We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 29, 2015

    Roger Hobbs: IMG Soundtrack of Macau: Roger Hobbs's Playlist for Vanishing Games



    My new novel, Vanishing Games, is a heist thriller set in the gambling city of Macau, China. I lived there briefly while researching the book and... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Vanishing Games

      Roger Hobbs 9780385352642

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $15.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Reference- Books on Books

This title in other editions

Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World

by

Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of "Longitude and "Brunelleschi's Dome, the fascinating story of a bold freethinker who discovered blood circulation, questions religious orthodoxy, was burned at the stake--and the strange fate of the book that caused his death.

About the Author

LAWRENCE and NANCY GOLDSTONE are a husband-and-wife writing team who have authored three books on their book-collecting pursuits: Used and Rare (St. Martin's, 1977), Slightly Chipped (St. Martin's, 1999), and Warmly Inscribed (St. Martin's, 2001).

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780767908375
Author:
Goldstone, Lawrence
Publisher:
Broadway Books
Author:
Goldstone, Nancy
Author:
Goldstone, Nancy Bazelon
Subject:
Religious
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Christianity - History - General
Subject:
Europe - Western
Subject:
Biography-Historical
Subject:
Renaissance
Subject:
history;religion;books about books;non-fiction;christianity;biography;servetus;heresy;16th century;reformation;book collecting;europe;european history;heretics;book history;unitarianism
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20030931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
APPROX. 20 B and W PHOTOS
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.16x5.24x.85 in. .69 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Murder in Montmartre (Aimee Leduc... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Salt: A World History
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  3. The Fruit of Stone
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  4. The Tears of Autumn
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Pronoia Is the Antidote for...
    Used Trade Paper $9.50
  6. The Tragedy of Macbeth (Folger...
    Used Mass Market $4.50

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Biography » Historical
Biography » Religious
History and Social Science » Western Civilization » Renaissance
History and Social Science » World History » European History General
Reference » Books on Books
Religion » Christianity » Church History » General

Out of the Flames: The Remarkable Story of a Fearless Scholar, a Fatal Heresy, and One of the Rarest Books in the World Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Broadway Books - English 9780767908375 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.