Mega Dose
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Jazz

by

Jazz Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Wonderful. . . . A brilliant, daring novel. . . . Every voice amazes. --Chicago Tribune

She may be the last classic American writer, squarely in the tradition of Poe, Melville, Twain and Faulkner. --Newsweek

A] masterpiece. . . . She has moved from strength to strength until she has reached the distinction of being beyond comparison. --Entertainment Weekly

Thrillingly written . . . seductive. . . . Some of the finest lyric passages ever written in a modern novel. --Chicago Sun-Times

A compelling blend of heart and language. . . . Resounds with passion. --The Boston Globe

Marvelous. . . . Morrison is perhaps the finest novelist of our time. --Vogue

The author conjures up worlds with complete authority and makes no secret of her angst at the injustices dealt to black women. --Edna O'Brien, The New York Times Book Review

She captures that almost indistinguishable mixture of the anxiety and rapture of expectation--that state of desire where sin is just another word for appetite. --San Francisco Chronicle

As rich in themes and poetic images as her Pulitzer Prize-winning Beloved. . . . Morrison conjures up the hand of slavery on Harlem's jazz generation. The more you listen, the more you crave to hear. --Glamour

She is the best writer in America. Jazz, for sure; but also Mozart. --John Leonard, National Public Radio

A masterpiece. . . . A sensuous, haunting story of various kinds of passion. . . . Mesmerizing. --Cosmopolitan

Lyrically brooding. . . . One accepts the characters of Jazz as generalized figures moving rhythmically in the narrator's mind. --The New York Times

Transforms a familiar refrain of jilted love into a bold, sustaining time of self-knowledge and discovery. Its rhythms are infectious. --People

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Synopsis:

Set in Harlem during the 1920s, this novel chronicles a bittersweet triangle involving Joe Trace, a middle-aged door-to-door salesman, his mentally unstable wife Violet, and his eighteen-year-old girlfriend. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.

Synopsis:

In the winter of 1926, when everybody everywhere sees nothing but good things ahead, Joe Trace, middle-aged door-to-door salesman of Cleopatra beauty products, shoots his teenage lover to death. At the funeral, Joe’s wife, Violet, attacks the girl’s corpse. This passionate, profound story of love and obsession brings us back and forth in time, as a narrative is assembled from the emotions, hopes, fears, and deep realities of black urban life.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About the Author

Toni Morrison was born in Lorain, Ohio. She now divides her time between Rockland County, New York, and Princeton, New Jersey. She is Robert F. Goheen Professor, Council of the Humanities, Princeton University. She is the author of five other novels: The Bluest Eye, Sula, Song of Solomon, which won the 1978 National Book Critics Award for fiction, Tar Baby and Beloved, which won the 1988 Pulitzer Prize for fiction.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307388100
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
Vintage International
Creator:
Toni Morrison
Author:
Morrison, Toni
Author:
Toni Morrison
Subject:
Fiction : General
Subject:
Fiction : Literary
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Funeral rites and ceremonies
Subject:
Harlem (new york, n.y.)
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Middle aged persons
Subject:
Psychological fiction
Subject:
Foreign Languages-German-Belletristik
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature (General)
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20040608
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
229

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » General
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » General

Jazz
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 229 pages Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group - English 9780307388100 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Set in Harlem during the 1920s, this novel chronicles a bittersweet triangle involving Joe Trace, a middle-aged door-to-door salesman, his mentally unstable wife Violet, and his eighteen-year-old girlfriend. Reader's Guide available. Reprint. 20,000 first printing.
"Synopsis" by , In the winter of 1926, when everybody everywhere sees nothing but good things ahead, Joe Trace, middle-aged door-to-door salesman of Cleopatra beauty products, shoots his teenage lover to death. At the funeral, Joe’s wife, Violet, attacks the girl’s corpse. This passionate, profound story of love and obsession brings us back and forth in time, as a narrative is assembled from the emotions, hopes, fears, and deep realities of black urban life.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.