The Fictioning Horror Sale

Recently Viewed clear list

Original Essays | September 4, 2014

Edward E. Baptist: IMG The Two Bodies of The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism

My new book, The Half Has Never Been Told: Slavery and the Making of American Capitalism, is the story of two bodies. The first body was the new... Continue »
  1. $24.50 Sale Hardcover add to wish list


The Dark Is Rising: The Complete Sequence (Dark Is Rising Sequence)


The Dark Is Rising: The Complete Sequence (Dark Is Rising Sequence) Cover

ISBN13: 9781442412538
ISBN10: 1442412534
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.95!


What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Kelly L, January 14, 2012 (view all comments by Kelly L)
I read the five books of The Dark Is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper when I was about ten years old (and a paperback sold new for $3.95). It’s about an epic struggle between the Dark and the Light: the Dark is trying to win the earth and the Light is trying to keep the earth for mankind. The protagonists are children and each book stands alone (except the last one). I was surprised by how exactly I remembered them, a sign that they were written well enough to have quite an impression on me at the time.

1. Over Sea, Under Stone is about the Drew siblings, Simon, Jane, and Barney, and their holiday at the Grey House with their mysterious Great Uncle Merry, who turns out to be an Old One for the light. They find a treasure map that leads them to a Thing of Power that they must keep away from the Dark.
2. The Dark Is Rising is about Will Stanton, the seventh son of a seventh son and the last Old One to be born. On his eleventh birthday he comes into his powers and with the help of Merriman will find the six Signs and unite them before Midwinter.
3. The Greenwitch sees the Drews and Will together, back at the vacation home, tying up loose ends from the first adventure. Jane is the main character of this one, which might be why I remember liking it best.
4. The Grey King sees Will traveling in Wales, alone on a quest to wake the Sleepers with the help of Bran Davies, a boy with an unusual heritage. Winner of the Newbery Award and the one I like best as an adult.
5. And in Silver on the Tree, the Drews, Will, Bran Davies, and Merriman (or Merriman Lyon, or Merry Lyon, or Merlion, or Merlin) unite to fight the last battle, in Wales and throughout history, to keep the Dark from rising at last.

These books were a delight, and I’m glad some subconscious spontaneity spurred me to pick up the first one again.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Elizabeth Bee, September 3, 2011 (view all comments by Elizabeth Bee)
This is probably my all-time favorite series of books from my childhood. While not as whimsical as Harry Potter, the books are full of dramatic, epic conflicts between good and evil, echoes of King Arthur, magic swords, coming of age struggles, and atmospheric descriptions of Cornwall, Wales, and other parts of Great Britain. Buy it for your 9-14-year-old or for yourself.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

Cooper, Susan
Margaret K. McElderry Books
Fantasy & Magic
Action & Adventure - General
Legends, Myths, & Fables - Arthurian
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Newbery Honor; Award Winner; fantasy, magic; Arthur; King Arthur; Legend; English lore; Wales; classic
Edition Description:
Dark Is Rising Sequence, The
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
from 7
f/c cvr
9 x 6 in 29.75 oz
Age Level:

Other books you might like

  1. Scary Godmother Hc New Hardcover $24.99
  2. Bone Reissue Graphic Novels #11:... Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Student's Vegetarian Cookbook Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. The Fear Book: Facing Fear Once and... Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Sale Books
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Young Adult » General

The Dark Is Rising: The Complete Sequence (Dark Is Rising Sequence) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 1088 pages Margaret K. McElderry Books - English 9781442412538 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Cooper's award-winning Dark Is Rising sequence can be found for the first time in one brilliant volume. Includes "Over Sea, Under Stone; The Dark Is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King;" and "Silver on the Tree."
"Synopsis" by , Readers have enjoyed Susan Cooper’s award-winning fantasy series for more than forty years, and now, for the first time, each of the five installments can be found in one bind-up, complete with gorgeous new cover art. Over Sea, Under Stone; The Dark Is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King; and Silver on the Tree tell a saga of the relentless battle between the Light and the Dark. As the Darkness threatens to take over, four children must do their part to fight for the victory of the Light—or all good will be lost forever.

  • back to top
Follow us on...

Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at