The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Burnside Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Leading Man

by

Leading Man Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of David Nicholls and Nick Hornby comes a hilarious, bittersweet, heartwarming debut novel about love of all kinds: first, unrequited, delusional, obsessive, and, ultimately, the kind that lasts.

At 26, Maxwell Lerner thinks he has his whole life figured out. He's got the girl--his high-school sweetheart Samantha. He's got the job--low-level reporter for a prestigious national magazine. He even lives with aforementioned girl in a walk-up studio apartment in the West Village. Life is sweet. Until his aspiring actress girlfriend leaves him for his childhood hero, Johnny Mars, who, as action adventurer "Jack Montana," features in some of Max's favorite movies. Getting dumped for one of his idols sets Max off on a dual mission: to get inside the glamorous world Samantha left him for, and to win her back. But when Samantha's perfect life takes an unexpected turn, Max gets more of an education, in life and in love, than he bargained for.

Review:

"In this shallow first novel about celebrity culture, Maxwell Lerner is a newly minted entertainment journalist for KNOW magazine. He lives with his childhood sweetheart, Samantha Kotter, an actress. But one day in 1994, Max reads in the newspaper that Sam, working at the Concord Theatre Festival, has fallen in love with her leading man, Johnny Mars, an '80s action hero Max worshipped as a boy, sending Max into a tailspin. He tries to date, but doesn't find anyone to take the place of Sam, who insists that she and Max become 'pals.' As the '90s become the aughts, Max nurses Sam through all sorts of crises in her marriage to Mars and makes a name for himself in the celebrity-interview game. But will Max end up with a true Hollywood ending? Svetkey's tale is half romance and half roman à clef (he spent years as a celebrity interviewer for Entertainment Weekly), and reading about the celebrity scene of yesteryear is as rewarding as an old issue of EW. Max, sadly, is a little too callow to make us care whether he finds happiness, with or without his beloved Sam. Agent: Betsy Lerner, Dunow, Carlson & Lerner." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Author Bio: Benjamin Svetkey has been interviewing celebrities and writing about pop culture forEntertainment Weekly since 1991. He served as the magazine's LA Bureau Chief from 2004 to 2007, and is currently an Editor at Large. He holds the distinction of being the only writer in EW history ever to appear on its cover (as a Star Trek alien). Svetkey has also published stories in The New York TimesMagazine, Rolling StoneTime International, and Spy magazine, the famous satirical monthly of the late 1980s, where he started his career working as a fact checker. Over the past two decades, Svetkey has interviewed hundreds of the biggest stars in the world, traveled around the globe visiting moviesets, and observed how Hollywood works from inside the studio lots. Svetkey attended the University of Vermont and received his masters degree from Columbia University's School of Journalism. He currently lives in California with his wife, Lenka, and their two-year-old daughter, Chloe. Residence: Santa Monica, CA Hometown: Scarsdale, NY

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307949615
Author:
Svetkey, Benjamin
Publisher:
Vintage Books
Subject:
Romance - Contemporary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries Original
Publication Date:
20130931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
240
Dimensions:
7.9 x 5.1 x 0.71 in 0.5563 lb

Related Subjects

Arts and Entertainment » Humor » General
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Contemporary

Leading Man Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 240 pages Vintage Books - English 9780307949615 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In this shallow first novel about celebrity culture, Maxwell Lerner is a newly minted entertainment journalist for KNOW magazine. He lives with his childhood sweetheart, Samantha Kotter, an actress. But one day in 1994, Max reads in the newspaper that Sam, working at the Concord Theatre Festival, has fallen in love with her leading man, Johnny Mars, an '80s action hero Max worshipped as a boy, sending Max into a tailspin. He tries to date, but doesn't find anyone to take the place of Sam, who insists that she and Max become 'pals.' As the '90s become the aughts, Max nurses Sam through all sorts of crises in her marriage to Mars and makes a name for himself in the celebrity-interview game. But will Max end up with a true Hollywood ending? Svetkey's tale is half romance and half roman à clef (he spent years as a celebrity interviewer for Entertainment Weekly), and reading about the celebrity scene of yesteryear is as rewarding as an old issue of EW. Max, sadly, is a little too callow to make us care whether he finds happiness, with or without his beloved Sam. Agent: Betsy Lerner, Dunow, Carlson & Lerner." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.