Minecraft Adventures B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Q&A | August 26, 2015

    Christopher Moore: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Christopher Moore



    Note: Join us this Thursday, August 27, at Powell's Books at Cedar Hills Crossing for an author event with Christopher Moore. Describe your latest... Continue »
    1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Secondhand Souls

      Christopher Moore 9780061779787

    spacer

On Order

$62.75
New Hardcover
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Philosophy- General

Other titles in the Columbia Studies in Political Thought/Political History series:

Complications: Communism and the Dilemmas of Democracy (Columbia Studies in Political Thought / Political History)

by

Complications: Communism and the Dilemmas of Democracy (Columbia Studies in Political Thought / Political History) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Synopsis:

Complications: Communism and the Dilemmas of Democracy ties together the central concerns of the work of Claude Lefort over the past half-century. A pivotal figure in French thought, Lefort studied under Maurice Merleau-Ponty, cofounded with Cornelius Castoriadis the influential journal Socialisme ou Barbarie, and famously engaged in a heated debate with Jean-Paul Sartre over the Soviet Union and Communist parties in the West. He has influenced generations of political thinkers and throughout his career has offered invaluable leftist, non-communist critiques of both liberalism and Communism.

It is the prevailing belief that the death of communism was a victory for liberal democracy. In Complications, however, Lefort challenges this interpretation and provides new ways of understanding the rise and fall of the Soviet Union and the Communist phenomenon. Lefort engages the work of prominent historians Martin Malia and FranAois Furet and shows how their emphasis on illusion and ideology led to their failure to understand the logic and workings of the Communist Party, and its impact on Soviet society, and the reasons why so many in the West had Communist sympathies. He also maintains that those who regard the end of Communism as the triumph of markets and freedom restrict the scope of democratic thought and the possibility of greater social equality.

Lefort contends that Communism must be seen as part of a larger history of modernity and believes that the diagnosis of its death is dangerous to the future of democracy. In the tradition of Hannah Arendt and Raymond Aron, Lefort complicates the pieties of historical understanding and offers a new approach to thinking abouttotalitarianism and a more vital democracy.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780231133005
Author:
Lefort, Claude
Publisher:
Columbia University Press
Translator:
Bourg, Julian
Subject:
Political
Subject:
Communism
Subject:
Philosophy : General
Series:
Columbia Studies in Political Thought / Political History
Publication Date:
20070631
Binding:
Hardcover
Language:
English
Pages:
237
Dimensions:
9.24x6.40x.77 in. 1.06 lbs.

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Politics » General
Humanities » Philosophy » General

Complications: Communism and the Dilemmas of Democracy (Columbia Studies in Political Thought / Political History) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$62.75 Backorder
Product details 237 pages Columbia University Press - English 9780231133005 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Complications: Communism and the Dilemmas of Democracy ties together the central concerns of the work of Claude Lefort over the past half-century. A pivotal figure in French thought, Lefort studied under Maurice Merleau-Ponty, cofounded with Cornelius Castoriadis the influential journal Socialisme ou Barbarie, and famously engaged in a heated debate with Jean-Paul Sartre over the Soviet Union and Communist parties in the West. He has influenced generations of political thinkers and throughout his career has offered invaluable leftist, non-communist critiques of both liberalism and Communism.

It is the prevailing belief that the death of communism was a victory for liberal democracy. In Complications, however, Lefort challenges this interpretation and provides new ways of understanding the rise and fall of the Soviet Union and the Communist phenomenon. Lefort engages the work of prominent historians Martin Malia and FranAois Furet and shows how their emphasis on illusion and ideology led to their failure to understand the logic and workings of the Communist Party, and its impact on Soviet society, and the reasons why so many in the West had Communist sympathies. He also maintains that those who regard the end of Communism as the triumph of markets and freedom restrict the scope of democratic thought and the possibility of greater social equality.

Lefort contends that Communism must be seen as part of a larger history of modernity and believes that the diagnosis of its death is dangerous to the future of democracy. In the tradition of Hannah Arendt and Raymond Aron, Lefort complicates the pieties of historical understanding and offers a new approach to thinking abouttotalitarianism and a more vital democracy.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.