Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 30, 2014

Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »
  1. $11.20 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    Sherwood Nation

    Benjamin Parzybok 9781618730862

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Sustainable Living- General

More copies of this ISBN

A Very Small Farm

by

A Very Small Farm Cover

ISBN13: 9780806137780
ISBN10: 0806137789
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of Thoreauand#8217;s Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres. As a subsistence farmer, he builds his own house and barn, puts in a garden and an orchard, acquires a milk cow, and takes up beekeeping. In these pages, we hear his thoughts on such subjects as the weather, seasonal changes, machinery repair, the flora and fauna of the region, and vegetarian cooking. His philosophy, like his lifestyle, is simple, yet profoundly wise.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres, illustrated with 25 line drawings.

About the Author

William Paul Winchester graduated from the University of Tulsa with a degree in botany. His essays have appeared in Country Journal, Buying America Back, Oklahoma Today, and elsewhere. He continues to live on his small farm in Collinsville, Oklahoma.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

JEANETTE, July 20, 2009 (view all comments by JEANETTE)
This book is a gem, pure and simple. William Winchester's classic diary of a life sustained, body and soul, almost entirely by the work of a young man's own hands. Anyone looking for an in-depth how-to farm book should look elsewhere. This is a quiet meditation on the joys of being intimately acquainted with a piece of one's world, and of examining it in loving (some may say excruciating!) detail, from the insects and animals sharing his space to the cheeses and breads he produces from his own grains and his Jersey cow's rich milk. Recipes included! A comforting and nourishing book to be savored and re-read many times.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780806137780
Author:
Winchester, William
Publisher:
University of Oklahoma Press
Illustrator:
Stanton, Carol
Author:
Winchester, William Paul
Author:
Stanton, Carol
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Farm life
Subject:
Oklahoma
Subject:
Farm life -- Oklahoma.
Subject:
Winchester, William Paul
Subject:
Biology-Reference
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20060331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
25 line drawings
Pages:
232
Dimensions:
7.5 x 5 x 0.4 in 0.49 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Hit by a Farm: How I Learned to Stop...
    Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  2. Harvest: A Year in the Life of an... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. The Hypocrisy of Disco: A Memoir
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  4. Sheep: Small-Scale Sheep Keeping for... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Chickens: Tending a Small-Scale... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. Easy Baby Knits: Clothes &... Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Americana » Country Living
History and Social Science » Americana » Midwest
Home and Garden » Sustainable Living » General
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference

A Very Small Farm Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 232 pages University of Oklahoma Press - English 9780806137780 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden, William Paul Winchester offers a chronicle of everyday life on Southwind, his farm of twenty acres, illustrated with 25 line drawings.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.