Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.98
List price: $16.99
Sale Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Sale Books- Children's
1 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Lucky Breaks

by

Lucky Breaks Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"Eleven is much more intrepid than only ten." On the eve of her eleventh birthday, Lucky wants to let loose and become intrepid; she's ready for life to change. But Hard Pan (population 43) drones on like it always has: Lincoln all tied up in knotty matters, Miles newly diagnosed as a genius but as needy as ever, Brigitte running her Café and trying to figure out what it means to be American.

Enter Paloma, tagging along on a visit to Hard Pan with a pack of hungry geologists. She's smart and pretty and fun — definitely best-friend material. But will Lucky be able to cope with tomato worms, Short Sammy's mysterious box, the potential for disaster when Paloma's parents visit Hard Pan, and Lincoln's fame among knot tyers of the world?

Lucky's intrepidness is put to the test in this satisfying sequel to the Newbery Award-winning The Higher Power of Lucky.

Review:

"Riding the same wave of warmth and quirkiness that distinguished Patron's Newbery-winning The Higher Power of Lucky, this sequel continues the musings of Lucky Tipton as she looks for adventure and a best girl friend. Settled in a routine with her 'adopted' French mother, Brigitte, almost-11-year-old Lucky has become bored with her tiny desert town of Hard Pan, Calif., but when a group of geologists which includes a girl Lucky's age visits Brigitte's caf, things start to look up. Lucky instantly bonds with Paloma, her new 'Pal,' not worrying about the effects on her buddies: Lincoln, the knot-tying wiz, and Miles, the five-year-old genius. A mild drama involving an abandoned well plus a mysterious package delivered to the town hippie play a role in helping Lucky make room in her heart for all her true friends and begin to understand her absentee father. Lucky's occasional bratty behavior can be maddening, but her recognition of her mistakes and her efforts to rectify them are endearing. Although Patron breaks no new ground, she skillfully balances sentimentality and humor, allowing her characters to shine once more in their own idiosyncratic ways. B&w illus. not seen by PW. Ages 8 — 12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Without being heavy-handed, Patron nails the insecurities and overzealousness of a budding friendship, and the central adventure of Lucky getting trapped inside a well brings these feelings to a fine point." Booklist

Review:

"Patron's second Lucky novel, much like the first, is about the strength of the families we create rather than those we're born into.... [I]t's so nice to have her back." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"With sensitivity and precision, Patron delves into the complexities surrounding friendship." Hornbook

Review:

"Lucky is back....Unusual metaphors, vivid language, felicitous writing, and the sense of hearing from a realistic, albeit unique child are the strengths that continue in this sequel..." School Library Journal

Review:

"In this fully satisfying sequel, Lucky continues to be the sturdy character a reader can believe in...bright and big-hearted in the tradition of Anne Shirley and Jo March." Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Synopsis:

In this sequel to the 2007 Newbery Medal winner The Higher Power of Lucky, life is going on as usual in Hard Pan (pop. 43). Lucky, however, is restless. After meeting a potential new best friend named Paloma, who is visiting her uncle, Lucky is soon scheming to get Paloma back to Hard Pan. Illustrations.

Synopsis:

"Eleven is much more intrepid than only ten."

On the eve of her eleventh birthday, Lucky wants to let loose and become intrepid; she's ready for life to change. But Hard Pan (population 43) drones on like it always has: Lincoln all tied up in knotty matters, Miles newly diagnosed as a genius but as needy as ever, Brigitte running her Café and trying to figure out what it means to be American.

Enter Paloma, tagging along on a visit to Hard Pan with a pack of hungry geologists. She's smart and pretty and fun — definitely best-friend material. But will Lucky be able to cope with tomato worms, Short Sammy's mysterious box, the potential for disaster when Paloma's parents visit Hard Pan, and Lincoln's fame among knot tyers of the world?

Lucky's intrepidness is put to the test in this satisfying sequel to the Newbery Award-winning The Higher Power of Lucky.

About the Author

Susan Patron specialized in Children's Services for 35 years at the Los Angeles Public Library before retiring in 2007, the same year her novel The Higher Power of Lucky was awarded the John Newbery Medal. As the library's Juvenile Materials Collection Development Manager, she trained and mentored children's librarians in 72 branches. Patron has served on many book award committees, including the Caldecott and Laura Ingalls Wilder Committees of the American Library Association. She is currently a member of the Advisory Board of the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators.

Patron's previous books for children include the Billy Que trilogy of picture books; Dark Cloud Strong Breeze; and a chapter book, Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe. All earned starred reviews, and the latter was named an ALA Notable book. The Listening Library audio edition of The Higher Power of Lucky is an ALA Notable Recording; the book will be translated into twelve foreign languages and has been optioned for a motion picture. Married to a rare book restorer from the Champagne region of France, Susan is working on the final book in the "Lucky" trilogy.

Matt Phelan's black-and-white illustrations first appeared in The Seven Wonders of Sassafras Springs by Betty G. Birney. His first picture book is The New Girl...and Me, written by Jacqui Robbins. Matt lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781416939986
Author:
Patron, Susan
Publisher:
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Illustrator:
Phelan, Matt
Author:
Phelan, Matt
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Situations / Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Humorous Stories
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Friendship
Subject:
Interpersonal Relations
Subject:
California
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Friendship
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20090310
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
f-c jkt+b-w halftone int. art (reflectiv
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Secret Life of Prince Charming Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  2. Tyrell
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. In a Flash (Orca Currents) New Trade Paper $9.95
  4. Deeper (Tunnels Books) Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Be Glad Your Nose Is on Your Face:... New Hardcover $19.54
  6. A Mighty Fine Time Machine
    Sale Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship

Lucky Breaks Sale Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.98 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Ginee Seo Books - English 9781416939986 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Riding the same wave of warmth and quirkiness that distinguished Patron's Newbery-winning The Higher Power of Lucky, this sequel continues the musings of Lucky Tipton as she looks for adventure and a best girl friend. Settled in a routine with her 'adopted' French mother, Brigitte, almost-11-year-old Lucky has become bored with her tiny desert town of Hard Pan, Calif., but when a group of geologists which includes a girl Lucky's age visits Brigitte's caf, things start to look up. Lucky instantly bonds with Paloma, her new 'Pal,' not worrying about the effects on her buddies: Lincoln, the knot-tying wiz, and Miles, the five-year-old genius. A mild drama involving an abandoned well plus a mysterious package delivered to the town hippie play a role in helping Lucky make room in her heart for all her true friends and begin to understand her absentee father. Lucky's occasional bratty behavior can be maddening, but her recognition of her mistakes and her efforts to rectify them are endearing. Although Patron breaks no new ground, she skillfully balances sentimentality and humor, allowing her characters to shine once more in their own idiosyncratic ways. B&w illus. not seen by PW. Ages 8 — 12." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Without being heavy-handed, Patron nails the insecurities and overzealousness of a budding friendship, and the central adventure of Lucky getting trapped inside a well brings these feelings to a fine point."
"Review" by , "Patron's second Lucky novel, much like the first, is about the strength of the families we create rather than those we're born into.... [I]t's so nice to have her back."
"Review" by , "With sensitivity and precision, Patron delves into the complexities surrounding friendship."
"Review" by , "Lucky is back....Unusual metaphors, vivid language, felicitous writing, and the sense of hearing from a realistic, albeit unique child are the strengths that continue in this sequel..."
"Review" by , "In this fully satisfying sequel, Lucky continues to be the sturdy character a reader can believe in...bright and big-hearted in the tradition of Anne Shirley and Jo March."
"Synopsis" by , In this sequel to the 2007 Newbery Medal winner The Higher Power of Lucky, life is going on as usual in Hard Pan (pop. 43). Lucky, however, is restless. After meeting a potential new best friend named Paloma, who is visiting her uncle, Lucky is soon scheming to get Paloma back to Hard Pan. Illustrations.
"Synopsis" by , "Eleven is much more intrepid than only ten."

On the eve of her eleventh birthday, Lucky wants to let loose and become intrepid; she's ready for life to change. But Hard Pan (population 43) drones on like it always has: Lincoln all tied up in knotty matters, Miles newly diagnosed as a genius but as needy as ever, Brigitte running her Café and trying to figure out what it means to be American.

Enter Paloma, tagging along on a visit to Hard Pan with a pack of hungry geologists. She's smart and pretty and fun — definitely best-friend material. But will Lucky be able to cope with tomato worms, Short Sammy's mysterious box, the potential for disaster when Paloma's parents visit Hard Pan, and Lincoln's fame among knot tyers of the world?

Lucky's intrepidness is put to the test in this satisfying sequel to the Newbery Award-winning The Higher Power of Lucky.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.