No Words Wasted Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 6, 2015

    Matt Burgess: IMG 35 Seconds



    Late at night on September 22, 2014, at a housing project basketball court in Brooklyn, a white cop pushes a black man against a chain link fence.... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$27.50
List price: $40.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Cooking and Food- British Isles

More copies of this ISBN

Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch

by

Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Brought back by popular demand.  Beloved food writer Nigel Slater presents a yearlong record of his cooking and entertaining, as well as endearing culinary stories and witticisms.

Nigel Slater writes about food in a way that stimulates the imagination, the heart, and the palate all at once. The Kitchen Diaries brings an especially personal ingredient to the mix, letting us glimpse into Nigel Slater’s pantry, tour local farmers’ markets with him, and savor even the simplest meals at his table.

Recording twelve months in Nigel Slater’s culinary life, The Kitchen Diaries shares seasonal dishes and the intriguing elements behind them. As someone who celebrates each visit to the cheese shop or butcher, he enthusiastically conveys the brilliant array of choices and views shopping as an adventure rather than a chore. If he feels like staying in, we spend the evening with him at his London flat, enjoying a creative combination of odds and ends from the fridge. A rainy day in February calls for a hearty stew; summertime finds him feasting on a simple lunch of baked tomatoes with grated Parmesan. No matter the season, The Kitchen Diaries offers a year-round invitation to cook and dine with the world’s most irresistible lover of food.

Review:

"Slater, acclaimed British food writer and avid gardener, celebrates the joy of every aspect of the vegetable, from seed through consumption. While vegetables beckon to Slater more than meat or fish, he wisely recognizes that not everyone shares his passion. As a result, he offers easy-to-prepare recipes that suit both purists and those simply looking to complement their main course. While most will not follow Slater's lead in swapping out their lawn for a garden, many will find his tutelage helpful on everything from composting to the tools needed to plant and tend the garden. Since the book was originally published in the U.K. and some things were not altered for an American audience, his advice on when best to plant will not be of much use to readers in other climates. However, his homage to vegetables both mighty and humble is otherwise comprehensive and a joy to read. From asparagus and eggplant to cabbage and leeks, he provides valuable insight on how to grow and harvest, season, and prepare these amazing veggies to maximize flavor and freshness. Broccoli and lamb stir-fry, mussel and leek chowder, warm pumpkin scones are among the offerings to tempt vegetarians and omnivores alike. Engagingly written and showcasing more than 200 full-color photos, this attractive and infinitely useful collection shows how to tastefully incorporate more vegetables into one's diet while providing an informative primer on gardening. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Brought back by popular demand.  Beloved food writer Nigel Slater presents a yearlong record of his cooking and entertaining, as well as endearing culinary stories and witticisms.

Nigel Slater writes about food in a way that stimulates the imagination, the heart, and the palate all at once. The Kitchen Diaries brings an especially personal ingredient to the mix, letting us glimpse into Nigel Slater’s pantry, tour local farmers’ markets with him, and savor even the simplest meals at his table.

Recording twelve months in Nigel Slater’s culinary life, The Kitchen Diaries shares seasonal dishes and the intriguing elements behind them. As someone who celebrates each visit to the cheese shop or butcher, he enthusiastically conveys the brilliant array of choices and views shopping as an adventure rather than a chore. If he feels like staying in, we spend the evening with him at his London flat, enjoying a creative combination of odds and ends from the fridge. A rainy day in February calls for a hearty stew; summertime finds him feasting on a simple lunch of baked tomatoes with grated Parmesan. No matter the season, The Kitchen Diaries offers a year-round invitation to cook and dine with the world’s most irresistible lover of food.

Synopsis:

A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain’s foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes.

In the tradition of Roast Chicken and Other Stories comes Tender, a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK, Tender is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author’s homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater’s inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za’atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables—through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen—with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.

About the Author

NIGEL SLATER is one of Britain’s foremost food authorities, with a weekly column in the Observer, ten books, and BBC television and radio series. He has won the 1995 Glenfiddich Cookery Writer of the Year award and the 2009 Food Personality of the Year award at the BBC Food and Farming awards.

Table of Contents

Introducion

Asparagus

Beets

Broccoli and the sprouting greens

Brussels sprouts

Cabbage

Carrots

Cauliflower

Celery

Celery root

Chard

The Chinese greens

Eggplants

Fava beans

Jerusalem artichokes

Kale and cavolo nero

Leeks

Onions

Parsnips

Peas

Peppers

Pole beans

Potatoes

Pumpkin and other winter squashes

Rutabaga

Salad leaves

Spinach

Tomatoes

Turnips

Zucchini and other summer squashes

A few other good things

Index

Product Details

ISBN:
9781607740377
Author:
Slater, Nigel
Publisher:
Ten Speed Press
Subject:
Vegetables
Subject:
Specific Ingredients - Vegetables
Subject:
Cooking and Food-Vegetables General
Subject:
cooking;vegetables;food;cookery;gardening;cookbook;non-fiction;recipes;british;reference
Edition Description:
B-Hardcover
Publication Date:
20110431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Illustrations:
216 FULL-COLOR PHOTOS
Pages:
624
Dimensions:
9.66 x 6.96 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. A Visit from the Goon Squad
    Used Trade Paper $7.95

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » By Ingredient » Vegetables General
Cooking and Food » Regional and Ethnic » British Isles
Cooking and Food » Regional and Ethnic » UK and Ireland

Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$27.50 In Stock
Product details 624 pages Ten Speed Press - English 9781607740377 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Slater, acclaimed British food writer and avid gardener, celebrates the joy of every aspect of the vegetable, from seed through consumption. While vegetables beckon to Slater more than meat or fish, he wisely recognizes that not everyone shares his passion. As a result, he offers easy-to-prepare recipes that suit both purists and those simply looking to complement their main course. While most will not follow Slater's lead in swapping out their lawn for a garden, many will find his tutelage helpful on everything from composting to the tools needed to plant and tend the garden. Since the book was originally published in the U.K. and some things were not altered for an American audience, his advice on when best to plant will not be of much use to readers in other climates. However, his homage to vegetables both mighty and humble is otherwise comprehensive and a joy to read. From asparagus and eggplant to cabbage and leeks, he provides valuable insight on how to grow and harvest, season, and prepare these amazing veggies to maximize flavor and freshness. Broccoli and lamb stir-fry, mussel and leek chowder, warm pumpkin scones are among the offerings to tempt vegetarians and omnivores alike. Engagingly written and showcasing more than 200 full-color photos, this attractive and infinitely useful collection shows how to tastefully incorporate more vegetables into one's diet while providing an informative primer on gardening. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

Brought back by popular demand.  Beloved food writer Nigel Slater presents a yearlong record of his cooking and entertaining, as well as endearing culinary stories and witticisms.

Nigel Slater writes about food in a way that stimulates the imagination, the heart, and the palate all at once. The Kitchen Diaries brings an especially personal ingredient to the mix, letting us glimpse into Nigel Slater’s pantry, tour local farmers’ markets with him, and savor even the simplest meals at his table.

Recording twelve months in Nigel Slater’s culinary life, The Kitchen Diaries shares seasonal dishes and the intriguing elements behind them. As someone who celebrates each visit to the cheese shop or butcher, he enthusiastically conveys the brilliant array of choices and views shopping as an adventure rather than a chore. If he feels like staying in, we spend the evening with him at his London flat, enjoying a creative combination of odds and ends from the fridge. A rainy day in February calls for a hearty stew; summertime finds him feasting on a simple lunch of baked tomatoes with grated Parmesan. No matter the season, The Kitchen Diaries offers a year-round invitation to cook and dine with the world’s most irresistible lover of food.

"Synopsis" by , A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain’s foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes.

In the tradition of Roast Chicken and Other Stories comes Tender, a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK, Tender is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author’s homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater’s inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za’atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables—through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen—with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.