Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 6, 2015

    Matt Burgess: IMG 35 Seconds



    Late at night on September 22, 2014, at a housing project basketball court in Brooklyn, a white cop pushes a black man against a chain link fence.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.95
List price: $15.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Christianity- Christian Fiction

More copies of this ISBN

As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' the Screwtape Letters

by

As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' the Screwtape Letters Cover

ISBN13: 9781414371665
ISBN10: 1414371667
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $7.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

As One Devil to Another is an astonishing debut work that C. S. Lewis's biographer and foremost Lewis authority Walter Hooper calls a stunning achievement, the finest example of the genre of diabolical correspondence to appear since this genre was popularized by C. S. Lewis. Enter into this chilling and diabolical tale, one that reveals the very tricks and strategies of Hell. Through a series of letters between devils created by Platt, senior devil Slashreap trains his young protege, Scardagger, to win an individual soul away from Heaven and into their clutches. As the devils plot their way to triumph, they reveal the spiritual dangers and risks we face in today's society. Their frighteningly accurate perspective on issues such as contemporary technology and sexual mores is interwoven with timeless matters such as the power of prayer, the purpose of suffering, and the promises held out by Heaven . . . and Hell. Destined to become a modern classic, As One Devil to Another is a brilliantly written, deeply unsettling perspective on twenty-first-century society . . . a glimpse of ourselves through the eyes of those who have embraced their underworldly existence.

Synopsis:

C. S. Lewis's friend and biographer Walter Hooper declares As One Devil to Another a stunning achievement . . . Lewis himself could not have done better. In this astonishing debut work, Richard Platt brings to life a chilling perspective on 21st century society . . . through the eyes of the damned. Through a series of letters between devils created by Platt, Stitchcreep and Scardagger reveal their tricks, strategies, and plots to win one particular soul away from the Enemy (God). They offer a frighteningly insightful take on contemporary issues such as our technology and sexual standards, and they touch on timeless theological matters like the power of prayer, the purpose of suffering, and the promises held out by Heaven . . .and Hell. Fans of C. S. Lewis and The Screwtape Letters will be riveted.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Alisha C, August 19, 2012 (view all comments by Alisha C)
I rated this book a 2.5, as I believe that it will appeal only to very a specific audience. The writing is done well, but in an older style (to imitate that of the original). The subject matter is limited to those who read satire and/or Christian texts, though I do feel as though it could put off each of these readers equally. I went in for the satire and feel as though the Christian element was a bit heavy-handed. Even a Christian reader may find the satire to be heavy-handed. I felt the original was more subtle in these tones. As with many stories, I always suggest the original over any subsequent “remakes.” Read the original first, if it appeals to you, pick up this one as well. With all that said, Platt has done an admirable job of updating the original. (excerpt from review posted at www.luxuryreading.com)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781414371665
Author:
Platt, Richard
Publisher:
Tyndale Momentum
Subject:
Christianity - General
Publication Date:
20120331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English

Related Subjects


Religion » Christianity » Christian Fiction
Religion » Christianity » General
Religion » Comparative Religion » General

As One Devil to Another: A Fiendish Correspondence in the Tradition of C. S. Lewis' the Screwtape Letters Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.95 In Stock
Product details pages Tyndale House Publishers - English 9781414371665 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , C. S. Lewis's friend and biographer Walter Hooper declares As One Devil to Another a stunning achievement . . . Lewis himself could not have done better. In this astonishing debut work, Richard Platt brings to life a chilling perspective on 21st century society . . . through the eyes of the damned. Through a series of letters between devils created by Platt, Stitchcreep and Scardagger reveal their tricks, strategies, and plots to win one particular soul away from the Enemy (God). They offer a frighteningly insightful take on contemporary issues such as our technology and sexual standards, and they touch on timeless theological matters like the power of prayer, the purpose of suffering, and the promises held out by Heaven . . .and Hell. Fans of C. S. Lewis and The Screwtape Letters will be riveted.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.