The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$13.00
List price: $25.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
11 Partner Warehouse General- General

The Night Strangers

by

The Night Strangers Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Please note that used books may not include additional media (study guides, CDs, DVDs, solutions manuals, etc.) as described in the publisher comments.

Publisher Comments:

From the bestselling author of The Double Bind, Skeletons at the Feast, and Secrets of Eden, comes a riveting and dramatic ghost story.

In a dusty corner of a basement in a rambling Victorian house in northern New Hampshire, a door has long been sealed shut with 39 six-inch-long carriage bolts.

The home's new owners are Chip and Emily Linton and their twin ten-year-old daughters. Together they hope to rebuild their lives there after Chip, an airline pilot, has to ditch his 70-seat regional jet in Lake Champlain after double engine failure. Unlike the Miracle on the Hudson, however, most of the passengers aboard Flight 1611 die on impact or drown. The body count? Thirty-nine – a coincidence not lost on Chip when he discovers the number of bolts in that basement door. Meanwhile, Emily finds herself wondering about the women in this sparsely populated White Mountain village – self-proclaimed herbalists – and their interest in her fifth-grade daughters. Are the women mad? Or is it her husband, in the wake of the tragedy, whose grip on sanity has become desperately tenuous?   

The result is a poignant and powerful ghost story with all the hallmarks readers have come to expect from bestselling novelist Chris Bohjalian: a palpable sense of place, an unerring sense of the demons that drive us, and characters we care about deeply.

The difference this time? Some of those characters are dead.

Review:

"Bestseller Bohjalian's latest novel (after Secrets of Eden) is a gripping paranormal thriller set in a remote New England town. Airline pilot Chip Linton is beset by survivor's guilt after crashing his plane upon takeoff, killing all but nine aboard. His family moves to Bethel, N.H., to escape the media glare while Chip recovers from PTSD, but they soon discover that the sleepy village harbors evil things. Their new home, once the site of a young boy's suicide, contains mysterious passageways, hidden weapons, and a secret crypt. And their neighbors, New Age gardeners and homeopaths, soon reveal themselves to be occultists with designs on the Lintons' twins. Chip begins receiving visits from his dead passengers, including an eight-year-old and her bloodthirsty father, who demands Chip find her a friend — at any cost. Meticulous research and keen attention to detail give depth and character to Bohjalian's eerie world, but the spookiness consistently gives way to silliness, and the Lintons' typical response to the strange goings on, an uneasy mix of suspicion and credulity, is a problem. Still, Bohjalian is a master,, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Review:

"Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale...A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over." Family Circle

Review:

"After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky." Good Housekeeping

Review:

"A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel." Booklist (Starred Review)

Review:

"Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here." Library Journal (Starred Review)

Review:

"Compelling...a practical magick horror story." Kirkus

Review:

"A gripping paranormal thriller...Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Put a haunted man in a haunted house...and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand." Yankee Magazine

About the Author

Chris Bohjalian is the critically acclaimed author of fourteen books, including the New York Times bestsellers The Double Bind, Secrets of Eden, and Skeletons at the Feast. His novel, Midwives, was a number one New York Times bestseller and a selection of Oprah’s Book Club. His work has been translated into more than twenty-five languages and two of his novels have become movies (Midwives and Past the Bleachers). He lives in Vermont with his wife and daughter.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

judys2girl, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by judys2girl)
Typical great Bohjalian writing, but this time Chris has thrown in a Steven King-like spookiness that makes you shudder!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Kelly from Jersey, January 4, 2012 (view all comments by Kelly from Jersey)
Loved this quietly creepy story. The unexpected ending made it a memorable read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Annelle, October 10, 2011 (view all comments by Annelle)
wow. just finished this last night. this is quite the departure from his last book, the secrets of eden. creepy neighbors, a little bit of witchcraft, home burial, and the white mountians are all ingredients to this great and interesting story. a great and must read for any chris bohjalian fan!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307394996
Author:
Bohjalian, Chris
Publisher:
Crown
Author:
Chris Bohjalian
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Ghost
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Horror - General
Publication Date:
20111004
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9.39 x 6.39 x 1.3 in 1.38 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The End of the Wasp Season Used Trade Paper $10.50
  2. Skeletons at the Feast Used Trade Paper $2.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Night Strangers Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$13.00 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Crown - English 9780307394996 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Bestseller Bohjalian's latest novel (after Secrets of Eden) is a gripping paranormal thriller set in a remote New England town. Airline pilot Chip Linton is beset by survivor's guilt after crashing his plane upon takeoff, killing all but nine aboard. His family moves to Bethel, N.H., to escape the media glare while Chip recovers from PTSD, but they soon discover that the sleepy village harbors evil things. Their new home, once the site of a young boy's suicide, contains mysterious passageways, hidden weapons, and a secret crypt. And their neighbors, New Age gardeners and homeopaths, soon reveal themselves to be occultists with designs on the Lintons' twins. Chip begins receiving visits from his dead passengers, including an eight-year-old and her bloodthirsty father, who demands Chip find her a friend — at any cost. Meticulous research and keen attention to detail give depth and character to Bohjalian's eerie world, but the spookiness consistently gives way to silliness, and the Lintons' typical response to the strange goings on, an uneasy mix of suspicion and credulity, is a problem. Still, Bohjalian is a master,, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , "Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale...A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over."
"Review" by , "After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky."
"Review" by , "A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel."
"Review" by , "Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here."
"Review" by , "Compelling...a practical magick horror story."
"Review" by , "A gripping paranormal thriller...Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride."
"Review" by , "Put a haunted man in a haunted house...and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.