Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 15, 2014

    Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



    There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.95
List price: $12.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton GARD- CPOST&SOIL
1 Burnside Nature Studies- Entomology
1 Burnside GARD- CPOST&SOIL

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of Earthworms

by

The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of Earthworms Cover

 

Staff Pick

A blind, lungless little plow that sifts our soil a teaspoon at a time is responsible for engineering our entire ecosystem. Amy Stewart has uncovered the earthworm's purposeful cycle into a delightful read that also serves as a reminder to savor our curiosities.
Recommended by Donna, Powells.com

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“Engrossing” (The Christian Science Monitor), “fascinating” (TimeOut New York), “delightfully nuanced” (Entertainment Weekly), “terrific” (New York Newsday), “inspiring” (Bust magazine). “You know a book is good when you actually welcome one of those howling days of wind and sleet that makes going out next to impossible” (The New York Times).

The Earth Moved has moved reviewers across the country. In witty, offbeat style, Amy Stewart takes us on a subterranean adventure and introduces us to our planet’s most important gatekeeper: the humble earthworm. It’s true that the earthworm is small, spineless, and blind, but its effect on the ecosystem is profound,moving Charles Darwin to devote his last years to studying its remarkable attributes and achievements.

With the august scientist as her inspiration, Stewart investigates the earthworm’s astonishing realm, talks to oligochaetologists who have devoted their lives to unearthing the complex web of life beneath our feet, and observes the thousands of worms in her own garden. Stewart’s “ease in gliding from worms to plants to humans will remind readers of John McPhee’s essays on canoes, oranges, the geology of America” (Providence Journal). “Stewart’s book paddles along in [Rachel] Carson’s wake. Read her book and you’ll start to see how the rhododendron bed in front of your house is a kind of Mars for frontier science” (The Boston Globe).

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Kurlansky and Sue Hubbell, the first single-topic natural history book on this unsung hero of our ecosystem.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of the bestselling book The Botany of Desire comes this fascinating exploration of the world underground and one of its most amazing denizens. The earthworm may be small, spineless, and blind, but its role in the ecosystem is profound. It tills the soil, destroys microscopic organisms that cause plant disease, breaks down toxins, and turns soil into rich compost, creating the most fertile areas on earth. In her witty and offbeat style, Amy Stewart shows just how much depends on the humble worm. The august Charles Darwin devoted his last years to the meticulous study of these creatures, admiring their remarkable achievements. It may be doubted whether there are many other animals which have played so important a part in the history of the world, as have these lowly organized creatures, he declared. With Darwin as her inspiration, Stewart weaves her own backyard investigations with those of the obsessed oligochaetologists, unearthing the complex life that exists beneath our feet. From the legendary giant Australian worm that burrows up to fifteen feet below ground to the modest nightcrawler that inspired Darwin to write his last book to Stewart's energetic red wigglers, The Earth Moved gives worms their due and exposes their hidden--and extraordinary--universe.

Synopsis:

In The Earth Moved, Amy Stewart takes us on a journey through the underground world and introduces us to one of its most amazing denizens. The earthworm may be small, spineless, and blind, but its impact on the ecosystem is profound. It ploughs the soil, fights plant diseases, cleans up pollution, and turns ordinary dirt into fertile land. Who knew?

In her witty, offbeat style, Stewart shows that much depends on the actions of the lowly worm. Charles Darwin devoted his last years to the meticulous study of these creatures, praising their remarkable abilities. With the august scientist as her inspiration, Stewart investigates the worm's subterranean realm, talks to oligochaetologists--the unsung heroes of earthworm science--who have devoted their lives to unearthing the complex life beneath our feet, and observes the thousands of worms in her own garden. From the legendary giant Australian worm that stretches to ten feet in length to the modest nightcrawler that wormed its way into the heart of Darwin's last book to the energetic red wigglers in Stewart's compost bin, The Earth Moved gives worms their due and exposes their hidden and extraordinary universe. This book is for all of us who appreciate Mother Nature's creatures, no matter how humble.

About the Author

Amy Stewart is the author of The Earth Moved, which won the 2005 California Horticultural Society’s Writer’s Award, and From the Ground Up. Her essays and commentaries have appeared in the New York Times, San Francisco Chronicle, Garden Design, Organic Gardening, and elsewhere. She has been featured on NPR, Good Morning America, and CBS Sunday Morning

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

mkosmal, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by mkosmal)
This is the ultimate book for worm knowledge. Very well written and full of facts.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781565124684
Author:
Stewart, Amy
Publisher:
Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Ecology
Subject:
Earthworms
Subject:
Life Sciences - Zoology - Invertebrates
Subject:
NATURE / Essays
Subject:
Environmental Studies-Environment
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20050331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
8.08x5.52x.73 in. .59 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Worldwatch Paper 163 : Home Grown :... Used Trade Paper $12.00
  2. 100 Vegetables and Where They Came from Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. Coming Home To Eat Used Hardcover $8.95
  4. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (The...
    Used Mass Market $1.50
  5. A Dog Year Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. Color Farm Used Trade Paper $1.95

Related Subjects

Home and Garden » Gardening » Composting and Mulching
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Nightcrawlers and Worms
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Entomology and General Invertebrates
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Environment
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Insects » Entomology
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » World Wildlife
Transportation » Aviation » Flight Instruction and Aerodynamics

The Earth Moved: On the Remarkable Achievements of Earthworms Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.95 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill - English 9781565124684 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

A blind, lungless little plow that sifts our soil a teaspoon at a time is responsible for engineering our entire ecosystem. Amy Stewart has uncovered the earthworm's purposeful cycle into a delightful read that also serves as a reminder to savor our curiosities.

"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Kurlansky and Sue Hubbell, the first single-topic natural history book on this unsung hero of our ecosystem.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of the bestselling book The Botany of Desire comes this fascinating exploration of the world underground and one of its most amazing denizens. The earthworm may be small, spineless, and blind, but its role in the ecosystem is profound. It tills the soil, destroys microscopic organisms that cause plant disease, breaks down toxins, and turns soil into rich compost, creating the most fertile areas on earth. In her witty and offbeat style, Amy Stewart shows just how much depends on the humble worm. The august Charles Darwin devoted his last years to the meticulous study of these creatures, admiring their remarkable achievements. It may be doubted whether there are many other animals which have played so important a part in the history of the world, as have these lowly organized creatures, he declared. With Darwin as her inspiration, Stewart weaves her own backyard investigations with those of the obsessed oligochaetologists, unearthing the complex life that exists beneath our feet. From the legendary giant Australian worm that burrows up to fifteen feet below ground to the modest nightcrawler that inspired Darwin to write his last book to Stewart's energetic red wigglers, The Earth Moved gives worms their due and exposes their hidden--and extraordinary--universe.
"Synopsis" by ,
In The Earth Moved, Amy Stewart takes us on a journey through the underground world and introduces us to one of its most amazing denizens. The earthworm may be small, spineless, and blind, but its impact on the ecosystem is profound. It ploughs the soil, fights plant diseases, cleans up pollution, and turns ordinary dirt into fertile land. Who knew?

In her witty, offbeat style, Stewart shows that much depends on the actions of the lowly worm. Charles Darwin devoted his last years to the meticulous study of these creatures, praising their remarkable abilities. With the august scientist as her inspiration, Stewart investigates the worm's subterranean realm, talks to oligochaetologists--the unsung heroes of earthworm science--who have devoted their lives to unearthing the complex life beneath our feet, and observes the thousands of worms in her own garden. From the legendary giant Australian worm that stretches to ten feet in length to the modest nightcrawler that wormed its way into the heart of Darwin's last book to the energetic red wigglers in Stewart's compost bin, The Earth Moved gives worms their due and exposes their hidden and extraordinary universe. This book is for all of us who appreciate Mother Nature's creatures, no matter how humble.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.