The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
Used Hardcover
Usually ships in 5 to 7 business days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse General- General

The Ten-Year Nap

by

The Ten-Year Nap Cover

ISBN13: 9781594489785
ISBN10: 1594489785
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $9.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

gail mazza, September 17, 2008 (view all comments by gail mazza)
Please read this book very slowly -- it's that good. It's a beautifully written book about a woman living in Manhattan who turns 40 and her group of friends. Meg Wolitzer covers friendship, motherhood, working and not working, marriage and girl crushes.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(8 of 16 readers found this comment helpful)
Laurie Blum, April 12, 2008 (view all comments by Laurie Blum)
At 64 years of age & a grandmother of eight, I guess I am just "too old & too past the years of being a young mother who is out of the workforce" to totally being able to identify with Meg Wolitzer's "The Ten-Year Nap." I found myself taking a nap for most of the novel.

I did, however, rather enjoy the attitudes of the four main characters & look forward to hearing that they have successfully "survived the phase of young children & being a stay-at-home Mom" ... alas, (sigh!) and have returned to their professional & social standards. I promise "there is a life after raising a family!" You will find yourself smiling as we watch our own young offspring (now parents) raise their little ones which does not come with a "how to booklet."

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 19 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9781594489785
Author:
Wolitzer, Meg
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Author:
Lipman, Elinor
Author:
R
Author:
Meg Wolitze
Author:
Mirvis, Tova
Subject:
Contemporary Women
Subject:
Women
Subject:
Marriage
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130416
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
readers guide online
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Trauma
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  2. Unaccustomed Earth
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  3. Belong to Me
    Used Hardcover $2.50
  4. Codex
    Used Hardcover $3.50
  5. Dead Witch Walking
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. The Unbidden Truth (Barbara Holloway... Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Reference » Writing » General

The Ten-Year Nap Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Riverhead Hardcover - English 9781594489785 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In her latest novel, Wolitzer (The Wife; etc.) takes a close look at the 'opt out' generation: her cast of primary characters have all abandoned promising careers (in art, law and academia) in favor of full-time motherhood. When their children were babies, that decision was defensible to themselves and others; 10 years on, all of these women, whose interconnected stories merge during their regular breakfasts at a Manhattan restaurant, harbor hidden doubts. Do their mundane daily routines and ever-more tenuous connections to increasingly independent children compensate for all that lost promise? Wolitzer centers her narrative on comparisons between her smart but bored modern-day New York and suburban mommies and the women of the generation preceding them, who fought for women's liberation and equality. Contemporary chapters, most of which focus on a single character in this small circle of friends, alternate with vignettes from earlier eras, placing her characters' crises in the context of the women, famous and anonymous, who came before. Wolitzer's novel offers a hopeful, if not exactly optimistic, vision of women's (and men's) capacity for reinvention and the discovery of new purpose." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "The tartly funny Wolitzer is a miniaturist who can nail a contemporary type, scene or artifact with deadeye accuracy."
"Review" by , "A perceptive, highly pleasurable novel."
"Review" by , "It's a rare novelist who can transform domestic fiction into a sustained, smart, and funny inquiry into the price of ambition, the value of work, issues of class, and the meaning of motherhood — Wolitzer is that novelist."
"Review" by , "Wolitzer...brings an amused, sympathetic but beady eye to bear on the convoluted, restless, privileged yet endlessly perplexing lives of her New York wives."
"Review" by , "Wolitzer's great ear for dialogue and for insinuating humor into seriousness make this novel a thought-provoking pleasure to read."
"Synopsis" by , For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change
"Synopsis" by , Two sisters recover from widowhood, divorce, and Bernie Madoff as unexpected roommates in a Manhattan apartment in the latest from Elinor Lipman, "the last urbane romantic" (Julia Glass).
"Synopsis" by ,
Two sisters recover from widowhood, divorce, and Bernie Madoff as unexpected roommates in a Manhattan apartment

Unexpectedly widowed Gwen-Laura Schmidt is still mourning her husband, Edwin, when her older sister Margot invites her to join forces as roommates in Margots luxurious Village apartment. For Margot, divorced amid scandal (hint: her husband was a fertility doctor) and then made Ponzi-poor, its a chance to shake Gwen out of her grief and help make ends meet. To further this effort she enlists a third boarder, the handsome, cupcake-baking Anthony.

As the three swap money-making schemes and timid Gwen ventures back out into the dating world, the arrival of Margots paroled ex in the efficiency apartment downstairs creates not just complications but the chance for all sorts of unexpected forgiveness. A sister story about love, loneliness, and new life in middle age, this is a cracklingly witty, deeply sweet novel from one of our finest comic writers.

“Her worldview? Her enthusiasm, her effortless wit? Just a few of the reasons we love Elinor Lipman.”-Boston Globe

"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Meg Wolitzer and Allegra Goodman, an intimate and provocative novel about three couples whose paths intersect in their New York City neighborhood, forcing them all to weigh the comfort of stability against the costs of change. Nina is a harried young mother who spends her evenings spying on the older couple across the street through her sons Fisher-Price binoculars. She is drawn to their quiet contentment—reading on the couch, massaging each others feet—so unlike her own lonely, chaotic world of nursing and soothing and simply getting by. One night, through that same window, she spies a young couple in the throes of passion. Who are these people, and what happened to her symbol of domestic bliss?

In the coming weeks, Nina encounters the older couple, Leon and Claudia, their daughter Emma and her fiancé, and many others on the streets of her Upper West Side neighborhood, eroding the safe distance of her secret vigils. Soon anonymity gives way to different—and sometimes dangerous—forms of intimacy, and Nina and her neighbors each begin to question their own paths.

With enormous empathy and a keen observational eye, Tova Mirvis introduces a constellation of characters we all know: twenty-somethings unsure about commitments they havent yet made; thirty-somethings unsure about the ones they have; and sixty-somethings whose empty nest causes all sorts of doubt. Visible City invites us to examine those all-important forks in the road, and the conflict between desire and loyalty.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.