Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Daddy-Long-Legs

by

Daddy-Long-Legs Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Jean Webster (1875-1916) was born in Fredonia, New York, the daughter of Charles L. Webster, who was Mark Twain's publisher and business partner. Educated at Vassar College, she must have been a woman with a strong social conscience, perhaps aroused by her visits as a student to orphanages and other institutions (part of her economics course: her degree was in English and economics). She was always concerned for the plight of children who began life with such disadvantages and later she served on committees for prison reform and regularly visited Sing Sing jail. She wrote a number of novels that are now forgotten, but the last two, Daddy-Long-Legs (1912) and its sequel Dear Enemy (1915), have survived both in book form, stage and film versions, and a British musical comedy Love from Judy produced in 1953.

In 1915 Jean Webster married Glenn Ford McKinney. She died a year later, the day after the birth of her daughter.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

Orphaned Judy Abbot relates her college adventures in letters to the mysterious benefactor that she calls Daddy-Long-Legs.

Synopsis:

Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott's Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story. This gentle romance is the seventh book in the Looking Glass Library series.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375898808
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Subject:
Orphans
Introduction:
Martin, Ann M.
Calligrapher:
Webster, Jean
Author:
Webster, Jean
Author:
Martin, Ann M.
Subject:
Universities and colleges
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Classics
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Girls & Women
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Love & Romance
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Love & Romance
Subject:
Childrens classics
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20110125
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Grade Level:
3-7
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Age Level:
8-12

Related Subjects

Children's » Classics » General
Children's » General

Daddy-Long-Legs
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 208 pages Random House Children's Books - English 9780375898808 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Orphaned Judy Abbot relates her college adventures in letters to the mysterious benefactor that she calls Daddy-Long-Legs.
"Synopsis" by , Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott's Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story. This gentle romance is the seventh book in the Looking Glass Library series.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.