Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

The Bad Boy's Wife

by

The Bad Boy's Wife Cover

ISBN13: 9780312318963
ISBN10: 0312318960
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

What happens when you marry the bad boy — the reckless, irresistible cowboy who steals your heart and throws it back to you, the one you should have called it a day with after the affair?

When Cole, a gorgeous ne'er do well horse trainer and stereotypical bad boy, proposes to Hannah, daughter of a wealthy Southern family, it comes as a shock to everyone. After a twenty-year marriage, Cole leaves Hannah for one of her best friends and they play out their passions on a ranch in Kentucky, where old secrets and sentiments spring forth to unsettle their relationship. Caught in the middle are their beloved daughter Mattie, and Georgia, the hired hand debutante who casts their fate.

Review:

"Taut, disturbing and memorable, this portrait of a marriage gone awry gains unuusual power and poetry through its deft inversions of the past." Andrea Barrett, National Book Award-winning author of Voyage of the Narwhal

Review:

"Spanning 20 years, [The Bad Boy's Wife] skillfully reconstructs the complicated emotional terrain of a marriage gone sour...and the real treat is the writing: clean, no-frills and bulls-eye accurate." The Washington Post

Review:

"Shepard...uses her flashback structure to good effect, tracing the arc of the relationship backwards, from acrimony to heady infatuation. This is domestic fiction done with edge and attitude." Booklist

Synopsis:

An affecting story of a relationship gone bad told in reverse, by the author of An Empire of Women.

Synopsis:

What happens when you marry the bad boy-the reckless, irresistible cowboy who steals your heart and whom you should have dumped after the affair?

Cole Thompson, a gorgeous ne'er-do-well horse trainer, shocks everyone when he proposes to Hannah Baker, the daughter of a wealthy Southern family. When after a twenty-year marriage filled with infidelity and other secrets, Cole leaves her, it comes as a shock to no one but Hannah. Now, though, there are no longer just two of them to suffer the consequences: caught in the middle is Mattie, the child who was supposed to settle them down and make them better people.

This is the story of a relationship and marriage told in reverse, from its fateful end to its magical beginnings. Can a husband, a wife and their ten-year-old pick up the pieces of their broken past and dare to expect something from the future? In the tradition of books like The Horse Whisperer and Cowboys Are my Weakness, Karen Shepard deals with issues of broken trust, and the damage we cause to the ones we love most.

About the Author

Karen Shepard teaches writing and literature in Williamstown, Massachusetts, where she lives with her husband and their three children.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

pjkirk2, October 15, 2006 (view all comments by pjkirk2)
This novel is very different from anything I have experienced before. The story told backwards gives the reader the adept feeling that the climax has already been reached before getting to chapter 2. However, once you begin following Hannah's life and the trials of dealing with Cole. You cannot wait to see what was put forth by him to catch such a woman, as Hannah and what she has done to keep such a man and why she would defy all to do so.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312318963
Author:
Shepard, Karen
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Adultery
Subject:
Sagas
Subject:
Family saga
Subject:
Married women
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Missouri
Subject:
Ranch life
Subject:
Mate selection
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Horse trainers.
Subject:
Triangles
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Series Volume:
2001-21
Publication Date:
20050601
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.6 x 5.76 x 0.98 in

Other books you might like

  1. Dirty Sally Used Hardcover $9.95
  2. The Glass Castle: A Memoir
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. No Angel Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Killer Smile Used Mass Market $2.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Bad Boy's Wife Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 272 pages St. Martin's Press - English 9780312318963 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Taut, disturbing and memorable, this portrait of a marriage gone awry gains unuusual power and poetry through its deft inversions of the past."
"Review" by , "Spanning 20 years, [The Bad Boy's Wife] skillfully reconstructs the complicated emotional terrain of a marriage gone sour...and the real treat is the writing: clean, no-frills and bulls-eye accurate."
"Review" by , "Shepard...uses her flashback structure to good effect, tracing the arc of the relationship backwards, from acrimony to heady infatuation. This is domestic fiction done with edge and attitude."
"Synopsis" by , An affecting story of a relationship gone bad told in reverse, by the author of An Empire of Women.
"Synopsis" by ,
What happens when you marry the bad boy-the reckless, irresistible cowboy who steals your heart and whom you should have dumped after the affair?

Cole Thompson, a gorgeous ne'er-do-well horse trainer, shocks everyone when he proposes to Hannah Baker, the daughter of a wealthy Southern family. When after a twenty-year marriage filled with infidelity and other secrets, Cole leaves her, it comes as a shock to no one but Hannah. Now, though, there are no longer just two of them to suffer the consequences: caught in the middle is Mattie, the child who was supposed to settle them down and make them better people.

This is the story of a relationship and marriage told in reverse, from its fateful end to its magical beginnings. Can a husband, a wife and their ten-year-old pick up the pieces of their broken past and dare to expect something from the future? In the tradition of books like The Horse Whisperer and Cowboys Are my Weakness, Karen Shepard deals with issues of broken trust, and the damage we cause to the ones we love most.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.