Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | January 19, 2015

    Ned Beauman: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Ned Beauman



    I did have a playlist that I listened to over and over again while I was writing Glow, but three years on I'm a bit bored of those songs, which got... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Time in Between

by

The Time in Between Cover

ISBN13: 9781451616880
ISBN10: 1451616880
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.50!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Elizabeth Vollbach, July 15, 2014 (view all comments by Elizabeth Vollbach)
This is a nice story of nice girl, Sira, who grows up poor in Spain before World War II. She’s a seamstress there with her mother until, years later, she is swept off her feet by a man who takes her to Morocco only to leave her there high and dry. Now she’s alone and in debt, but all is well when she opens business there as a seamstress. But that’s not all she is. And so on. As historical fiction, Spain before and up to World War II, this book excels.

But THE TIME IN BETWEEN disappointed me because it was so predictable. I could predict everything that happened. And I don’t mean just the historical facts. Everything that happened to Sira, every mess she got into, I could predict. At least, that’s the way it seemed to me. I know people who disagree.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Alisha C, December 29, 2011 (view all comments by Alisha C)
The Time In Between is a twist on the normal coming of age stories. In the beginning, Sira is young, a daughter of a single mother, working as an assistant to her mother and Dona Manuela, running errands and sweeping floors. Duenas moves quickly through this portion of Sira’s life and gets us to the moments that shape her fate and send Sira on her adventures. In the end, she’s evolved into a strong-willed, charming and, at moments, quite cunning woman.

We travel with Sira through tough times, happy moments, loneliness, and true bliss. She breaks out of the life that is laid out before her and fights (sometimes unwillingly) to create a life of her own. She grows from a confused teenager into a woman who knows what she wants and in many ways, how to obtain it. She takes extreme risks, and some moments of The Time In Between will have you hanging on every word. I enjoyed this novel and look forward to future offerings from Maria Duenas. (excerpt from full review at luxuryreading.com)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Laurie Blum, October 26, 2011 (view all comments by Laurie Blum)
What could be better than a fictional history blended with an exquisite family saga such as the one I just completed. Maria Duenas' "The Time in Between" is a literary journey which takes the reader along with main character, Sira Quiroga, a young Spanish seamstress, to Morocco, Tangiers, Madrid & beyond...the book involves the Spanish Civil War & captures the atmosphere of the tumultuous 30's & 40's accurately. Like Sira, I, too, love needlework, sewing, fabric & yarn...the vivid colorful descriptions of design were thrilling & came to life in my critical eyes as I read this novel based on betrayal, loss, love, survival in the years preceding and during WWII. Brava!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451616880
Author:
Duenas, Maria
Publisher:
Atria Books
Author:
pez Barrio
Author:
L
Author:
Cristina L
Author:
&
Author:
oacute
Author:
pez Barrio, Cristina
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Downton Abbey; Downtown Abby; Maria Duenas; Sherlock Holmes; World War II; WWII; World War Two; Hitler; Nazis; Paris Wife; Postmistress; Paula McLain; Sarah Blake; Coco Chanel; CoCo Chanel; Life is Beautiful
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20111131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Illustrations:
4-C designed endpapers; 4 part-title ima
Pages:
624
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. A Reliable Wife
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Kill All the Judges Used Mass Market $4.95
  3. The Gun Seller
    Used Mass Market $5.95
  4. Snuggle Up Sunday Xwords: 75 Puzzles... New Trade Paper $9.99
  5. The Ice Princess
    Used Mass Market $5.50
  6. Then Again
    Used Hardcover $5.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Time in Between Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 624 pages Atria Books - English 9781451616880 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Dueñas's wonderful debut (a runaway bestseller in her native Spain) opens during the mid-1930s as Spain is on the brink of civil war and young Sira Quiroga is preparing a simple wedding in Madrid, where she lives. Sira's plans are thrown off track when she meets Ramiro Arribas, the cunning older manager of a typewriter shop who convinces her to embark on an exotic life in Morocco. The future that he envisions for her differs from what he imagines for himself, however, and he abandons Sira after pilfering her inheritance and leaving her saddled with debt. Newly adrift, Sira travels to northern Morocco, where she is reluctantly taken in by Candeleria, a disreputable woman known for housing dispossessed souls. In Candeleria's care, Sira returns to her roots as a dressmaker's apprentice. Realizing her talent with a needle and thread, Candeleria takes advantage, quietly financing Sira's efforts and taking half the profits. As WWII looms, an influential client implores Sira to make a dangerous return to Madrid and set up shop there, adding another level of difficulty and peril to her journey. This thrilling debut is marked by immaculate prose and a driving narrative, establishing Dueñas as a writer to watch." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Laura Esquivel's Like Water For Chocolate, The House of Impossible Loves is a novel set in twentieth-century Spain and France revolving around a family of cursed women.
"Synopsis" by ,
An “exuberant” (El Mundo) debut novel of a family bound by searing passions, an earthy magic, and a very unusual curse

The Laguna women suffer from an odd affliction: each generation is condemned to tragic love affairs and to give birth only to girls who are unable to escape the cruel fate of their mothers. One fateful hunting season in their small Castilian town, a young landowner arrives and begins a passionate affair with Clara Laguna, the latest in the family line, daughter of a one-eyed woman known as “the Laguna witch.” He leaves her pregnant with yet another daughter, but the seeds of change are sown. Eventually the long-awaited son—Santiago, the great-great grandson of Clara—is born. A window of hope is opened, but is the curse truly over?

Introducing a cast of memorable, eccentric characters from a bearded, mute female cook to the local do-gooding priest and the indelible Laguna women themselves, The House of Impossible Loves is a feat of imaginative storytelling that marks the arrival of a talented new novelist.

"Synopsis" by , The thrilling, internationally bestselling novel about a haute couture seamstress who becomes an undercover spy for the British Secret Service during World War II.

A #1 bestseller in Spain with more than 1.5 million copies sold, The Time In Between has taken readers by storm with its unforgettable tale of adventure, tragedy, love, and war. Readers will fall in love with MarÍa DueÑas’s dazzlingly inspiring heroine, Sira Quiroga.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.