Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer

On Order

$16.95
New Trade Paper
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Biology- Reference

A Very Small Farm

by

A Very Small Farm Cover

ISBN13: 9780806137780
ISBN10: 0806137789
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Thoreauand#8217;s Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres. As a subsistence farmer, he builds his own house and barn, puts in a garden and an orchard, acquires a milk cow, and takes up beekeeping. In these pages, we hear his thoughts on such subjects as the weather, seasonal changes, machinery repair, the flora and fauna of the region, and vegetarian cooking. His philosophy, like his lifestyle, is simple, yet profoundly wise.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres, illustrated with 25 line drawings.

About the Author

William Paul Winchester graduated from the University of Tulsa with a degree in botany. His essays have appeared in Country Journal, Buying America Back, Oklahoma Today, and elsewhere. He continues to live on his small farm in Collinsville, Oklahoma.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

JEANETTE, July 20, 2009 (view all comments by JEANETTE)
This book is a gem, pure and simple. William Winchester's classic diary of a life sustained, body and soul, almost entirely by the work of a young man's own hands. Anyone looking for an in-depth how-to farm book should look elsewhere. This is a quiet meditation on the joys of being intimately acquainted with a piece of one's world, and of examining it in loving (some may say excruciating!) detail, from the insects and animals sharing his space to the cheeses and breads he produces from his own grains and his Jersey cow's rich milk. Recipes included! A comforting and nourishing book to be savored and re-read many times.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780806137780
Author:
Winchester, William Paul
Publisher:
University of Oklahoma Press
Illustrator:
Stanton, Carol
Author:
Stanton, Carol
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Farm life
Subject:
Oklahoma
Subject:
Farm life -- Oklahoma.
Subject:
Winchester, William Paul
Subject:
Biology-Reference
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20060331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
25 line drawings
Pages:
232
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5 x 0.4 in 0.49 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Hit by a Farm: How I Learned to Stop...
    New Trade Paper $15.99
  2. The Hairy Book
    New Trade Paper $9.95
  3. Harvest: A Year in the Life of an... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  4. Voices from the Farm: Adventures in...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. The Hypocrisy of Disco: A Memoir
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  6. Chickens: Tending a Small-Scale... Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

» History and Social Science » Americana » Country Living
» History and Social Science » Americana » Midwest
» Home and Garden » Sustainable Living » General
» Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference

A Very Small Farm New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 Backorder
Product details 232 pages University of Oklahoma Press - English 9780806137780 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres, illustrated with 25 line drawings.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.