25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

Reverend America

by

Reverend America Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

M A T H I A S T R U E I S R E V E R E N D A M E R I C A

CALLING YOU BACK TO THE HOLY MUSIC OF LIFE

It Is True! LOVE IS YOUR ONLY REDEEMER!

Rocky is the road. Weary is the way. Lay your burden down

Come Be Healed By This Glorious WHITE KNIGHT!

Mathias is better known as Casper, an albino preacher who had healing ways in his youth. Back in his hometown of Joplin, Missouri seeking rest from years of hurt, Casper soon finds himself with the pregnant teenage prostitute Angelike outrunning their pasts on the great road south. Dangers follow them, characters as crazed and colorful as America’s own history greet them, and Casper finds himself on the unexpected road to salvation.

Singing in a space between Flannery O’Connor and Carl Hiaasen, Reverend America mixes the old with the new. A kicking and spitting true-to-life tale that is Saknussemm’s most heart-rending to date.

Review:

"Weird as a carnival midway and real and tragic as blues harmonica. Reverend America is blisteringly good. Kris Saknussemm is red-hot and smoking." Janet Fitch, author of White Oleander

Review:

"There was a time when fictional men and women grew all their hair as long as they could and wondered about what America meant and whether the American Experiment was ever or could ever be a success. Reverend America wanders through a United States that barely exists anymore in modern fiction...a thesis statement on old-fashioned salvation." Paul Constant, The Stranger

Review:

"Saknussemm is a rare visionary of American culture, a fearless artist with his very own skew on the western world. Reverend America is brilliant!" Jonathan Evison, New York Times best-selling author of West of Here

Synopsis:

An aging albino nicknamed Casper travels home to Joplin, Missouri seeking refuge, only to find himself rescuing a pregnant teenage prostitute and embarking on a journey to the deep South. From the tornado ravaged landscape of Oklahoma where they meet an escaped old folksinger in the ruins of a demolished nursing home to the eccentric streets of Austin, Texas, their fugitive search for salvation ends finally in the bayous of Louisiana. Throughout the journey, memories of violence and sadness haunt Casper as a cast of characters as colorful and peculiar as America’s own history lead them to find something beyond all their individual expectations. In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood and Carl Hiaasen’s Lucky You, this dark comedy mixes the old with the new, inviting us into a fresh and uniquely meaningful story.

 

Video

About the Author

Kris Saknussemm is the award-winning author of three internationally acclaimed novels, a short story collection, and a collection of his visual art. Kirkus called Saknussemm “exuberantly weird.” Kris is the son of a Congregational minister and the great-grandson of one of America’s most famous evangelists. He is currently at the Black Mountain Insititute of the University of Nevada at Las Vegas for the Gallagher Fellowship.

 

Product Details

ISBN:
9780984428854
Author:
Saknussemm, Kris
Publisher:
Dark Coast Press
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20120221
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
286
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Loving, Living, Party Going (Penguin... Used Trade Paper $10.00
  2. Dreamland: The Way Out of Juarez
    Used Trade Paper $13.50
  3. Discount Armageddon (Incryptid Novels)
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. The Mage in Black (Sabina Kane #2) Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Self Esteem
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Transportation » Automotive » General

Reverend America Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 286 pages Dark Coast Press - English 9780984428854 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Weird as a carnival midway and real and tragic as blues harmonica. Reverend America is blisteringly good. Kris Saknussemm is red-hot and smoking."
"Review" by , "There was a time when fictional men and women grew all their hair as long as they could and wondered about what America meant and whether the American Experiment was ever or could ever be a success. Reverend America wanders through a United States that barely exists anymore in modern fiction...a thesis statement on old-fashioned salvation."
"Review" by , "Saknussemm is a rare visionary of American culture, a fearless artist with his very own skew on the western world. Reverend America is brilliant!"
"Synopsis" by ,

An aging albino nicknamed Casper travels home to Joplin, Missouri seeking refuge, only to find himself rescuing a pregnant teenage prostitute and embarking on a journey to the deep South. From the tornado ravaged landscape of Oklahoma where they meet an escaped old folksinger in the ruins of a demolished nursing home to the eccentric streets of Austin, Texas, their fugitive search for salvation ends finally in the bayous of Louisiana. Throughout the journey, memories of violence and sadness haunt Casper as a cast of characters as colorful and peculiar as America’s own history lead them to find something beyond all their individual expectations. In the tradition of Flannery O’Connor’s Wise Blood and Carl Hiaasen’s Lucky You, this dark comedy mixes the old with the new, inviting us into a fresh and uniquely meaningful story.

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.