Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.25
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

More copies of this ISBN

Penny and Her Marble (Penny)

by

Penny and Her Marble (Penny) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss.

Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Synopsis:

When Penny spots
a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's
front yard,
she picks it up,
puts it in her pocket,
and takes it home.
It's a beautiful marble—it's big, shiny, blue,
smooth, and fast,
and Penny loves it.
But does the marble
really belong to Penny?

What do you think will happen?

About the Author

Kevin Henkes is the author and illustrator of many books for children of all ages—among them are Lilly's Purple Plastic Purse, Chrysanthemum, and Wemberly Worried. He was awarded the Caldecott Medal for Kitten's First Full Moon, a Caldecott Honor for Owen, and a Newbery Honor for Olive's Ocean. He lives with his family in Madison, Wisconsin.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062082046
Author:
Henkes, Kevin
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books
Subject:
Readers - Beginner
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Edition Description:
Library
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from K up to 3
Language:
English
Pages:
48
Dimensions:
8.375 x 6 in 8.96 oz
Age Level:
from 4 up to 8

Related Subjects

Children's » Animals » Mice, Hamsters, Guinea Pigs, etc.
Children's » Beginning Readers » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Emotions and Feelings
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Values and Virtues

Penny and Her Marble (Penny) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.25 In Stock
Product details 48 pages Greenwillow Books - English 9780062082046 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , When Penny spots
a marble in Mrs. Goodwin's
front yard,
she picks it up,
puts it in her pocket,
and takes it home.
It's a beautiful marble—it's big, shiny, blue,
smooth, and fast,
and Penny loves it.
But does the marble
really belong to Penny?

What do you think will happen?

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.