States of books on free... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Court of the Air

The Court of the Air Cover

ISBN13: 9780765320421
ISBN10: 0765320428
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder at the brothel she has recently been apprenticed to, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she was the real target of the attack. For Molly is a special little girl, and she carries a secret that marks her out for destruction by enemies of the state.

Oliver Brooks has led a sheltered existence in the backwater home of his merchant uncle. But when he is framed for his only relative's murder he is forced to flee for his life, accompanied by an agent of the mysterious Court of the Air. Chased across the country, Oliver finds himself in the company of thieves, outlaws and spies, and gradually learns more about the secret that has blighted his life.

Soon Molly and Oliver will find themselves battling a grave threat to civilization, an ancient power thought to have been quelled millennia ago. Their enemies are ruthless and myriad, but the two orphans are also aided by indomitable friends in this endlessly inventive tale full of drama, intrigue, and adventure.

The Court of the Air is a rollicking adventure set in a fantastical Dickensian clockwork universe that will appeal to fans of Susanna Clarke and Philip Pullman.

 

Review:

"Two teenage orphans in an anemic fantasy analogue of Victorian London are baffled to find themselves on the run in this overeager effort from British author and blogger Hunt (For the Crown and the Dragon). Molly, pursued by determined assassins with mysterious masters, hides underground, while Oliver, framed for his uncle's death, takes to the air to escape the fey-hunting Special Guard. They also draw the attention of the Court of the Air, a shadowy black-ops organization, and 'communityist' revolutionaries seeking to resurrect ancient subterranean gods. An entire steampunk menagerie is pressed into lackluster service, but the pace leaves no time to focus on any single element. Only the 'steammen' and their refreshingly tender machine culture are affecting and original. The historical and geographical parallels are overly frequent and mostly trite. Hunt has packed the story full of intriguing gimmicks, but the end result is more overload than wonder. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she had been the real target of the attack in this adventure set in a fantastical universe.

About the Author

Stephen Hunt is currently on the management, technical, and editorial boards for SFcrowsnest.com, the science fiction and fantasy web site which is currently Google PageRanked™ as the Internet's second most popular science fiction site. The Court of the Air is his second novel.  He resides in London.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Douglas McGowan, June 5, 2009 (view all comments by Douglas McGowan)
A good summer read

I enjoyed this novel, which introduces some memorable characters and a goodly number of character types including the very engaging Steammen, who are gallant, generous and wise. The setting is a steampunk-esque fantasy world that is on the brink of total conflict. The novel runs more rapidly and less deep by far than say, Pullman or Sterling. The galloping pace keeps you from ever entirely getting your bearings; but that's part of the fun! Roll with it and see where it takes you!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780765320421
Publisher:
Tor Books
Subject:
Fantasy - General
Author:
Hunt, Stephen
Subject:
Orphans
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Fantasy - Epic
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Jackelian World
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20080610
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
592
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.13 x 1.94 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

The Court of the Air
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 592 pages Tor Books - English 9780765320421 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Two teenage orphans in an anemic fantasy analogue of Victorian London are baffled to find themselves on the run in this overeager effort from British author and blogger Hunt (For the Crown and the Dragon). Molly, pursued by determined assassins with mysterious masters, hides underground, while Oliver, framed for his uncle's death, takes to the air to escape the fey-hunting Special Guard. They also draw the attention of the Court of the Air, a shadowy black-ops organization, and 'communityist' revolutionaries seeking to resurrect ancient subterranean gods. An entire steampunk menagerie is pressed into lackluster service, but the pace leaves no time to focus on any single element. Only the 'steammen' and their refreshingly tender machine culture are affecting and original. The historical and geographical parallels are overly frequent and mostly trite. Hunt has packed the story full of intriguing gimmicks, but the end result is more overload than wonder. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , When streetwise Molly Templar witnesses a brutal murder, her first instinct is to run back to the poorhouse where she grew up. But there she finds her fellow orphans butchered, and it slowly dawns on her that she had been the real target of the attack in this adventure set in a fantastical universe.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.