Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Child Care and Parenting- Spiritual Parenting

This title in other editions

Looking for God in Harry Potter

by

Looking for God in Harry Potter Cover

ISBN13: 9781414300917
ISBN10: 1414300913
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $2.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Despite the controversy that surrounds them, millions of Christian kids are reading the phenomenally best-selling Harry Potter books and watching the Harry Potter movies. In Finding God in Harry Potter, author John Granger, a devout Christian, literature teacher and father of seven home-schooled children, gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach children Christian truth. Finding God in Harry Potter explores the surprising reasons J.K. Rowling's fiction is so popular and examines what the author believes are strong Christian themes in the Potter books. Along the way. Granger contends that Rowling is writing in the tradition of Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, and reveals the three tests of great fiction. Finding God in Harry Potter is for Christians who want substantive answers, and for Potter fans who will devour the book to see it they agree with Granger.

Review:

"Granger (no relation to fellow brainiac Hermione), a homeschooling Christian father of seven, initially resisted when a friend encouraged him to read the Harry Potter books. But Rowling's novels, sprinkled with literary allusions and strong biblical values, won the classicist over quickly, and he became an avid spokesperson for the series. This book transcends the responses of some other Christian writers (those in support, like Connie Neal, or in sloppy accusations, like Richard Abanes) to offer a serious literary and Christian appraisal of the first five books. Granger begins with the thesis that all humans are 'wired' to respond to 'stories that reflect the greatest story ever told,' including that of Harry's struggle against evil. The best part of the book is Granger's lucid commentary on Rowling's use of language — the insights into character names alone are worth the price of admission — and his keen awareness of word play. Although some arguments are a stretch, and there are a few tiny mistakes (in a footnote, for example, Granger claims that the hero of James and the Giant Peach was named James Potter, like Harry's dad, when it was James Henry Trotter), this is obviously a painstakingly researched book. It is easily the best examination to date of the spiritual legacy of 'the boy who lived.' (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

Granger, a devout Christian, literature teacher and father of seven home-schooled children, gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach children Christian truth.

Synopsis:

Millions of children, even Christian children, are reading the mega-selling Harry Potter book series and are exposed to the Harry Potter movies. John Granger, a devout Christian, teacher of classic literature, and father of seven children, first read the Harry Potter books so he could explain to his children why they weren't allowed to read them. After intense study, however, he became convinced that the books are underestimated as literature--and reflect important Christian truths. In Looking for God in Harry Potter, Granger gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach Christian truth to children.

Synopsis:

Is there Christian truth in the Harry Potter series?

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

audrinash_2000, June 22, 2006 (view all comments by audrinash_2000)
I think this book is a real thing for christians who are in doubt about reading HARRY PORTER 's series.My younger sister had misgivings about reading the series and would make a lot of noise even when we peeped at it but thanks to this book we all read in peace now.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(16 of 28 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9781414300917
Author:
Granger, John
Publisher:
Tyndale House Publishers
Location:
Wheaton, Ill.
Subject:
Christian Life - Pop Culture Issues
Subject:
English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
Subject:
Books & Reading
Subject:
Religion and literature
Subject:
Fantasy fiction, English
Subject:
Religion in literature
Subject:
Children's stories, English
Subject:
God in literature
Subject:
Religious fiction, English.
Subject:
Potter, Harry
Subject:
Christianity - Christian Life - Pop Culture Issues
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Includes bibliographical references.
Series Volume:
12
Publication Date:
May 2004
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
176
Dimensions:
8.76x5.80x.82 in. .88 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. A Swiftly Tilting Planet Used Mass Market $1.95
  2. A Wrinkle in Time
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  3. A Wind in the Door
    Used Mass Market $1.95
  4. Simply Bonaventure : Introduction To... Used Trade Paper $9.00
  5. Truth Matters: Essays in Honor of... New Trade Paper $18.25
  6. Theory and Reality: An Introduction... Used Trade Paper $15.95

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Faith Based
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Spiritual Parenting

Looking for God in Harry Potter Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.95 In Stock
Product details 176 pages Tyndale House Publishers - English 9781414300917 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Granger (no relation to fellow brainiac Hermione), a homeschooling Christian father of seven, initially resisted when a friend encouraged him to read the Harry Potter books. But Rowling's novels, sprinkled with literary allusions and strong biblical values, won the classicist over quickly, and he became an avid spokesperson for the series. This book transcends the responses of some other Christian writers (those in support, like Connie Neal, or in sloppy accusations, like Richard Abanes) to offer a serious literary and Christian appraisal of the first five books. Granger begins with the thesis that all humans are 'wired' to respond to 'stories that reflect the greatest story ever told,' including that of Harry's struggle against evil. The best part of the book is Granger's lucid commentary on Rowling's use of language — the insights into character names alone are worth the price of admission — and his keen awareness of word play. Although some arguments are a stretch, and there are a few tiny mistakes (in a footnote, for example, Granger claims that the hero of James and the Giant Peach was named James Potter, like Harry's dad, when it was James Henry Trotter), this is obviously a painstakingly researched book. It is easily the best examination to date of the spiritual legacy of 'the boy who lived.' (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , Granger, a devout Christian, literature teacher and father of seven home-schooled children, gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach children Christian truth.
"Synopsis" by , Millions of children, even Christian children, are reading the mega-selling Harry Potter book series and are exposed to the Harry Potter movies. John Granger, a devout Christian, teacher of classic literature, and father of seven children, first read the Harry Potter books so he could explain to his children why they weren't allowed to read them. After intense study, however, he became convinced that the books are underestimated as literature--and reflect important Christian truths. In Looking for God in Harry Potter, Granger gives parents and teachers a roadmap for using the Harry Potter books to teach Christian truth to children.
"Synopsis" by , Is there Christian truth in the Harry Potter series?
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.