Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

This title in other editions

Other titles in the Something Strange and Deadly series:

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly)

by

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this spellbinding sequel to Something Strange and Deadly delivers a mix of supernatural forces and intense romance, set against the enchanting backdrop of nineteenth-century Paris.

With her brother dead and her mother insane, Eleanor Fitt is alone. Even the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and the handsome Daniel—have fled to Paris. So when Eleanor hears the vicious barking of hounds and sees haunting yellow eyes, she fears that the Dead, and the necromancer Marcus, are after her.

To escape, Eleanor boards a steamer bound for France. There she meets Oliver, a young man who claims to have known her brother. But Oliver harbors a dangerous secret involving necromancy and black magic that entices Eleanor beyond words. If she can resist him, she'll be fine. But when she arrives in Paris, she finds that the Dead have taken over, and there's a whole new evil lurking. And she is forced to make a deadly decision that will go against everything the Spirit-Hunters stand for.

In Paris, there's a price for this darkness strange and lovely, and it may have Eleanor paying with her life.

Synopsis:

Darkness has come to the City of Light. . . .

After helping the Spirit-Hunters save Philadelphia from the walking Dead, Eleanor Fitt must now face the things she couldn't stop: her brother's death, her mother's deteriorating health, and the sting of unrequited love. But when she encounters the necromancer Marcus again, she must seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the gorgeous Daniel—who have all fled to Paris.

On her way to France, Eleanor meets Oliver, who claims to have known her brother. Though friendly, Oliver harbors a secret involving black magic that entices Eleanor. Trying to resist it, she rejoins the Spirit-Hunters in hopes of stopping Marcus.

But the Dead have taken over Paris, and there's a whole new evil lurking. Eleanor is now forced to make a dangerous decision—and her choice could mean life or death for everyone.

About the Author

Susan Dennard is a writer turned marine biologist turned writer again. Strange and Ever After is the conclusion to her trilogy, which includes A Darkness Strange and Lovely and Something Strange and Deadly. Among the traits she shares with her heroine Eleanor are a weakness for Shakespeare quotes, a healthy appetite for baked goods, and an insatiable curiosity. Sadly, Susan does not get to wear a corset or wave a parasol on a daily basis.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062083302
Author:
Dennard, Susan
Publisher:
Harper Teen
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Children s-General
Edition Description:
Paperback
Publication Date:
20140631
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 8
Language:
English
Pages:
432
Dimensions:
8 x 5.3125 in 10.4 oz
Age Level:
from 13

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » General

A Darkness Strange and Lovely (Something Strange and Deadly) New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.99 In Stock
Product details 432 pages Harper Teen - English 9780062083302 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Darkness has come to the City of Light. . . .

After helping the Spirit-Hunters save Philadelphia from the walking Dead, Eleanor Fitt must now face the things she couldn't stop: her brother's death, her mother's deteriorating health, and the sting of unrequited love. But when she encounters the necromancer Marcus again, she must seek the help of Joseph, Jie, and the gorgeous Daniel—who have all fled to Paris.

On her way to France, Eleanor meets Oliver, who claims to have known her brother. Though friendly, Oliver harbors a secret involving black magic that entices Eleanor. Trying to resist it, she rejoins the Spirit-Hunters in hopes of stopping Marcus.

But the Dead have taken over Paris, and there's a whole new evil lurking. Eleanor is now forced to make a dangerous decision—and her choice could mean life or death for everyone.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.