Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 24, 2014

Jessica Valenti: IMG Full Frontal Feminism Revisited



It is arguably the worst and best time to be a feminist. In the years since I first wrote Full Frontal Feminism, we've seen a huge cultural shift in... Continue »
  1. $11.90 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Moon Women

by

Moon Women Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the lush North Carolina foothills, the Moon women have put down roots: matriarch Marvelle Moon, who’s losing her grip on the world after more than eighty years of life; her daughters, Ruth Ann and Cassandra; and Ruth Ann’s nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab, unmarried, and three months pregnant. Despite Ruth Ann’s best efforts to live a life that’s all her own, her family is coming together around her. Marvelle and Ashley need a place to live and Ruth Ann is unable to turn them away; and her womanizing ex-husband has been coming around again, dredging up the past. Now a flurry of outbursts, emotions, and outrages is shattering Ruth Ann’s separate peace.

For here is Ashley, who has spent nineteen years running furiously away from home, now finding herself on a strange journey with her unraveling grandmother. And here is Cassandra, protected by layers of obesity and loneliness, wondering how to put magic back in her life. And Marvelle, slowly losing touch with reality, privately contemplating the story of her life and the secret that would change everything for everyone—if they only knew.... By turns fierce and tender, harrowing and heartbreaking, Moon Women resonates with emotional power, holding us captive under its beguiling spell.

Synopsis:

Ruth Ann's life is turned upside down when she takes in her elderly mother, Marvelle Moon, and her nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab and three months pregnant, not to mention her ex-husband, who is not sure he wants to stay divorced, in a story of three generations of extraordinary women, separated by a long-hidden family secret. A first novel. Reprint.

Synopsis:

Moon Women contemplates what it means to be a mother, a daughter, a wife, a sister. Beyond even those themes, it's wonderful to read a writer who captures the setting and personality of North Carolina so honestly, passionately, and triumphantly.

- Creative Loafing

In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes a Southern-fried debut.... Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart quirky storyteller.

-- Publishers Weekly

Impressive ... The Moon women, old and young, are great ones for musing, and Duncan deftly handles multiple points of view as they present their hardships and joys in richly textured reminiscences.... Leisurely pace and authentic southern voice: a pleasure to be savored, by a writer to watch.

- Kirkus Reviews

Reading Moon Women is like falling into a feather bed - you'll want to snuggle in, settle down, and stay right there until you have turned the last wonderful page.

— Lee Smith, author of Fair and Tender Ladies

Irresistible. Once these Moon women start talking, you can't stop turning the pages of this extraordinary, beautifully crafted novel.

- Angela Davis-Gardner, author of Forms of Shelter and Felice

From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author

Pamela Duncan was born in Asheville in 1961 and raised in Black Mountain, Swannanoa, and Shelby, North Carolina. She holds a B.A. in journalism from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an M.A. in English and creative writing from North Carolina State University in Raleigh. She lives in Graham, North Carolina. She is also the author of Plant Life.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307423184
Publisher:
Delta Trade Paperbacks
Subject:
Fiction : General
Author:
Duncan, Pamela
Author:
Pamela Duncan
Subject:
General
Subject:
Young women
Subject:
Grandmothers
Subject:
Mothers and daughters
Subject:
North carolina
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
Women
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20020430
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
336

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Moon Women
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 336 pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780307423184 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Ruth Ann's life is turned upside down when she takes in her elderly mother, Marvelle Moon, and her nineteen-year-old daughter, Ashley, fresh out of rehab and three months pregnant, not to mention her ex-husband, who is not sure he wants to stay divorced, in a story of three generations of extraordinary women, separated by a long-hidden family secret. A first novel. Reprint.
"Synopsis" by , Moon Women contemplates what it means to be a mother, a daughter, a wife, a sister. Beyond even those themes, it's wonderful to read a writer who captures the setting and personality of North Carolina so honestly, passionately, and triumphantly.

- Creative Loafing

In the tradition of Fannie Flagg and Rebecca Wells comes a Southern-fried debut.... Duncan shows promise as a from-the-heart quirky storyteller.

-- Publishers Weekly

Impressive ... The Moon women, old and young, are great ones for musing, and Duncan deftly handles multiple points of view as they present their hardships and joys in richly textured reminiscences.... Leisurely pace and authentic southern voice: a pleasure to be savored, by a writer to watch.

- Kirkus Reviews

Reading Moon Women is like falling into a feather bed - you'll want to snuggle in, settle down, and stay right there until you have turned the last wonderful page.

— Lee Smith, author of Fair and Tender Ladies

Irresistible. Once these Moon women start talking, you can't stop turning the pages of this extraordinary, beautifully crafted novel.

- Angela Davis-Gardner, author of Forms of Shelter and Felice

From the Hardcover edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.