The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | Yesterday, 10:00am

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Search

by

The Search Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Walker meets Rachel at a glamorous party by the bay. When she turns up at his apartment two days later, there is a hint of erotic promise in the air. But it isn't Walker she wants — at least not yet. Her husband, Malory, has gone missing, and she wants Walker to find him.

So begins Walker's quest, as well as this beautiful novel that takes our hard-boiled knight across the vast landscape of an imaginary middle America that begins subtly to morph into something stranger. Walker's search intensifies, and soon it seems that somebody else is searching for him. In The Search, his second novel, Geoff Dyer concocts a sophisticated and enthralling narrative puzzle.

Review:

"Dyer's second novel, first published abroad in 1993 but unavailable in the U.S. until now, is a take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges. When Walker, a brooding, heavy-drinking loner and experienced 'tracker' with something of a criminal reputation, meets the seductive Rachel, he agrees — against his better judgment — to heed to her request to look for her 'secretive' missing ex-husband Malory. With few clues to go on (Malory avoids being photographed), Walker sets off on a journey through absurd fictional cities that make his quest harder and logically muddy — in one city he loses his motivation to leave; in another, people seem to be in constant danger — but also add a layer of intrigue. He drives — often in stolen vehicles — through deserts and dangerous storms, catching rides on trains and biking. He meets several eccentrics along the way, including an avant-garde director, who aide him in his search. Walker's task is made even more complex when the enigmatic Carver — who claims he's also looking for Malory, but whose motives are never entirely clear — begins pursuing him, after Carver fails to convince Walker to join forces with him. Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read, as Walker tries to anticipate Malory's moves. Those familiar with Dyer's later works (Out of Sheer Rage) may be at first surprised that he is capable of writing in this plotted and cerebral mode, though his considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

“A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length.” The Guardian

Review:

"A take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges....Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read....[Dyer's] considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here." Publishers Weekly

Review:

“So it's farewell my lovely and were off, on a package tour through gumshoe thriller, film noir, road movie...and chivalric romance....An ambitious, stylish novel.” The Independent on Sunday

Review:

“If any British writer can try on the mantle of Calvino, Dyer can. He has a poet's gift with metaphor as well as an ability to grasp ideas, hold them, pass them on.” New Statesman

Review:

“As elegant as a mathematical theorem correctly expressed.” The Sunday Times

Review:

“Dyer injects an almost magical randomness into what ought to be the most conventional of tales, and gives us Surrealism where we might have expected Dirty Realism....Its after-image is hard to erase.” The Spectator

About the Author

Geoff Dyer is the author of Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi and three previous novels, as well as nine nonfiction books. He won a National Book Critics Circle Award in 2012 for Otherwise Known as the Human Condition. He lives in London.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781555976781
Author:
Dyer, Geoff
Publisher:
Graywolf Press
Author:
DYER, GEOFF
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20140531
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
176
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Ambassadors (Penguin Classics) Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. TransAtlantic
    Used Hardcover $13.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Search Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 176 pages Graywolf Press - English 9781555976781 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Dyer's second novel, first published abroad in 1993 but unavailable in the U.S. until now, is a take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges. When Walker, a brooding, heavy-drinking loner and experienced 'tracker' with something of a criminal reputation, meets the seductive Rachel, he agrees — against his better judgment — to heed to her request to look for her 'secretive' missing ex-husband Malory. With few clues to go on (Malory avoids being photographed), Walker sets off on a journey through absurd fictional cities that make his quest harder and logically muddy — in one city he loses his motivation to leave; in another, people seem to be in constant danger — but also add a layer of intrigue. He drives — often in stolen vehicles — through deserts and dangerous storms, catching rides on trains and biking. He meets several eccentrics along the way, including an avant-garde director, who aide him in his search. Walker's task is made even more complex when the enigmatic Carver — who claims he's also looking for Malory, but whose motives are never entirely clear — begins pursuing him, after Carver fails to convince Walker to join forces with him. Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read, as Walker tries to anticipate Malory's moves. Those familiar with Dyer's later works (Out of Sheer Rage) may be at first surprised that he is capable of writing in this plotted and cerebral mode, though his considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , “A short, brilliant novel, The Search offers more in 150 pages than most books twice that length.”
"Review" by , "A take on the detective/noir genre in the vein of Auster, Calvino, and Borges....Dyer creates a series of puzzles, which are sure to send some back for a second read....[Dyer's] considerable talents, including the ability to write in other veins, are on display here."
"Review" by , “So it's farewell my lovely and were off, on a package tour through gumshoe thriller, film noir, road movie...and chivalric romance....An ambitious, stylish novel.”
"Review" by , “If any British writer can try on the mantle of Calvino, Dyer can. He has a poet's gift with metaphor as well as an ability to grasp ideas, hold them, pass them on.”
"Review" by , “As elegant as a mathematical theorem correctly expressed.”
"Review" by , “Dyer injects an almost magical randomness into what ought to be the most conventional of tales, and gives us Surrealism where we might have expected Dirty Realism....Its after-image is hard to erase.”
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.