Warriors B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | May 19, 2015

    Christopher Robinson and Gavin Kovite: IMG Nine Funny Animal Videos That Will Help You Write Your Novel!



    If you thought watching funny animal videos was a bad habit, a time-sink, a distraction from writing your novel, well, you're probably right. But if... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      War of the Encyclopaedists

      Christopher Robinson and Gavin Kovite 9781476775425

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Local Warehouse Horror- General
10 Remote Warehouse Horror- General

This title in other editions

Haunted Castles: The Complete Gothic Stories (Penguin Horror)

by

Haunted Castles: The Complete Gothic Stories (Penguin Horror) Cover

ISBN13: 9780143124016
ISBN10: 0143124013
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Part of a new six-volume series of the best in classic horror, selected by award-winning director Guillermo del Toro

Filmmaker and longtime horror literature fan Guillermo del Toro serves as the curator for the Penguin Horror series, a new collection of classic tales and poems by masters of the genre. Included here are some of del Toros favorites, from Mary Shelleys Frankenstein and Ray Russells short story “Sardonicus,” considered by Stephen King to be “perhaps the finest example of the modern Gothic ever written,” to Shirley Jacksons The Haunting of Hill House and stories by Ray Bradbury, Joyce Carol Oates, Ted Klein, and Robert E. Howard. Featuring original cover art by Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, these stunningly creepy deluxe hardcovers will be perfect additions to the shelves of horror, sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal aficionados everywhere.

Haunted Castles

Haunted Castles is the definitve, complete collection of Ray Russell's masterful Gothic horror stories, including the famously terrifying novella trio of  "Sardonicus," "Sanguinarius," and "Sagittarius." The characters that sprawl through Haunted Castles are frightful to the core: the heartless monster holding two lovers in limbo; the beautiful dame journeying down a damned road toward depravity (with the help of an evil gypsy); the man who must wear his fatal crimes on his face in the form of an awful smile. Engrossing, grotesque, perverted, and completely entrancing, Russell's Gothic tales are the best kind of dreadful.

 

Synopsis:

The profoundly original and wildly entertaining short stories of a legendary Twilight Zone writer

 

It is only natural that Charles Beaumont would make a name for himself crafting scripts for The Twilight Zone—for his was an imagination so limitless it must have emerged from some other dimension. Perchance to Dream contains a selection of Beaumonts finest stories, including five that he later adapted for Twilight Zone episodes.

Beaumont dreamed up fantasies so vast and varied they burst through the walls of whatever box might contain them. Supernatural, horror, noir, science fiction, fantasy, pulp, and more: all were equally at home in his wondrous mind. These are stories where lions stalk the plains, classic cars rove the streets, and spacecraft hover just overhead. Here roam musicians, magicians, vampires, monsters, toreros, extraterrestrials, androids, and perhaps even the Devil himself. With dizzying feats of master storytelling and joyously eccentric humor, Beaumont transformed his nightmares and reveries into impeccably crafted stories that leave themselves indelibly stamped upon the walls of the mind. In Beaumonts hands, nothing is impossible: it all seems plausible, even likely.

About the Author

RAY RUSSELL was born in 1924 in Chicago, Illinois, and served in the United States Air Force during World War II in the South Pacific. After the war, he attended the Chicago Conservatory of Music and eventually joined the editorial staff at Playboy, helping turn the magazine into a showcase for imaginative fiction. At Playboy, Russell published such writers as Ray Bradbury, Kurt Vonnegut, Richard Matheson, Jack Finney, Robert Bloch, and Charles Beaumont, while also editing many of the bestselling Playboy anthologies, including The Playboy Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy and the Playboy Book of Horror and the Supernatural. His first novel, The Case Against Satan, will appear in Penguin Classics in 2014, and his best known work, "Sardonicus," was called by Stephen King "perhaps the finest example of the modern Gothic ever written. His work also included publications in The Paris Review and several screenplays, including Mr. Sardonicus, The Horror of it All, and X: The Man with the X-Ray Eyes. Russell received the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement in 1991. He passed away in Los Angeles in 1999.

GUILLERMO DEL TORO is a Mexican director, producer, screenwriter, novelist, and designer. He both cofounded the Guadalajara International Film Festival and formed his own production company—the Tequila Gang. However, he is most recognized for his Academy Award-winning film, Pans Labyrinth, and the Hellboy film franchise. He has received Nebula and Hugo awards, was nominated for a Bram Stoker Award, and is an avid collector and student of arcane memorabilia and weird fiction.

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

lukas, November 24, 2014 (view all comments by lukas)
I'm always on the lookout for overlooked sci-fi/horror/pulp writers and I'd never heard of Ray Russell until this 6-book series from Penguin, edited by director/horror enthusiast Gullermo Del Toro ("Hellboy," "Pan's Labyrinth"). Russell was an American writer who was an editor at "Playboy," where he was instrumental in publishing serious writers like Vonnegut and Bradbury. This volume collects his gothic stories, the highlights of which are his "S" trilogy of long stories: "Sardonicus," Sanguinarius," about the notorious Countess Bathory, and "Sagittarius." Will appeal to fans of Poe, R.L. Stevenson, and Doyle. Cool cover too. Also in this series: "The Haunting of Hill House," "Frankenstein," Poe's stories, Lovecraft's tales, and an anthology of American supernatural stories.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143124016
Author:
Russell, Ray
Publisher:
Penguin Classics Hardcover
Author:
Beaumont, Charles
Author:
Del Toro, Guillermo
Author:
Shatner, William
Author:
Toro, Guillermo del
Author:
Bradbury, Ray
Subject:
Horror
Subject:
Horror - General
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Penguin Horror
Publication Date:
20131001
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Gothic

Haunted Castles: The Complete Gothic Stories (Penguin Horror) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.00 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143124016 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
The profoundly original and wildly entertaining short stories of a legendary Twilight Zone writer

 

It is only natural that Charles Beaumont would make a name for himself crafting scripts for The Twilight Zone—for his was an imagination so limitless it must have emerged from some other dimension. Perchance to Dream contains a selection of Beaumonts finest stories, including five that he later adapted for Twilight Zone episodes.

Beaumont dreamed up fantasies so vast and varied they burst through the walls of whatever box might contain them. Supernatural, horror, noir, science fiction, fantasy, pulp, and more: all were equally at home in his wondrous mind. These are stories where lions stalk the plains, classic cars rove the streets, and spacecraft hover just overhead. Here roam musicians, magicians, vampires, monsters, toreros, extraterrestrials, androids, and perhaps even the Devil himself. With dizzying feats of master storytelling and joyously eccentric humor, Beaumont transformed his nightmares and reveries into impeccably crafted stories that leave themselves indelibly stamped upon the walls of the mind. In Beaumonts hands, nothing is impossible: it all seems plausible, even likely.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.