We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | June 11, 2015

    Michelle Goldberg: IMG How Authentic Is Modern Yoga?



    My decision to embark on The Goddess Pose: The Audacious Life of Indra Devi, the Woman Who Helped Bring Yoga to the West, began with a question. I'd... Continue »
    1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $7.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
2 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General
2 Hawthorne Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making

by and

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making Cover

ISBN13: 9781250010193
ISBN10: 1250010195
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 7 comments:

brianar76, January 2, 2012 (view all comments by brianar76)
A fabulous fantasy, strongly rooted in the tradition of Baum's Oz books, Barrie's Peter Pan, and Lewis's Narnia, this book deserves a place on the shelves next to them and those more recent fantasies like Wrede's Enchanted Forest Chronicles.

A great, likable heroine who doesn't succumb to the silliness that some other fantasy heroes do, September knows these tropes and avoids them -- when she gets trapped in fairyland, it is because she is stuck, not because she behaves stupidly. Like in many such books, she is joined by new friends with parallel quests; they help her, but caring about others is also a liability when the Marquess of Fairyland is so ruthless.

This book is elevated by the cleverness of the language and the twist at the end. Loose ends are tied up in ways that leave the reader with a great sense of satisfaction, but the book also doesn't shy away from the bittersweet truths that are at the heart of the best fantasies.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Emily Otis, January 1, 2012 (view all comments by Emily Otis)
This book is the best new fantasy book I have come across in a very long time. Valente draws upon an impressive array of mythological creatures from various cultures, bolstered by her own imagination, to populate Fairyland. My favorite character was a Wyverary, whose mother was a wyvern (French dragon-type creature with only two legs) and whose father was a library. Valente also succeeds in striking the perfect balance between the wonderful, the challenging, and the terrible in Fairyland. This book is engrossing and transporting from beginning to end.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
previous  6-7 of 7

Product Details

ISBN:
9781250010193
Author:
Catherynne M. Valente and Ana Juan
Publisher:
Square Fish
Illustrator:
Juan, Ana
Author:
Valente, Catherynne M.
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Edition Description:
Middle-Grade Fiction
Publication Date:
20120531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
7.625 x 5.188 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 10 up to 14

Other books you might like

  1. Psion (Cat)
    New Trade Paper $21.99

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Featured Titles

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Square Fish - English 9781250010193 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A glorious balancing act between modernism and the Victorian Fairy Tale, done with heart and wisdom."
"Review" by , "This is a kind of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by way of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland — it's the sort of book one doesn't want to end."
"Review" by , "[Fairyland creates] a world as bizarre and enchanting as any Wonderland or Oz and a heroine as curious, resourceful and brave as any Alice or Dorothy. Complex, rich and memorable."
"Review" by , "This book is quite simply a gold mine."
"Review" by , "Amusing, wrenching, and thought-provoking."
"Review" by , "One of the most extraordinary works of fantasy, for adults or children, published so far this century."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.