Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | October 21, 2014

    Anne Rice: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Anne Rice



    These are the songs that wake me up, take me out of my worries and anxieties, wash my brain cells, and send me to the keyboard to write with new... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$12.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's- Early Readers
25 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
25 Remote Warehouse Children's- Beginning Readers

Penny and Her Marble (Penny)

by

Penny and Her Marble (Penny) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Review:

"Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny, in which guilt hangs heavily over the young mouse. Penny is instantly smitten with the blue marble she discovers on a neighbor's lawn, and she sneaks it into her pocket. Her backward-glancing eyes as she runs home clue readers in that she's ambivalent about her decision, something she considers for the next few chapters. Henkes crystallizes the way guilt worms its way into the mind of someone who suspects she's in the wrong, while putting his heroine at ease in the final pages. Ages 4 — 8." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Gossie wears bright red boots. Gertie bright wears blue boots. But little Ollie doesn't have any boots at all! Olivier Dunreaand#160;addresses aand#160;typical childhood concernand#8212;this time, frustration and sharing--in a bite-sized story that young kids will love to learn to read all by themselves.and#160;
and#160;
Thisand#160;Level 1and#160;Green Light Readerand#160;comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.

Synopsis:

Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting, but Ollie will . . . not . . . hatch! Olivier Dunrea's tale about the goslings' impatience for a new arrival will ring perfectly true for antsy older siblings everywhere.and#160;Thisand#160;brand-newand#160;Level 1and#160;Green Light Reader comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.

Synopsis:

Friends Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting for Ollie to hatch. They try poking, listening to, even sitting on top of his eggand#8212;but Ollie is Ollie and he will decide when it's time to hatch. Any child that has had to wait for a new brother or sister will find Ollie irresistible! Featuring the childlike sensibility and expressive watercolor illustrations Gossie and Friends fans love, this brand-new Level 1 Green Light Reader comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.

Synopsis:

Ollie is the littlest gosling, and he follows Gossie and Gertie all over the barnyard. They tromp through the straw and stomp in the rain. Gossie wears red boots. Gertie wears blue boots. But little Ollie doesn't have any boots at all!

Olivier Dunreaand#160;imbues his adorable gosling characters with the emotions and concerns of his young audienceand#8212;this time, frustration and sharingand#8212;in a bite-sized story that children will love to learn to read all by themselves.and#160;

Featuring the childlike sensibility andand#160;expressive watercolor illustrations Gossie and Friendsand#160;fans love, thisand#160;brand-newand#160;Level 1 early reader edition comes with a bonus audio download! Page-turn signals guide early readers.

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is the author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages—among them are Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Chrysanthemum, and Wemberly Worried. He was awarded the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon, a Caldecott Honor for Owen, and a Newbery Honor for Olive's Ocean. He lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062082039
Author:
Henkes, Kevin
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Author:
Dunrea, Olivier
Subject:
Readers - Beginner
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Gossie and Friends
Publication Date:
20130219
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Full-color illustrations
Pages:
48
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 0.47 lb
Age Level:
from 4 up to 8

Other books you might like

  1. Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #01:... New Trade Paper $4.99
  2. Duck for a Day New Hardcover $12.99
  3. The Fire Cat (I Can Read Books)
    Used Trade Paper $2.95
  4. Children Make Terrible Pets Used Hardcover $11.50
  5. I Like Bugs (Road to Reading Mile 1... New Library Bound $13.55

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
Children's » Beginning Readers » General
Children's » Early Readers
Children's » New Arrivals
Children's » Series » I Can Read
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Emotions and Feelings
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Values and Virtues

Penny and Her Marble (Penny) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$12.99 In Stock
Product details 48 pages Greenwillow Books - English 9780062082039 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Henkes ups the emotional stakes in his third book starring Penny, in which guilt hangs heavily over the young mouse. Penny is instantly smitten with the blue marble she discovers on a neighbor's lawn, and she sneaks it into her pocket. Her backward-glancing eyes as she runs home clue readers in that she's ambivalent about her decision, something she considers for the next few chapters. Henkes crystallizes the way guilt worms its way into the mind of someone who suspects she's in the wrong, while putting his heroine at ease in the final pages. Ages 4 — 8." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,
Gossie wears bright red boots. Gertie bright wears blue boots. But little Ollie doesn't have any boots at all! Olivier Dunreaand#160;addresses aand#160;typical childhood concernand#8212;this time, frustration and sharing--in a bite-sized story that young kids will love to learn to read all by themselves.and#160;
and#160;
Thisand#160;Level 1and#160;Green Light Readerand#160;comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.
"Synopsis" by ,
Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting, but Ollie will . . . not . . . hatch! Olivier Dunrea's tale about the goslings' impatience for a new arrival will ring perfectly true for antsy older siblings everywhere.and#160;Thisand#160;brand-newand#160;Level 1and#160;Green Light Reader comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.
"Synopsis" by , Friends Gossie and Gertie are waiting and waiting for Ollie to hatch. They try poking, listening to, even sitting on top of his eggand#8212;but Ollie is Ollie and he will decide when it's time to hatch. Any child that has had to wait for a new brother or sister will find Ollie irresistible! Featuring the childlike sensibility and expressive watercolor illustrations Gossie and Friends fans love, this brand-new Level 1 Green Light Reader comes with a bonus audio download. Page-turn signals guide early readers.
"Synopsis" by , Ollie is the littlest gosling, and he follows Gossie and Gertie all over the barnyard. They tromp through the straw and stomp in the rain. Gossie wears red boots. Gertie wears blue boots. But little Ollie doesn't have any boots at all!

Olivier Dunreaand#160;imbues his adorable gosling characters with the emotions and concerns of his young audienceand#8212;this time, frustration and sharingand#8212;in a bite-sized story that children will love to learn to read all by themselves.and#160;

Featuring the childlike sensibility andand#160;expressive watercolor illustrations Gossie and Friendsand#160;fans love, thisand#160;brand-newand#160;Level 1 early reader edition comes with a bonus audio download! Page-turn signals guide early readers.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.