The Super Fun Kids' Graphic Novel Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    Contributors | September 15, 2015

    Mary Karr: IMG Memoir Tutorials with Mary Karr, Lena Dunham, and Gary Shteyngart

    Editor's note: It's been 20 years since the groundbreaking memoir The Liars' Club sent Mary Karr into the literary spotlight with its phenomenal... Continue »
    1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      The Art of Memoir

      Mary Karr 9780062223067

Qualifying orders ship free.
List price: $26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Cooking and Food- Historical Food and Cooking

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal


Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Cover

ISBN13: 9781451666731
ISBN10: 145166673x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $17.95!


What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

FreshGreenKim, March 4, 2013 (view all comments by FreshGreenKim)
I would love to review this book for my blog, Our Daily Green... I loved Melanie's interview with Grist. It echoes some of what I've been saying about HFCS for years... "why can't I buy it for home use" if it is so safe? So when she asks "Why can't you make Pop Tarts at home from the ingredients listed on the package" I get it. I also am fascinated what she has to say about vitamins.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
jojowats0518, February 26, 2013 (view all comments by jojowats0518)
I absolutely must read this book. I will buy it for sure. Thank you to the author for her work on this very important subject.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 8 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal
Warner, Melanie
Scribner Book Company
Sports and Fitness-Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
Publication Date:
9 x 6 in

Other books you might like

  1. Fated. by Benedict Jacka Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Taken (Alex Verus Novels) Used Mass Market $5.50
  3. Cursed: an Alex Verus Novel New Mass Market $13.50
  4. Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants...
    Used Hardcover $9.95

Related Subjects

Business » General
Business » Management
Business » Writing
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » General
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Nutrition
Cooking and Food » Food Writing » Gastronomic Literature
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Spirituality and Wellness
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Nutrition
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Agriculture and Food
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Food and Famine
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Scribner Book Company - English 9781451666731 Reviews:
"Review" by , “In Pandora’s Lunchbox, Melanie Warner has produced an engaging account of how today’s ‘food processing industrial complex’ replaced real foods with the inventions of food science. Her history of how this happened and who benefits from these inventions should be enough to inspire everyone to get back into the kitchen and start cooking.” Marion Nestle, Professor of Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health at New York University and coauthor of Why Calories Count: From Science to Politics
"Review" by , "Pandora's Lunchbox is a brilliant and fascinating exploration of how our food gets processed, its powerful effects on our health, and what we can do about it. Highly recommended!" Dean Ornish M.D., author of Eat More, Weigh Less, and The Spectrum: A Scientifically Proven Program to Feel Better, Live Longer, Lose Weight, and Gain Health
"Review" by , "Melanie Warner is a journalist of keen skill, and in Pandora's Lunchbox she pries the lid off well-packaged secrets about how our so-called food is made. The resulting bounty of insights and revelations is almost overwhelming. This is a book of stunning, at times shocking truths, told in a crisp, compelling narrative. Of profound importance for everyone who eats." David L. Katz, MD, MPH, FACPM, FACP, Director of Yale University Prevention Research Center and Director of Integrative Medicine Center at Griffin Hospital
"Review" by , “Warner pulls back the curtain to reveal the industry secrets of how our most basic staples are being transformed into processed foodstuffs to boost profits. We get an (un)healthy dose of hexane-extraction, gun puffing and roast chicken type flavor, but like the best investigative journalists, she uses the personal stories of food scientists, innovators, and crusaders not to mention her own home experiments, to show why you’ll want to think twice before hitting the drive-thru or reaching for that ‘health bar.’”
"Review" by , “In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma is a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.”
  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at