We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | June 22, 2015

    Stephen Jarvis: IMG Robert Seymour — 13 Pictures



    1. Self-Portrait. My new novel, Death and Mr. Pickwick, tells the story of the origins of Charles Dickens's first novel, The Pickwick Papers. Its... Continue »
    1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Death and Mr. Pickwick

      Stephen Jarvis 9780374139667

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$0.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Passion of Reverend Nash

by

The Passion of Reverend Nash Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Reverend Jordanna Nash is the "dangerously tall," bicycle-riding, female minister who commands the pulpit of Hutchinson Congregational Church. She came to this Connecticut town where her sister and four nephews live in an attempt to escape the loss of her own two babies, as well as to distance herself from her faltering marriage. If Jordanna's personal life is cursed, her professional life is, seemingly, blessed--her congregation cherishes her dynamic presence in their community. But when a depressed young mother she's been counseling suddenly disappears and a member of the church youth group gets pregnant, Jordanna's faith in God and in herself is profoundly shaken. A novel about the role of faith in contemporary life, tells the story of a wounded healer who must make sense of her own grief if she is to continue caring for her flock. As Jordanna struggles to render meaning from loss, readers of her story will be taken on an unforgettable spiritual journey.

Review:

"The Passion of Reverend Nash is one of those novels that's so wonderful you're afraid to recommend it because if your friends don't like it, you'll just pity them. Rachel Basch's story of a Congregational minister tested beyond her limits inspires that sort of devotion." Ron Charles, The Christian Science Monitor (read the entire CSM review)

Review:

"A host of recognizable, memorable supporting characters round out the cast of this frank, open and theologically nuanced tale....Through [Jordanna], the reader glimpses the human heart in its pain and triumph." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"A compelling, smart, no-holds-barred story committed equally to verisimilitude and compassion." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"[U]plifiting — but never saccharine — tale of faith, doubt, and redemption." Margaret Flanagan, Booklist

Review:

"[E]xtremely powerful and well-written....The events may seem like soap opera, but Basch's persuasive prose makes them utterly believable. Highly recommended." Library Journal

Review:

"This is a most exquisite book, an intelligent and moral exploration of courage and conviction, love and truth." Beth Kephart

Review:

"Rachel Basch writes with great insight and a big heart, imbuing her novel with both." Ann Hood

Synopsis:

In the vein of Gail Godwin's Evensong, Basch presents a novel about the role of faith in contemporary life that tells the story of a wounded healer who must make sense of her own grief if she is to continue caring for her flock.

Synopsis:

In the vein of Gail Godwin's , a powerful novel that explores faith and sisterhood in small-town New England.

About the Author

Rachel Basch lives in Sandy Hook, Connecticut. She is also the author of Degrees of Love.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393057683
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Basch, Rachel
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Belief and doubt
Subject:
Christian fiction
Subject:
Connecticut
Subject:
Congregational churches
Subject:
Women clergy
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st ed.
Series Volume:
III
Publication Date:
July 2003
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.6 x 6.6 x 1.1 in 1.35 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Idea of Perfection Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. The Grand Complication Used Hardcover $4.50
  3. Prep: A Novel
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in...
    Used Trade Paper $6.95
  5. Spies Used Trade Paper $3.95
  6. The Lake of Dead Languages Used Mass Market $4.95

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Passion of Reverend Nash Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$0.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393057683 Reviews:
"Review" by , "The Passion of Reverend Nash is one of those novels that's so wonderful you're afraid to recommend it because if your friends don't like it, you'll just pity them. Rachel Basch's story of a Congregational minister tested beyond her limits inspires that sort of devotion." (read the entire CSM review)
"Review" by , "A host of recognizable, memorable supporting characters round out the cast of this frank, open and theologically nuanced tale....Through [Jordanna], the reader glimpses the human heart in its pain and triumph."
"Review" by , "A compelling, smart, no-holds-barred story committed equally to verisimilitude and compassion."
"Review" by , "[U]plifiting — but never saccharine — tale of faith, doubt, and redemption."
"Review" by , "[E]xtremely powerful and well-written....The events may seem like soap opera, but Basch's persuasive prose makes them utterly believable. Highly recommended."
"Review" by , "This is a most exquisite book, an intelligent and moral exploration of courage and conviction, love and truth."
"Review" by , "Rachel Basch writes with great insight and a big heart, imbuing her novel with both." Ann Hood
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of Gail Godwin's Evensong, Basch presents a novel about the role of faith in contemporary life that tells the story of a wounded healer who must make sense of her own grief if she is to continue caring for her flock.
"Synopsis" by , In the vein of Gail Godwin's , a powerful novel that explores faith and sisterhood in small-town New England.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.