Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Age of American Unreason

by

The Age of American Unreason Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

There are few subjects more timely than the one tackled by Jacoby. . . . Her book is smart and] well-researched. -Michiko Kakutani, The New York TimesForceful. . . . Cogently argued. . . . An intellectual journey of the first order. -Chicago Tribune “One hopes Jacoby's incisive book will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously. -San Francisco Chronicle Provocative, well-written and often witty.” -USA Today Jacoby's is a moderate, sensible, well-founded position, shared by many Americans, yet it somehow rarely got voiced amid the raging hyperbole of the culture wars. -Salon“Jacoby deploys sharp insight on our present straits—Los Angeles Times“Trenchant …One hopes her incisive book, just in time for the 2008 elections, will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously.-San Francisco ChronicleA surprising and uncommonly sophisticated treatment of a familiar topic.-New York Observer"The Age of American Unreason picks up where Richard Hofstadter left off. With analytic verve and deep historical knowledge, Susan Jacoby documents the dumbing down of our culture like a maestro. make no mistake about it, this is an important book."-Douglas Brinkley, residential historian and author of The Great Deluge"This is one of the most eye-opening books I've read in a long time. Jacoby charts the intellectual and cultural currents that have characterized the United States since its founding and explains just how and why Americans have recently become so, well, dumb. Anyone who cares about the future of our country will want to read it."-Marcia Angell, editor in chief emerita, New England Journal of Medicine"Jacoby has written a brilliant, sad story of the anti-intellectualism and lack of reasonable thought that has put this country in one of the sorriest states in its history."-Helen Thomas, author of Watchdogs of Democracy?: The Waning Washington Press Corps and How It Has Failed the Public"Jacoby's fearless jeremiad, at once passionate, witty, and solidly grounded in facts, aries at a propitious moment, when many Americans are perceiving that ignorance conjoined to arrogance can be deadly. This book deserves to be widely read, and especially by concerned parents. As Jacoby insists, it is only within families that some immunity to mind-numbing 'infotainment' can now be acquired. First, however, there must be a will to resist-and if this stirring book can't rally it, nothing can."—Frederick Crews, author of Follies of the Wise: Dissenting Essays"To a country of underachievers and proud of it, this book delivers a magnificent, occasionally hilarious kick in the pants. Snap out of it, Jacoby says: Getting it right matters. Tough talk and wicked wit in the tradition of Richard Hofstadter's Anti-Intellectualism in American Life and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death."-Jack Miles, author of God: A Biography

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Review:

"A surprising and uncommonly sophisticated treatment of a familiar topic." New York Observer

Review:

"Jacoby deploys sharp insight on our present straits." Los Angeles Times

Review:

"Trenchant... One hopes her incisive book, just in time for the 2008 elections, will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously." San Francisco Chronicle

Synopsis:

A scathing, witty indictment of American modern-day culture examines the current disdain for logic and evidence fostered by the mass media, religious fundamentalism, poor public education, a lack of fair-minded intellectuals, and a lazy, credulous public, condemning our addiction to infotainment, from TV to the Web, and assessing its repercussions for the country as a whole. 35,000 first printing.

Synopsis:

A cultural history of the last forty years, The Age of American Unreason focuses on the convergence of social forces-usually treated as separate entities-that has created aperfect storm of anti-rationalism. These include the upsurge of religious fundamentalism, with more political power today than ever before; the failure of public education to create an informed citizenry; and the triumphof video over print culture. Sparing neither the right nor the left, Jacoby asserts that Americans today have embraced a universe of junk thought that makes almost no effort to separate fact fromopinion.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About the Author

\Susan Jacoby is the author of seven previous books, most recently Freethinkers: A History of American Secularism, which was named a Notable Book of 2004 by The Washington Post Book World and The Times Literary Supplement. She lives in New York City.

Table of Contents

The way we live now : just us folks — The way we lived then : intellect and ignorance in a young nation — Social pseudoscience in the morning of America's culture wars — Reds, pinkos, fellow travelers — Middlebrow culture from noon to twilight — Blaming it on the sixties — Legacies : youth culture and celebrity culture — The new old-time religion — Junk thought — The culture of distraction — Public life : defining dumbness downward — Conclusion: Cultural conservation.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307377128
Publisher:
Pantheon Books
Subject:
History : United States - General
Author:
Jacoby, Susan
Author:
Susan Jacoby
Subject:
Philosophy : History & Surveys - General
Subject:
History : United States - 20th Century
Subject:
United States - 20th Century
Subject:
History & Surveys - General
Subject:
Mass media
Subject:
Popular Culture
Subject:
United States - General
Subject:
Popular Culture - General
Subject:
Media Studies
Subject:
National characteristics, american
Subject:
Popular culture -- United States.
Subject:
American Studies-General
Subject:
Audio Books-US History
Subject:
Philosophy-Surveys
Subject:
Politics - General
Subject:
US History - 20th Century
Subject:
US History-21st Century
Subject:
US History-General
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20080212
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
356

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Media
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General
History and Social Science » US History » General
Humanities » Philosophy » General

The Age of American Unreason
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 356 pages Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group - English 9780307377128 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A surprising and uncommonly sophisticated treatment of a familiar topic."
"Review" by , "Jacoby deploys sharp insight on our present straits."
"Review" by , "Trenchant... One hopes her incisive book, just in time for the 2008 elections, will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously."
"Synopsis" by , A scathing, witty indictment of American modern-day culture examines the current disdain for logic and evidence fostered by the mass media, religious fundamentalism, poor public education, a lack of fair-minded intellectuals, and a lazy, credulous public, condemning our addiction to infotainment, from TV to the Web, and assessing its repercussions for the country as a whole. 35,000 first printing.
"Synopsis" by , A cultural history of the last forty years, The Age of American Unreason focuses on the convergence of social forces-usually treated as separate entities-that has created aperfect storm of anti-rationalism. These include the upsurge of religious fundamentalism, with more political power today than ever before; the failure of public education to create an informed citizenry; and the triumphof video over print culture. Sparing neither the right nor the left, Jacoby asserts that Americans today have embraced a universe of junk thought that makes almost no effort to separate fact fromopinion.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.