The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

A Son of the Circus

by

A Son of the Circus Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

"A SON OF THE CIRCUS IS COMIC GENIUS....GET READY FOR IRVING'S MOST RAUCOUS NOVEL TO DATE."

--The Boston Globe

"Dr. Farrokh Daruwalla, reared in Bombay by maverick foes of tradition, educated in Vienna, married to an Austrian and long a resident of Toronto, is a 59-year-old without a country, culture or religion to call his own....The novel may not be 'about' India, but Irving's imagined India, which Daruwalla visits periodically, is a remarkable achievement--a pandemonium of servants and clubmen, dwarf clowns and transvestite whores, missionaries and movie stars. This is a land of energetic colliding egos, of modern media clashing with ancient cultures, of broken sexual boundaries."

--New York Newsday

"HIS MOST DARING AND MOST VIBRANT NOVEL...The story of circus-as-India is told with gusto and delightful irreverence."

--Bharati Mukherjee

The Washington Post Book World

"Ringmaster Irving introduces act after act, until three (or more) rings are awhirl at a lunatic pace....[He] spills characters from his imagination as agilely as improbable numbers of clowns pile out of a tiny car....His Bombay and his Indian characters are vibrant and convincing."

--The Wall Street Journal

"IRRESISTIBLE...POWERFUL...Irving's gift for dialogue shines."

--Chicago Tribune

From the Paperback edition.

Synopsis:

Twenty years after he had been the examining physician of two victims of a transsexual serial killer, Dr. Farrokh Daruwalla leaves Toronto to return to his native Bombay and comes face to face with his own past and the murderer when he encounters a colorful cast of circus characters. Reader's Guide included. Reprint.

Synopsis:

A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307423931
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Subject:
Fiction : Literary
Author:
Irving, John
Subject:
Fiction : Suspense
Subject:
American
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
India Fiction.
Subject:
Literature
Subject:
India
Subject:
Detective and mystery stories
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
19970623
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
672

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

A Son of the Circus
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 672 pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780307423931 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Twenty years after he had been the examining physician of two victims of a transsexual serial killer, Dr. Farrokh Daruwalla leaves Toronto to return to his native Bombay and comes face to face with his own past and the murderer when he encounters a colorful cast of circus characters. Reader's Guide included. Reprint.
"Synopsis" by , A Hindi film star . . . an American missionary . . . twins separated at birth . . . a dwarf chauffeur . . . a serial killer . . . all are on a collision course. In the tradition of A Prayer for Owen Meany, Irving's characters transcend nationality. They are misfits--coming from everywhere, belonging nowhere. Set almost entirely in India, this is John Irving's most ambitious novel and a major publishing event.

From the Hardcover edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.