Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Sanctified Blues: A Novel

by

Sanctified Blues: A Novel Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Albertina Merci, a talented R&B singer, toured with Ray Charles, James Brown, and Wilson Pickett-until the fateful night her voice gave out in front of a sold-out crowd. Encouraged by her fans, she offered a little speech in praise of Jesus instead of a song. Her spontaneous words became the seed of Sanctified Blues, a song that soon captured the hearts of millions and gave Albertina thefinancial security to follow her true calling as an evangelist-sharing the Gospel with those in need of spiritual comfort. Sanctified Blues is the story of Albertina's encounter withMaggie Clay, the biracial beauty who is TV's reigning diva. A sudden mystery surrounding Maggie has the entire country wondering: Is Maggie having a nervous breakdown, and if so, why? What caused it? And who cansave the star from self-destruction?Sanctified Blues introduces a heroine in the vein of Jessica Fletcher of Murder, She Wrote and Precious Ramotswe, head of The No. 1Ladies' Detective Agency. Her quiet but determined mission to solve spiritual mysteries and dilemmas will endear Albertina to both secular and Christian readers.

Synopsis:

MABLE JOHN was the first female recording artist for Motown, the lead Raelette for Ray Charles from 1968 1976, and a successful solo artist for Stax/Volt. She's now an ordained minister with a doctorate in counseling. DAVID RITZ is co

Synopsis:

A former R&B singer-turned-evangelist, feisty Albertina Merci comes to the aid of Maggie Clay, a biracial beauty and reigning television sitcom diva, who has become caught in a self-destructive morass that Albertina must uncover. Original. 20,000 first printing.

Synopsis:

Albertina Merci, a talented R&B singer, toured with Ray Charles, James Brown, and Wilson Pickett--until the fateful night her voice gave out in front of a sold-out crowd. Encouraged by her fans, she offered a little speech in praise of Jesus instead of a song. Her spontaneous words became the seed of "Sanctified Blues," a song that soon captured the hearts of millions and gave Albertina the financial security to follow her true calling--sharing the Gospel with those in need of spiritual comfort. Sanctified Blues is the story of Albertina's encounter with Maggie Clay, the biracial beauty who is TV's reigning sitcom diva. A sudden mystery surrounding Maggie has the entire country wondering: Is Maggie having a nervous breakdown, and if so, why? What caused it? And who can save the star from self-destruction?

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307419200
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
Harlem Moon/Broadway Books
Author:
Mable John with David Ritz
Author:
David Ritz
Author:
John, Mable
Author:
Ritz, David
Author:
Mable John
Subject:
Fiction : General
Subject:
Fiction : Christian - General
Subject:
African American women clergy
Subject:
Women evangelists
Subject:
Women blues musicians
Subject:
General
Subject:
Religious - General
Subject:
Christian - General
Subject:
Christian fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Christianity-Christian Fiction
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20060613
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
304

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » General
Religion » Christianity » Christian Fiction

Sanctified Blues: A Novel
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 304 pages Crown Publishing Group - English 9780307419200 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , MABLE JOHN was the first female recording artist for Motown, the lead Raelette for Ray Charles from 1968 1976, and a successful solo artist for Stax/Volt. She's now an ordained minister with a doctorate in counseling. DAVID RITZ is co
"Synopsis" by , A former R&B singer-turned-evangelist, feisty Albertina Merci comes to the aid of Maggie Clay, a biracial beauty and reigning television sitcom diva, who has become caught in a self-destructive morass that Albertina must uncover. Original. 20,000 first printing.
"Synopsis" by , Albertina Merci, a talented R&B singer, toured with Ray Charles, James Brown, and Wilson Pickett--until the fateful night her voice gave out in front of a sold-out crowd. Encouraged by her fans, she offered a little speech in praise of Jesus instead of a song. Her spontaneous words became the seed of "Sanctified Blues," a song that soon captured the hearts of millions and gave Albertina the financial security to follow her true calling--sharing the Gospel with those in need of spiritual comfort. Sanctified Blues is the story of Albertina's encounter with Maggie Clay, the biracial beauty who is TV's reigning sitcom diva. A sudden mystery surrounding Maggie has the entire country wondering: Is Maggie having a nervous breakdown, and if so, why? What caused it? And who can save the star from self-destruction?
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.