Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 1, 2014

    Edward O. Wilson: IMG Edward O. Wilson: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
25 Remote Warehouse Environmental Studies- Environment

This title in other editions

Body Toxic: An Environmental Memoir

by

Body Toxic: An Environmental Memoir Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of A Civil Action and Silent Spring, comes Body Toxic, a harrowing story of a family, a body, and a place — among the Pine Barrens of southern New Jersey, in one of the most environmentally contaminated counties in the country.

Susanne Antonetta's family were immigrants from Italy on one side and Barbados on the other. They tried to realize the American dream by building a summer escape in the boglands of New Jersey, a place where the rural and industrial collide. They picked gooseberries along the chain-link fence of Oyster Creek Nuclear Power Plant, which ultimately released more radiation than Three Mile Island. They rowed dinghies along creeks contaminated with drums of toxic waste dumped illegally by various chemical companies. At the time, the young Antonetta and her cousins were obsessed with the threat of nuclear war, oblivious to what was going on around them.

At first local officials began to warn people about their wells. Eventually, parents were asked to donate their children's baby teeth to be tested for radiation. One by one, Antonetta's family discovered they had an array of health problems, and that they were part of a larger pattern of health problems.

Body Toxic merges the personal and familial with the historical, political, and environmental, creating a work that is intensely intimate and starkly political. Brave, harrowing, beautifully written, Antonetta's memoir explores an American family in the midst of the wreckage of the American dream.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781582432090
Author:
Antonetta, Susanne
Publisher:
Counterpoint LLC
Location:
Washington, D.C.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Nature
Subject:
Environmental Conservation & Protection
Subject:
Hazardous waste sites
Subject:
Environmentally induced diseases
Subject:
Childhood Memoir
Subject:
Memoir
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Environmental Conservation & Protection - General
Subject:
Environmental Science
Subject:
Antonetta, Susanne - Health
Subject:
Environmentally induced diseases - Patients -
Subject:
General Biography
Subject:
Environmental Studies-Environment
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st paperback ed.
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
May 2002
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.5 in 10.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. World Hunger: 12 Myths Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Pandora's Poison: Chlorine, Health,... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  3. The riverkeepers :two activists... Used Hardcover $2.95
  4. Nature Wars: People Vs. Pests Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Science Under Siege the Politicians War Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. Toxics A to Z Used Trade Paper $5.95

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Specialties
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » General

Body Toxic: An Environmental Memoir New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Counterpoint Press - English 9781582432090 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.