Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

The Boy on the Bus

The Boy on the Bus Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Meg Landry expected it to be a day like any other — her asthma-stricken eight year-old son would step off the bus, home from school. But on this day, the boy on the bus is not Meg's son — or at least doesn't appear to be. This new boy shares Charlie's copper hair, tea-brown eyes, and slight frame. But, there is something profoundly, if undefinably, different about him. He has a finer nose, his skin is shinier, and his face looks more mature, as if he has grown into being Charlie more than the real Charlie ever did.

In the wake of Meg's quiet alarm, her far-flung family returns home. Yet neither Charlie's father, Jeff, nor his rebellious teenage sister, Katie, can confirm whether this boy is or is not Charlie. They look to Meg for certainty — after all, shouldn't a mother know her own child?

In this daring first novel that will appeal to fans of Shirley Jackson and Margot Livesey, Deborah Schupack probes the depths of a family stretched out along the seams of post-modern, small town life. With the precision of a literary wordsmith and the deftness of a psychological thriller writer, Schupack has crafted an extraordinary tale of a mother's love for her son, and a mystery that may ultimately rip them apart. Tense and atmospheric, this is a rare combination of intellectual sophistication and page-turning readability.

Review:

"An impressive debut . . . Schupack announces her presence at the table of writers who deserve to be heard." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"Utterly original . . . preys on a fear that every mother must experience when looking at her son or daughter." Library Journal

Synopsis:

With the precision of a literary wordsmith and the deftness of a psychological thriller writer, Schupack has crafted an extraordinary tale of a mother's love for her son, and a mystery that may ultimately rip them apart.

About the Author

Deborah Schupack has taught writing and literature at Vermont College, The New School, and Yale University. Her articles and short fiction have appeared in numerous publications, including The New York Times, Gettysburg Review, and Fiction. She lives in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780743242202
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Schupack, Deborah
Publisher:
Free Press
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Mothers and sons
Subject:
Identity
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Vermont
Subject:
Identity (psychology)
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Series Volume:
33
Publication Date:
20030225
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.4375 x 5.5 in 12.384 oz

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Boy on the Bus
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 224 pages Free Press - English 9780743242202 Reviews:
"Review" by , "An impressive debut . . . Schupack announces her presence at the table of writers who deserve to be heard."
"Review" by , "Utterly original . . . preys on a fear that every mother must experience when looking at her son or daughter."
"Synopsis" by , With the precision of a literary wordsmith and the deftness of a psychological thriller writer, Schupack has crafted an extraordinary tale of a mother's love for her son, and a mystery that may ultimately rip them apart.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.