Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Essential Lenny Bruce

The Essential Lenny Bruce Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

When Lenny Bruce was arrested on charges of obscenity in New York, over 100 men and women prominent in the arts and other fields, including Theodore Reik, Reinhold Niebuhr, Lionel Trilling, Norman Mailer, William Styron, Richard Burton, and James Baldwin, rallied to his defense and signed a statement that described him as a social satirist "in the tradition of Swift, Rabelais, and Twain."

Transcribed from hundreds of hours of taped performances, this book brings into print — many of them for the first time — his greatest satirical routines in their original, unexpurgated form. Here is Lenny Bruce on religion, sex, the fuzz, censorship, the Russians, pot, the Lone Ranger — the whole wide gamut of a mind that punctured pretense with uninhibited wit. How to Talk Dirty and Influence People was the story of his life. The Essential Lenny Bruce is the written record of his art.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781199341495
Publisher:
Ballantine
Copyright:
Binding:
Mass Market Paperbac
Language:
English
Pages:
320

Related Subjects

The Essential Lenny Bruce
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 320 pages Ballantine - English 9781199341495 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.