Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lauren Owen: IMG The Other Vampire



It's a wild and thundery night. Inside a ramshackle old manor house, a beautiful young girl lies asleep in bed. At the window, a figure watches... Continue »

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Tuna: A Love Story

by

Tuna: A Love Story Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

The author of The Book of Sharks, Imagining Atlantis, and Encyclopedia of the Sea turns his gaze to the tuna—one of the biggest, fastest, and most highly evolved marine animals and the source of some of the world’s most popular delicacies—now hovering on the brink of extinction. In recent years, the tuna’s place on our palates has come under scrutiny, as we grow increasingly aware of our own health and the health of our planet. Here, Ellis explains how a fish that was once able to thrive has become a commodity, in a book that shows how the natural world and the global economy converge on our plates.

The longest migrator of any fish species, an Atlantic northern bluefin can travel from New England to the Mediterranean, then turn around and swim back; in the Pacific, the northern bluefin can make a round-trip journey from California to Japan. The fish can weigh in at 1,500 pounds and, in an instant, pick up speed to fifty-five miles per hour.

But today the fish is the target of the insatiable sushi market, particularly in Japan, where an individual piece can go for seventy-five dollars. Ellis introduces us to the high-stakes world of “tuna ranches,” where large schools of half-grown tuna are caught in floating corrals and held in pens before being fattened, killed, gutted, frozen, and shipped to the Asian market. Once on the brink of bankruptcy, the world’s tuna ranches—in Australia, Spain, France, Italy, Greece, Turkey, and North Africa—have become multimillion-dollar enterprises. Experts warn that the fish are dying out and environmentalists lobby for stricter controls, while entire coastal ecosystems are under threat. The extinction of the tuna would mean not only the end of several species but dangerous consequences for the earth as a whole.

In the tradition of Mark Kurlansky’s Cod, John Cole’s Striper, John Hersey’s Blues—and of course, Ellis’s own Great White Shark—this book will forever change the way we think about fish and fishing.

Synopsis:

The author of Imagining Atlantis offers an eye-opening study of the natural history of the tuna, one of the world's largest, fastest, most evolved, and most endangered marine animals, revealing how the increasing demand for sushi, especially in Japan, has caused a devastating overfishing of the tuna and detailing the dangerous implications of its potential extinction. 30,000 first printing.

Synopsis:

Richard Ellis is the author of more than a dozen books. He is also a celebrated marine artist whose paintings have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He has written and illustrated articles for numerous magazines, including Audubon, National Geographic, Discover, Smithsonian, and Scientific American. He lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

Port Lincoln — A celebration of tuna — The fraternity of big tuna — Sport fishing for tuna — commercial tuna fisheries — Tsukiji — Fishing for maguro — Tuna farming — The bluefin's popular little cousins — The tuna industry — Can we save the bluefin? — Eminent domain.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307269379
Subtitle:
A Love Story
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf
Author:
Ellis, Richard
Author:
Richard, Ellis
Subject:
Nature : Fish
Subject:
Fish
Subject:
Endangered species
Subject:
Bluefin tuna
Subject:
Wildlife
Subject:
Animals - Fish
Subject:
Oceanography-Fish
Subject:
Oceanography-General
Subject:
Nature : Animals - Fish
Subject:
Oceanography-Fisheries
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20080715
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
334

Related Subjects

» Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Aquaculture
» Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » General
» Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Fish

Tuna: A Love Story
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 334 pages Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group - English 9780307269379 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , The author of Imagining Atlantis offers an eye-opening study of the natural history of the tuna, one of the world's largest, fastest, most evolved, and most endangered marine animals, revealing how the increasing demand for sushi, especially in Japan, has caused a devastating overfishing of the tuna and detailing the dangerous implications of its potential extinction. 30,000 first printing.
"Synopsis" by , Richard Ellis is the author of more than a dozen books. He is also a celebrated marine artist whose paintings have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He has written and illustrated articles for numerous magazines, including Audubon, National Geographic, Discover, Smithsonian, and Scientific American. He lives in New York City.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.