The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Sociology- American Studies

Don't Eat This Book

by

Don't Eat This Book Cover

 

Review-A-Day

"If watching [Spurlock} smugly eat (and regurgitate) fast food in the movie wasn't enough for you, he's written a book that basically makes the same points. People may be drawn to this book because it investigates topics explored in Eric Schlosser's excellent Fast Food Nation. But, where Schlosser's book is an exemplary piece of investigative journalism, Don't Eat This Book is a raging testament to one man's super-sized ego." Gerry Donaghy, Powells.com (read the entire Powells.com review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The literary debut of the funniest and most incisive new voice to come along since Michael Moore — and the acclaimed director of the film phenomenon of the year.

Can man live on fast food alone? Morgan Spurlock tried to do just that. For thirty days, he ate nothing but three "squares" a day from McDonald's as part of an investigation into the effects of fast food on American health. The resulting documentary won him resounding applause and a worldwide release that broke box-office records. Audiences were captivated by Spurlock's experiment, during which he gained twenty-five pounds, his blood pressure skyrocketed, and his libido all but disappeared.

But this story goes far beyond Spurlock's good-humored "Mc-Sickness." He traveled across the country — into schools, hospitals, and people's homes — to investigate school lunch programs, the marketing of fast food, and the declining emphasis on health and physical education. He looks at why fast food is so tasty, cheap, and ultimately seductive, and what Americans can do to turn the rising tide of obesity, hypertension, and diabetes that have accompanied its ever-growing popularity. He interviewed experts in twenty U.S. cities — from surgeon generals and kids to lawmakers and marketing gurus — who share their research, opinions, and "gut feelings" on our ever-expanding girth and what we can all do to offset a health crisis of supersized proportions.

In this groundbreaking, hilarious book, "benevolent muckraker" Morgan Spurlock debuts a wry investigative voice that will appeal to anyone interested in the health of our country, our children, and ourselves.

Review:

"Fact-packed and funny, this offshoot of Spurlock's Oscar-nominated documentary Super Size Me serves both as a substitute for and addition to the movie. Spurlock spent a month not exercising and eating nothing but food from McDonald's, filming his declining health and ballooning size. It was a terrific premise for a movie; the book provides even more of its backstory and outtakes. Spurlock describes America's obesity epidemic, its relation to the fast food industry, the industry's cozy relations to U.S. government agencies and how the problem is spreading worldwide. He details the long-term and often fatal (albeit well-known) health hazards of the high-fat, high-sugar, factory-farmed fast food diet combined with the sedentary lifestyle prevalent among Americans. The statistics, while grim, aren't as compelling as Spurlock's often humorous descriptions of his own gradual disintegration into exhaustion, mood swings, liver deterioration and high blood pressure as his month progresses. Spurlock's wisecracks make the statistic-laden information easily digestible and possibly useful as a classroom text. He includes inspiring examples of schools that provide healthy, local (even student-grown) food in their cafeterias, and offers lists of resources for parents and educators wanting to make changes in their own communities. Spurlock is surprisingly optimistic about the future, and his book is a powerful tool in his rip-roaring campaign to turn around America's love-hate relationship with fast food. Agent, Elyse Cheney Literary. (May 19)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Review:

"Fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Marion Nestle's Food Politics will eagerly digest this book." Library Journal

Synopsis:

For thirty days, Morgan Spurlock ate nothing but McDonald’s as part of an investigation into the effects of fast food on American health. The resulting documentary earned him an Academy Award nomination and broke box-office records worldwide.

But there’s more to the story, and in Don’t Eat This Book, Spurlock examines everything from school lunch programs and the marketing of fast food to the decline of physical education. He looks at why fast food is so tasty, cheap, and ultimately seductive—and interviews experts from surgeons general and kids to marketing gurus and lawmakers, who share their research and opinions on what we can do to offset a health crisis of supersized proportions.

Don’t eat this groundbreaking, hilarious book—but if you care about your country’s health, your children’s, and your own, you better read it.

Synopsis:

The winner of the Sundance Best Director Award for his film of the same name takes a deeper look at the health crisis resulting from the fast food industry.

About the Author

Morgan Spurlock is a writer, director, and producer, and in 2004 he was awarded the Best Director prize at the Sundance Film Festival.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780399152603
Author:
Spurlock, Morgan
Publisher:
Penguin Audio
Subject:
General
Subject:
United states
Subject:
Nutrition
Subject:
Fast food restaurants
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
General Humor
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Publication Date:
20050519
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
8
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9.28x6.32x1.08 in. 1.16 lbs.
Age Level:
14

Other books you might like

  1. The Vegetarian Table: America Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. The Healthy Hedonist: More Than 200... New Trade Paper $22.99
  3. The Strang Cancer Prevention Center... New Trade Paper $21.25
  4. Rapid Problem Solving with Post-It... Used Trade Paper $10.00
  5. Beyond Codependency: And Getting... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. My Car Board Book New Board Book $7.99

Related Subjects

Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » General
Cooking and Food » Diet and Nutrition » Nutrition
Cooking and Food » Reference and Etiquette » Historical Food and Cooking
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Nutrition
History and Social Science » Sociology » American Studies
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Don't Eat This Book Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Putnam Publishing Group - English 9780399152603 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Fact-packed and funny, this offshoot of Spurlock's Oscar-nominated documentary Super Size Me serves both as a substitute for and addition to the movie. Spurlock spent a month not exercising and eating nothing but food from McDonald's, filming his declining health and ballooning size. It was a terrific premise for a movie; the book provides even more of its backstory and outtakes. Spurlock describes America's obesity epidemic, its relation to the fast food industry, the industry's cozy relations to U.S. government agencies and how the problem is spreading worldwide. He details the long-term and often fatal (albeit well-known) health hazards of the high-fat, high-sugar, factory-farmed fast food diet combined with the sedentary lifestyle prevalent among Americans. The statistics, while grim, aren't as compelling as Spurlock's often humorous descriptions of his own gradual disintegration into exhaustion, mood swings, liver deterioration and high blood pressure as his month progresses. Spurlock's wisecracks make the statistic-laden information easily digestible and possibly useful as a classroom text. He includes inspiring examples of schools that provide healthy, local (even student-grown) food in their cafeterias, and offers lists of resources for parents and educators wanting to make changes in their own communities. Spurlock is surprisingly optimistic about the future, and his book is a powerful tool in his rip-roaring campaign to turn around America's love-hate relationship with fast food. Agent, Elyse Cheney Literary. (May 19)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review A Day" by , "If watching [Spurlock} smugly eat (and regurgitate) fast food in the movie wasn't enough for you, he's written a book that basically makes the same points. People may be drawn to this book because it investigates topics explored in Eric Schlosser's excellent Fast Food Nation. But, where Schlosser's book is an exemplary piece of investigative journalism, Don't Eat This Book is a raging testament to one man's super-sized ego." (read the entire Powells.com review)
"Review" by , "Fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Marion Nestle's Food Politics will eagerly digest this book."
"Synopsis" by ,
For thirty days, Morgan Spurlock ate nothing but McDonald’s as part of an investigation into the effects of fast food on American health. The resulting documentary earned him an Academy Award nomination and broke box-office records worldwide.

But there’s more to the story, and in Don’t Eat This Book, Spurlock examines everything from school lunch programs and the marketing of fast food to the decline of physical education. He looks at why fast food is so tasty, cheap, and ultimately seductive—and interviews experts from surgeons general and kids to marketing gurus and lawmakers, who share their research and opinions on what we can do to offset a health crisis of supersized proportions.

Don’t eat this groundbreaking, hilarious book—but if you care about your country’s health, your children’s, and your own, you better read it.

"Synopsis" by , The winner of the Sundance Best Director Award for his film of the same name takes a deeper look at the health crisis resulting from the fast food industry.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.