Mega Dose
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | September 30, 2014

    Benjamin Parzybok: IMG A Brief History of Video Games Played by Mayors, Presidents, and Emperors



    Brandon Bartlett, the fictional mayor of Portland in my novel Sherwood Nation, is addicted to playing video games. In a city he's all but lost... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$18.95
List price: $27.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Eastern Europe- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe

by

The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

An inventive, wholly original look at the complex psyche of Eastern Europe in the wake of the revolutions of 1989 and the opening of the communist archives.

 

   In the tradition of Timothy Garton Ash’s The File, Yale historian and prize-winning author Marci Shore draws upon intimate understanding to illuminate the afterlife of totalitarianism.  The Taste of Ashes spans from Berlin to Moscow, moving from Vienna in Europe’s west through Prague, Bratislava, Warsaw and Bucharest to Vilnius and Kiev in the post-communist east. The result is a shimmering literary examination of the ghost of communism – no longer Marx’s “specter to come” but a haunting presence of the past.

 

   Marci Shore builds her history around people she came to know over the course of the two decades since communism came to an end in Eastern Europe: her colleagues and friends, once-communists and once-dissidents, the accusers and the accused, the interrogators and the interrogated, Zionists, Bundists, Stalinists and their children and grandchildren.  For them, the post-communist moment has not closed but rather has summoned up the past: revolution in 1968, Stalinism, the Second World War, the Holocaust.  The end of communism had a dark side.  As Shore pulls the reader into her journey of discovery, reading the archival records of people who are themselves confronting the traumas of former lives, she reveals the intertwining of the personal and the political, of love and cruelty, of intimacy and betrayal. The result is a lyrical, touching, and sometimes heartbreaking, portrayal of how history moves and what history means.

Review:

"Shore's Europe is populated with prostitutes and pimps, street urchins and skinheads; the landscape is 'cold and gray... burnt to ashes and rebuilt in Stalinist architecture.' The National Jewish Book Award winner's newest (after Caviar and Ashes: A Warsaw Generation's Life and Death in Marxism, 1918 — 1968) begins and ends with the suicide of a friend, an émigré who returned to Prague only to find that the city he remembered no longer exists, and many of the characters who fill its pages are ghosts — refugees of time and ideology, unable to make peace with the capitalist theme park that replaced their homelands. A historian of the Holocaust and of communism, Shore journeys through Eastern Europe probing the wounds left by the twin disasters of the 20th century. A mix of memoir, travelogue, and philosophical treatise, her book is above all an anthropological study of a people living in a world obscured by cobwebs, more mindful of yesterday than today, where the future cannot be realized until the deaths of all those who witnessed the abyss. The one who makes such observations can only be an outsider, or — in the words of one of Shore's interlocutors — one who knows 'too much and not enough, and nothing.' Challenging and sometimes maddening, but also warm and compassionate, the resulting work is an examination of what it means to live in a society where 'the realm of the not possible expansive' and where history, 'proceeding inexorably and inevitably,' shapes identity. Agent: Gillian MacKenzie, Gillian MacKenzie Agency." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Marci Shore, an associate professor of intellectual history at Yale, has spent much of her adult life in central and eastern Europe.  She is the author of Caviar and Ashes: A Warsaw Generation's Life and Death in Marxism, which won eight prizes, including a National Jewish Book Award.  She is also the translator of Michał Głowiński's Holocaust memoir The Black Seasons.

Table of Contents

Table of contents

Author’s Note

Preface

 

The taste of ashes

 

A wrinkle in time

 

Truth

 

“Hair is like garbage”

 

“Everything I know about people I learned in the camps”

 

“It was only a small revolution”

 

Pornography in Prague

 

“The human being is rather perverse”

 

Reason and conscience

 

A Galician summer

 

“Think about whether or not I was right”

 

The other side of Stalinism

 

The locomotive of History

 

Cemeteries

 

Broken families

 

The eternally wandering Jew

 

The dead and the living

 

“But not in the ovens”

 

Children of the Revolution

 

The taste of caviar

 

Files

 

“Everything was so unattractive

 

Unrequited love

 

A star of the stage

 

Lustration

 

God-seeking

 

Tragedy and romance

 

Acknowledgements

Cast of Historical Figures

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307888815
Author:
Shore, Marci
Publisher:
Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Subject:
Modern - 20th Century
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
World History-Eastern Europe
Publication Date:
20130131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9.52 x 6.37 x 1.32 in 1.3 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Comandante: Hugo Chavez's Venezuela Used Trade Paper $11.95
  2. Fear Itself: The New Deal and the... Used Hardcover $15.00
  3. Coolidge
    Used Trade Paper $10.00

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » Europe » Eastern Europe » General
History and Social Science » Politics » Leftist Studies
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » World History » 1650 to Present
History and Social Science » World History » Eastern Europe
History and Social Science » World History » General

The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$18.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages Crown Publishing Group (NY) - English 9780307888815 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Shore's Europe is populated with prostitutes and pimps, street urchins and skinheads; the landscape is 'cold and gray... burnt to ashes and rebuilt in Stalinist architecture.' The National Jewish Book Award winner's newest (after Caviar and Ashes: A Warsaw Generation's Life and Death in Marxism, 1918 — 1968) begins and ends with the suicide of a friend, an émigré who returned to Prague only to find that the city he remembered no longer exists, and many of the characters who fill its pages are ghosts — refugees of time and ideology, unable to make peace with the capitalist theme park that replaced their homelands. A historian of the Holocaust and of communism, Shore journeys through Eastern Europe probing the wounds left by the twin disasters of the 20th century. A mix of memoir, travelogue, and philosophical treatise, her book is above all an anthropological study of a people living in a world obscured by cobwebs, more mindful of yesterday than today, where the future cannot be realized until the deaths of all those who witnessed the abyss. The one who makes such observations can only be an outsider, or — in the words of one of Shore's interlocutors — one who knows 'too much and not enough, and nothing.' Challenging and sometimes maddening, but also warm and compassionate, the resulting work is an examination of what it means to live in a society where 'the realm of the not possible expansive' and where history, 'proceeding inexorably and inevitably,' shapes identity. Agent: Gillian MacKenzie, Gillian MacKenzie Agency." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.