Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | July 20, 2015

    Jesse Ball: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Jesse Ball



    Describe your latest book. I woke up one day from a sort of daydream with an idea for a book's structure, and for the thread of that book, one... Continue »
    1. $16.80 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      A Cure for Suicide

      Jesse Ball 9781101870129

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $7.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
3 Burnside Children's Middle Readers- General

More copies of this ISBN

Other titles in the Magic Thief series:

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One

by

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their

land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barrons Merlin Saga.

Praise for T. A. Barrons novels:

 

“Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander

 

“A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine LEngle

  

“Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times

 

“In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

 

Synopsis:

Johnathan Strange...In New York! Itand#8217;s the early 1900s on the Lower East Side, and each ethnic community has its own brand of magic. In this mystical melting pot Sacha Kessler, a dirt-poor immigrant kid,and#160;andand#160;Lily Astral, the daughter of Park-Avenue royalty, assist the brilliant Police Inquisitor Wolf as he detects magical crime in the city that never sleeps.and#160; and#160;

Synopsis:

Magic, mayhem, and humor abound in this riveting middle grade adventure, the sequel to The Inquisitorand#8217;s Apprentice.

Synopsis:

From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their

land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barrons Merlin Saga.

Praise for T. A. Barrons novels:

 

“Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander

 

“A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine LEngle

  

“Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times

 

“In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

 

Synopsis:

At the turn of the twentieth century, New Yorkand#8217;s Bowery District becomes the scene of a terrible murder when the Klezmer King gets fried to a crisp by his Electric Tuxedoand#8212;on stage! The Inquisitorand#8217;s apprentice, thirteen-year-old Sacha Kessler, tries to help find the killer, but the closer he gets to solving the crime, the more it sounds as if the creature that haunted him in his first adventure is back. Worse still, his own family is in danger. Sacha has avoided learning magic until now, but as his world falls apart around him, he changes his mind.

About the Author

Sarah Prineas lives in the midst of the corn in rural Iowa and can usually be found writing fantasy novels on a stealthy silver MacBook Air called Dash. Prineas's Magic Thief series introduced readers to the irascible wizard Nevery and his gutterboy apprentice, Connwaer. Sarah holds a PhD in English literature and recently taught honors seminars on fantasy and science fiction literature at the University of Iowa. She has an amazing dragon action-figure collection and occasionally bakes biscuits (although she says hers never seem to turn out as tasty as Benet's do in The Magic Thief). She is also the author of Winterling, Summerkin, and Moonkind.

Sarah is married to John Prineas, a physics professor, which comes in handy when she's writing about magic. They are the parents of Maud and Theo.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061375903
Author:
Prineas, Sarah
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Illustrator:
Caparo, Antonio Javier
Author:
Caparo, Antonio Javier
Author:
Geyer, Mark Edward
Author:
, A.H.
Author:
Moriarty, Chris
Author:
Prineas, Sar
Author:
Barron, T. A.
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Subject:
magic;1900 s;New York City;Lower East Side;Jewish;Judaism;police;law enforcement
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Magic Thief
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20090421
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 5 up to 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Black and white illustrations
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
7.63 x 5.13 in 0.64 lb
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. Chasing Vermeer
    Used Trade Paper $3.95
  2. Zorgamazoo
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Alvin Ho #02: Allergic to Camping,... Sale Trade Paper $3.98

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 448 pages HarperTrophy - English 9780061375903 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
Johnathan Strange...In New York! Itand#8217;s the early 1900s on the Lower East Side, and each ethnic community has its own brand of magic. In this mystical melting pot Sacha Kessler, a dirt-poor immigrant kid,and#160;andand#160;Lily Astral, the daughter of Park-Avenue royalty, assist the brilliant Police Inquisitor Wolf as he detects magical crime in the city that never sleeps.and#160; and#160;
"Synopsis" by , Magic, mayhem, and humor abound in this riveting middle grade adventure, the sequel to The Inquisitorand#8217;s Apprentice.
"Synopsis" by ,
From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their

land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barrons Merlin Saga.

Praise for T. A. Barrons novels:

 

“Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander

 

“A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine LEngle

  

“Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times

 

“In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

 

"Synopsis" by , At the turn of the twentieth century, New Yorkand#8217;s Bowery District becomes the scene of a terrible murder when the Klezmer King gets fried to a crisp by his Electric Tuxedoand#8212;on stage! The Inquisitorand#8217;s apprentice, thirteen-year-old Sacha Kessler, tries to help find the killer, but the closer he gets to solving the crime, the more it sounds as if the creature that haunted him in his first adventure is back. Worse still, his own family is in danger. Sacha has avoided learning magic until now, but as his world falls apart around him, he changes his mind.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.