Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 14, 2015

    Joshua Mohr: IMG Your Imagination, Your Fingerprint



    When I was in grad school, a teacher told our workshop that if a published novel is 300 pages, the writer had to generate 1,200 along the way. I... Continue »
    1. $17.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      All This Life

      Joshua Mohr 9781593766030

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
List price: $16.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Five Flavors of Dumb

by

Five Flavors of Dumb Cover

ISBN13: 9780803734333
ISBN10: 0803734336
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $8.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A lost colony is reborn in this heart-pounding fantasy adventure set in the near future. Enter the world of the Elementals, which James Dashner called “completely gripping and full of intrigue, revelation, mystery, and suspense.”

 

Sixteen-year-old Thomas has always been an outsider. The first child born without the power of an element—earth, water, wind, or fire—he has little to offer his tiny, remote Outer Banks colony. Or so the Guardians would have him believe.

 

In the wake of an unforeseen storm, desperate pirates kidnap the Guardians, intent on claiming the island as their own. Caught between the Plague-ridden mainland and the advancing pirates, Thomas and his friends fight for survival in the battered remains of a mysterious abandoned settlement. But the secrets they unearth will turn Thomass world upside-down, and bring to light not only a treacherous past but also a future more dangerous than he can possibly imagine.

 

Written by an award-winning author, this dynamic series is perfect for fans of dystopian thrillers like James Dashners The Maze Runner and Marie Lus Legend.

“Plenty of action for readers who enjoy survival stories with a twist of the supernatural and a hint of romance.” –School Library Journal

“The novels captivating storyline, rapid pace, and cliffhanger ending are sure to leave fans of novels like Grants Gone series absorbed with the action and anxious for a sequel.” –Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Engaging characters and plenty of mystery, adventure, and action." -Publishers Weekly

 

Review:

"'Seriously, what family with a history of hereditary deafness names their child after the player of a musical instrument?' High school senior Piper, who began to lose her hearing at age six, has mixed feelings about her parents dipping into her college fund to pay for cochlear implants for her hearing-impaired baby sister. But one thing is clear: Piper has to replenish the funds. Opportunity knocks when a disorganized rock band named Dumb invites her to be their manager. However, it soon becomes apparent that the members' egos are more substantial than their talent. In this witty yet thoughtful behind-the-music account of Dumb's journey to semistardom, John (Busted: Confessions of an Accidental Player) creates a series of humorous surprises while demonstrating how Piper's deafness, which is integral to the story and never feels like a gimmick, affects her life and those of her parents and brother, who are equally complex and well-developed characters. Relying on help from unexpected sources, Piper learns important lessons about music and media hype, while growing closer to her family and friends in the process. Ages 12 — up. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

Piper is a seventeen-year-old high school senior, and she's just been challenged to get her school's super-popular rock band, Dumb, a paying gig. The catch? Piper is deaf. Can she manage a band with five wildly different musicians, nurture a budding romance, and discover her own inner rock star, though she can't hear Dumb's music?

"Complex characterizations, authentic dialogue and realistic ups-and-downs give this title chart-topping potential." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"I loved it and laughed out loud. Hilarious and so smart. Dumb proves that everyone, no matter what, deserves to be heard." - Catherine Gilbert Murdock, author of Dairy Queen

Synopsis:

Winner of the Schneider Book Award

The award-winning author of the Elemental series delivers a rock-and-roll novel that Lauren Myracle called “raw, fresh, funny, and authentic.”

 

The Challenge: Eighteen-year-old Piper has one month to get her high schools coolest rock band Dumb a paying gig.

The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the bands manager and get her share of the profits.

The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage a band made up of an egomaniacal pretty boy, a talentless piece of eye candy, a silent rocker, an angry girl, and a crush-worthy nerd boy? And how can she do it when shes deaf?

Piper is determined to show her classmates that just because shes hearing impaired doesnt mean shes invisible. With growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of her parents decision to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb.

For fans of K. L. Goings Fat Kid Rules the World and Catherine Gilbert Murdocks Dairy Queen.

 

 

 

About the Author

"I loved it and laughed out loud. Hilarious and so smart. Dumb proves that everyone, no matter what, deserves to be heard." -Catherine Gilbert Murdoch, author of Dairy Queen"No glittery teen novel here,, thank heavens. Five Flavors of Dumb is raw, fresh, funny, and authentic. Piper is my hero." - Lauren Myracle, author of Peace, Love and Baby Ducks"In this witty yet thoughtful behind-the-music account of Dumb's journey to semistardom, John creates a series of humorous surprises while demonstrating how Piper's deafness, which is integral to the story and never feels like a gimmick, affects her life and those of her parents and brother, who are equally complex and well-developed characters." - Publishers Weekly"Piper--gutsy, savvy and, yes, deaf--has signed her way into a gig that promises a big, necessary payoff: manager of Dumb, Seattle's Battle of the Bands winners. ...Making Piper the manager of a rock band never feels like a cheap trick (pardon the pun) because Piper is not A Great Deaf Character but a great character who is deaf. Complex characterizations, authentic dialogue and realistic ups-and-downs give this title chart-topping potential." - Kirkus, starred review

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

beetlegirl47, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by beetlegirl47)
Don't bypass this one as just another young adult novel! There is something for everyone here - great story, interesting characters, family dynamics, high school, music - I loved it!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803734333
Author:
John, Antony
Publisher:
Dial Books
Author:
Barnes, John
Subject:
Performing Arts - Music
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
People with disabilities
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
General-General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20101131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7 up to AND UP
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-12

Other books you might like

  1. Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians...
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  2. Whales on Stilts (M. T. Anderson's...
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  3. Millions Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Performing Arts » Music
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Special Needs
Young Adult » General

Five Flavors of Dumb Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Dial Books - English 9780803734333 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "'Seriously, what family with a history of hereditary deafness names their child after the player of a musical instrument?' High school senior Piper, who began to lose her hearing at age six, has mixed feelings about her parents dipping into her college fund to pay for cochlear implants for her hearing-impaired baby sister. But one thing is clear: Piper has to replenish the funds. Opportunity knocks when a disorganized rock band named Dumb invites her to be their manager. However, it soon becomes apparent that the members' egos are more substantial than their talent. In this witty yet thoughtful behind-the-music account of Dumb's journey to semistardom, John (Busted: Confessions of an Accidental Player) creates a series of humorous surprises while demonstrating how Piper's deafness, which is integral to the story and never feels like a gimmick, affects her life and those of her parents and brother, who are equally complex and well-developed characters. Relying on help from unexpected sources, Piper learns important lessons about music and media hype, while growing closer to her family and friends in the process. Ages 12 — up. (Nov.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by ,
Piper is a seventeen-year-old high school senior, and she's just been challenged to get her school's super-popular rock band, Dumb, a paying gig. The catch? Piper is deaf. Can she manage a band with five wildly different musicians, nurture a budding romance, and discover her own inner rock star, though she can't hear Dumb's music?

"Complex characterizations, authentic dialogue and realistic ups-and-downs give this title chart-topping potential." - Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"I loved it and laughed out loud. Hilarious and so smart. Dumb proves that everyone, no matter what, deserves to be heard." - Catherine Gilbert Murdock, author of Dairy Queen

"Synopsis" by ,
Winner of the Schneider Book Award

The award-winning author of the Elemental series delivers a rock-and-roll novel that Lauren Myracle called “raw, fresh, funny, and authentic.”

 

The Challenge: Eighteen-year-old Piper has one month to get her high schools coolest rock band Dumb a paying gig.

The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the bands manager and get her share of the profits.

The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage a band made up of an egomaniacal pretty boy, a talentless piece of eye candy, a silent rocker, an angry girl, and a crush-worthy nerd boy? And how can she do it when shes deaf?

Piper is determined to show her classmates that just because shes hearing impaired doesnt mean shes invisible. With growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of her parents decision to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb.

For fans of K. L. Goings Fat Kid Rules the World and Catherine Gilbert Murdocks Dairy Queen.

 

 

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.