It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Once Removed

by

Once Removed Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

TheWashington Postpraised Mako Yoshikawa's extraordinary first novel,One Hundred and One Ways, as "strikingly assured." TheOrlando Sentinelcalled it "an impressive accomplishment." InOnce Removed, Yoshikawa continues in the tradition of Alice Walker and Amy Tan with a powerful story of two women from different cultures who form a deep friendship that, though severely tested, can never be broken. It has been many long years since Claudia last saw her Japanese-American stepsister. Once upon a time, Claudia's Jewish father fell in love with Rei's Japanese mother and abandoned his family to be with her. Though Claudia resented this new family her father so readily embraced, from the moment she and Rei met, the two girls formed a bond not even their parents understood. Their long-standing joke is that they are mirror reflections of each other--though in truth they are striking opposites. Claudia is blond and large-boned; Rei is dark-haired and thin, with distinct Asian features. Now in their early thirties, Claudia and Rei have found a way back into each other's troubled life. As impulsively affectionate as ever, Rei has come to Boston to recuperate from a potentially life-threatening illness, while the typically cautious Claudia has found herself replicating the behavior of her step-mother by falling in love with a married man. As they come together, the two women realize they must strike a balance between the friendship they long to recover and the secrets they have learned to keep. And they discover that despite the distance that has grown between them, their bond is as strong as ever--and could help them repair the other wounded relationships in their lives. Lyrical, evocative, and richly imagined,Once Removedis an exceptional tale of two families, two cultures, and the connection between two women that survives the betrayals of those around them. Taking us from the exotic Japan of the 1940s and '50s, to the verdant English countryside, to the urban streets of Boston, Mako Yoshikawa is a gifted storyteller who has firmly established her place in contemporary fiction.

Synopsis:

Here is the new novel from Mako Yoshikawa, whose acclaimed debut, One Hundred and One Ways, was heralded as"strikingly assured" and"a pensive, erotic, deeply moving tale." Once Removed is an intimate and wonderfully observed portrait of blended families and the bonds that bring women together. Claudia Klein and Rei Watanabe are estranged stepsisters, soulmates who made a powerful connection as children. After many years of silence between them, Rei once again needs Claudia. This lyrical and beautiful tale reveals how the ties between friends and sisters can overcome anything, even the deeply buried secrets of the past.

Synopsis:

Here is the new novel from Yoshikawa, whose acclaimed debut, "One Hundred and One Ways, " was heralded as "a pensive, erotic, deeply moving tale." "Once Removed" is an intimate portrait of blended families and the bonds that bring women together.

Synopsis:

Two women from different cultures form a deep friendship that, though severely tested, is never broken.

About the Author

Mako Yoshikawa has studied at Columbia University and at Oxford. She has been a Vera M. Schuyler Fellow of Creative Writing at the Bunting Institute at Harvard University and is a doctoral candidate in English literature at the University of Michigan. She is also the author of the novel One Hundred and One Ways. Yoshikawa lives in Boston.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780553897647
Publisher:
Bantam Books
Subject:
Japanese Americans
Author:
Yoshikawa, Mako
Subject:
Female friendship
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fiction-Literary
Subject:
Fiction : Literary
Subject:
Fiction : General
Subject:
General
Subject:
Jews
Subject:
Stepsisters
Subject:
Boston
Subject:
New jersey
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20030501
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
289

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Once Removed
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 289 pages Bantam Books - English 9780553897647 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Here is the new novel from Mako Yoshikawa, whose acclaimed debut, One Hundred and One Ways, was heralded as"strikingly assured" and"a pensive, erotic, deeply moving tale." Once Removed is an intimate and wonderfully observed portrait of blended families and the bonds that bring women together. Claudia Klein and Rei Watanabe are estranged stepsisters, soulmates who made a powerful connection as children. After many years of silence between them, Rei once again needs Claudia. This lyrical and beautiful tale reveals how the ties between friends and sisters can overcome anything, even the deeply buried secrets of the past.
"Synopsis" by , Here is the new novel from Yoshikawa, whose acclaimed debut, "One Hundred and One Ways, " was heralded as "a pensive, erotic, deeply moving tale." "Once Removed" is an intimate portrait of blended families and the bonds that bring women together.
"Synopsis" by , Two women from different cultures form a deep friendship that, though severely tested, is never broken.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.