Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton CH- MR- ENDCAP
1 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
9 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- General

This title in other editions

Counting by 7s

by

Counting by 7s Cover

 

Awards

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn't kept her from leading a quietly happy life... until now.

Suddenly Willow's world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

Review:

"Willow Chance is an extremely precocious and analytical 12-year-old 'genius,' and she doesn't fit in with other kids (though she'd doubtlessly find a kindred spirit in Lauren Tarshis's Emma-Jean Lazarus). Despite Willow's social difficulties, she makes an impression on everyone around her — whether it's Dell Duke, a lonely and ineffectual school district counselor, or Jairo Hernandez, the taxi driver Willow hires to drive her to her meetings with Dell. After Willow's parents die in a car crash, her new friend Mai Nguyen persuades her mother to take Willow in; despite the Nguyens' poverty, their makeshift home and open arms help bring Willow back from the void. As in Sloan's I'll Be There, the narration shifts among multiple viewpoints, from Willow's cerebral first-person perspective to third-person chapters that demonstrate how her presence is transformational to those around her, young and old. But while elements of Willow's story are indeed extraordinary and even inspirational, Sloan's somewhat portentous storytelling gets in the way of letting readers reach their own conclusions about the ways people save each other. Ages 10–up. Agent: Amy Berkower, Writers House." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

“A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet — but never cloying — lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.” Booklist (starred review)

Review:

“What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone....Poignant.” The Horn Book (starred review)

Review:

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I've never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I'll never forget.” John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

Review:

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book." Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

Review:

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph." Maria Semple, author of Where'd You Go, Bernadette

About the Author

Holly Goldberg Sloan, the acclaimed author of I'll Be There, has worked as an advertising copywriter and a writer and director of feature films. She lives in Santa Monica, California.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780803738553
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Publisher:
Dial
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Family - Parents
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20130829
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 12

Other books you might like

  1. Trinkets New Trade Paper $10.00
  2. All I Need Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. Klaatu Diskos #01: The Obsidian Blade
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  4. Middle School: My Brother Is a Big,... Used Hardcover $10.95
  5. Getting Air Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Family » Alternative Family
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals
Children's » Staff Picks
Young Adult » Featured Titles

Counting by 7s New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Dial - English 9780803738553 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Willow Chance is an extremely precocious and analytical 12-year-old 'genius,' and she doesn't fit in with other kids (though she'd doubtlessly find a kindred spirit in Lauren Tarshis's Emma-Jean Lazarus). Despite Willow's social difficulties, she makes an impression on everyone around her — whether it's Dell Duke, a lonely and ineffectual school district counselor, or Jairo Hernandez, the taxi driver Willow hires to drive her to her meetings with Dell. After Willow's parents die in a car crash, her new friend Mai Nguyen persuades her mother to take Willow in; despite the Nguyens' poverty, their makeshift home and open arms help bring Willow back from the void. As in Sloan's I'll Be There, the narration shifts among multiple viewpoints, from Willow's cerebral first-person perspective to third-person chapters that demonstrate how her presence is transformational to those around her, young and old. But while elements of Willow's story are indeed extraordinary and even inspirational, Sloan's somewhat portentous storytelling gets in the way of letting readers reach their own conclusions about the ways people save each other. Ages 10–up. Agent: Amy Berkower, Writers House." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , “A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet — but never cloying — lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.”
"Review" by , “What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a “person of color”; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone....Poignant.”
"Review" by , “Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way I've never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that I'll never forget.”
"Review" by , "Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."
"Review" by , "In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that's a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.